We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
helmi00
London, England, United Kingdom
Friendly family run guesthouse
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jan 2013
The guesthouse is lovely located in a quiet street offering private bungalows and bedrooms with fans and shared bathrooms. We stayed in one of the standard rooms with shared showers/toilets and it was a clean room and comfortable bed. The restaurant offered good food and yummy breakfast though the service is slow. The downside is breakfast's not included in the price... The family who runs the place is very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommended!
Date of stay: January 2013Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
£48
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
6.5 miles from Ban Thai Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.7 miles from Ban Thai Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
0.1 miles from Ban Thai Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
6.8 miles from Ban Thai Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £56
  • Priceline
15.2 miles from Ban Thai Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £20
  • Trip.com
0.2 miles from Ban Thai Guesthouse
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £28
  • Priceline
7.1 miles from Ban Thai Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £28
  • Priceline
15.3 miles from Ban Thai Guesthouse
Restaurant
Yellow bungaloes
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £18
  • Priceline
36.2 miles from Ban Thai Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £15
  • Booking.com
18.4 miles from Ban Thai Guesthouse
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Sukhothai
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
120
101
22
7
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
120
101
22
7
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Basic rooms with shared bathrom. Lovely hot showers though. Staff are very friendly and hepful. They picked us up from the bus station. Very short walk to bys stop for old sukhothai. Food service is slow but food is very yummy. Great value for money.

Date of stay: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeordieThatTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Ban Thai is located just a few minutes from the bridge into new town. It is also located 100 yards from the songtheaw that takes you to the Historic Park. The bungalows are set in a nice garden surrounded by lush jungle like flora and even includes a fish pond. One of the family members grows Banzi plants and some are truly magnificent. The rooms are spotlessly clean and have comfortable large queens size bed. There is no TV and that is no problem if the WIFI works properly. My only complaint is that the WIFI is very iffy in the rooms and we had the bungalow closest to the office. It represent a very good value and if your looking for a quiet and clean place in a good location you can't do better than here.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank comeflywithmeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Myself and my partner stayed in Ban Thai Guesthouse for 2 nights around Christmas day 2012 and had a largely positive experience.

PROS
- Fantastic value with a small room with a double bed (shared bathroom) costing 200 baht. Alternatively I believe there are bungalows from 300-500Baht which is still very cheap.
- We got into this place at 2am in the morning after a long drive from Pai via Chiang Mai and they were able to accommodate us.
- Very friendly and accommodating staff and half decent restaurant at the front.
- Isn't located on the street but rather a walking/cycling bath along the river (although you cant see the river as it has an artificial concrete bank, presumably due to flooding) which means there is very little noise.
- Meets all 5 of my personal criteria for good cheap accommodation - Clean, Good value, Free wifi which works, Hot water which works, cool (air conditioning not available but not needed)

CONS
- Rooms are obviously just a bed with a padlock to lock you door. Very basic but all your need and still very good value for the price.
- Difficult to find. From the main street you need to go to the end of the street past TR guesthouse, etc and then take a right down the pathway, walking adjacent to the river. There are signs to direct you.

CONCLUSION
Fantastic place to stay for budget travelers. Recommended

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RowanH336
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We were pretty nervous driving down what seemed like a back lane to see where we were staying, however once we were there it was wonderful! The family running the Guesthouse are so sweet and welcoming! Pa Dam was my favourite!! She is an amazing cook and has the best smile ever! The room itself was just the basics for Thailand, and very clean. Good location to walk around and catching the "bus" to the Sukhothai Historical Park.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErinDG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Spent Christmas 2011 while staying at this excellent place. 300B for your own bungalow was great value for money. Great facilities, beautiful setting, good location and excellent service.

When I was leaving they ordered me a tuktuk to take me to the bus station (which was quite far). When it didn't show up in time they drove me there themselves on the back of a moto without charge. Even before this, the service was excellent

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roelvdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews