We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”
Review of TR Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TR Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 51 Sukhothai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of December in order to explore Sukhothai Historical Park and Si Satchanalai (I highly recommend both!). I had a room in the main building, on the second floor, which was big enough and had a very comfortable bed. Only thing I though was odd was that the toilet/shower were in one room and the sink was in another. Food was good and they had a cold case with a lot of beer, water & soft drinks. Pretty garden setting to dine in, non-smoking area on one half. Female staff was very polite and helpful but one man there (owner?) seemed a little surly and insisted on being paid for all meals and drinks at the end of the day (couldn't just put it on my tab as I had been doing at other places the past 3 weeks!). There's a 7-11 a few doors down so you can get coffee etc in the early morning and also an ATM there. Shuttle tuk-tuk departs just a few doors up from that 7-11 to Sukhothai Historical Park, very convenient. The staff will provide info on transport and have free maps of Sukhothai.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maneki-neko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Great guesthouse in New Town. Friendly, helpful staff speak perfect English and even walk you to your room when you check in. Rooms are clean, quite spacious, hot showers, and the bed is out of this world comfortable. Wifi is in rooms but we found it quite flow during out two nights here. Restaurant on site is just OK as we found the food a bit pricey and not that great. Food vendors close by as is 7-11 and a pub. We definitely recommend this guesthouse but if you are coming just for the temples and can find a place in Old Town, I'd stay there as New Town is about 30 minutes away by Tuk Tuk/Bus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyrannosaurus_Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Would recommend, comfy beds, wardrobes and storage. Parking available. The staff also helped when my friend injured her ankle, getting us ice and anything else we needed. Breakfast was tasty and well priced, I wish we could've stayed longer here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 206Scott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The guesthouse is one of many in the new city of Sukhotai. The bed is one out of thousand. Very comfy and crispy clean. Every day clean towels and every two days new sheets. The room is not big but cosy. Without a wardrobe or storage space but with aircon or fan. The staff is friendly and helpful. You can also have a nice meal. I only had breakfast and that was tasteful. The menu is focused on western tourists. If you want to chill outside in the evening it is a bit uncosy because they close the shutters. Which is absolutely understandable because there are many mosquitos.
So for a good night rest just book this place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelique J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely place to stay for short visit, had a bungalow right far left back of garden. Very peaceful and pretty outside. Room was lovely for price of 9 pounds through agoda. Hot water and very clean with air con and wifi although wifi hit and miss some times. Better wifi in reception area. Located right near two lovely places to eat and drink. Pai and chopped bar which has an upstairs for good view and breeze. Food great in both. Really enjoyed our two night stat here.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniemacmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed there to visit historical park,nothing to complain,clean,quiet,really good breakfast,close to the market,really good.Would recommend happily to everyone who is there to visit local attractions and surroundings not for hotel fun

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Chef-Arczik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed 2 nights at the TR guesthouse in Sukhothai. It was a really great deal. Its location is very good as it is near the bus stop to go to the ruins, it is also very close to the market and many nice places to eat. The rooms are clean. It is a really good deal in Sukhothai !

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sukhothai hotels
2.2 mi away
J&J Guesthouse
J&J Guesthouse
#8 of 20 in Sukhothai
120 reviews
0.4 mi away
EZ House
EZ House
#5 of 51 in Sukhothai
113 reviews
6.7 mi away
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
#1 of 20 in Sukhothai
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sabaidee Guesthouse
Sabaidee Guesthouse
#7 of 51 in Sukhothai
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ban Thai Guesthouse
Ban Thai Guesthouse
#6 of 51 in Sukhothai
232 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pai Sukhothai Resort
Pai Sukhothai Resort
#8 of 46 in Sukhothai
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TR Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TR Guesthouse

Address: 27 / 5 Pravet Nakorn Rd., Sukhothai 64000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Sukhothai
Price Range: £11 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — TR Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are T.R. Guesthouse, which caters to foreigners coming to Sukhothai to view the old ruins and also visit the markets. Our guesthouse has bungalows in the back and a hotel in the front. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TR Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing