We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and clean - good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ban Thai Guesthouse
Ranked #4 of 56 Sukhothai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Ban Thai Guesthouse is located in New Sukhothai in a small street close to the main road (3 mins walks from 7eleven/local bus* station to Old Sukhothai).
The place was clean and tidy. There were around 10 small cottages and a separate building with other rooms. Despite being peak season and fully booked, this place was quiet and silent. Our room was basic (with a/c but without tv and room for hanging clothes) and the bed was very comfortable. Free wifi worked perfectly both from the lobby and the room. There was also a family run restaurant but we didn't try it (I heard good feedbacks from a couple having dinner while I was there). The only downsides were that a) cottages were very close each other so we could hear people at night running water, talking etc but It was nothing really disturbing and b) there was only one socket in the entire room. Staff could speak english quite well.

Advice: if you arrive at Sukhotai bus terminal do not pay more than 20 baht per person to reach the guesthouse by tuk tuk (or "local bus") as it takes less than 5 minutes. We paid 50 per person while the day after we paid 30 (without negotiating) to reach Old Sukhothai (12km away).

*By "local bus" I refer to trucks that look like a big tuk-tuk

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulZed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed a couple of days here. It was brilliant. The cheapest rooms with shared bathrooms are great value (200THB). You just have a bed in a room. That's it. But very clean and comfortable, Staff was very friendly and helpful! Room #1 has windows to two sides. It's bright and cooler than the other rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in the middle of November. As soon as I arrived the staff made me feel so welcome.
The bungalow I stayed in was small, but very clean. They are set in a lovely garden, cared for by the owner . There are Koi Carp ponds, lots of tropical trees and plants. The owner makes beautiful Bonsai trees, lots of different species, shapes and sizes. He is very passionate about them and loves to talk about how he cares for them.
The food here is the best I have tasted in Thailand, I highly recommend the Massoman Chicken curry, Chicken with Cashew nuts( I ordered 2 portions of this it was that good!) and Chicken Penang.
Staying here, you feel part of the family - I loved it.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank bluenosedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband stayed here for two nights in November. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful; as soon as you check in, you are presented with a map of both the local area and Sukhothai historical park. She also informs you of when the buses leave and how to get to the local bus stop.

We were in a fan cooled room which was very clean but very small. This made it slightly stuffy in the evening but the fan did help. The communal bathroom area had 3 bathrooms and 2 large sinks- we never had to queue for a shower. Unfortunately there were lots of Mosquitos though and I got bitten a lot so wear plenty of repellent!

Breakfast is not included although we did eat breakfast here which was very good value for the amount of food you review. Set us up well for a day cycling around sukhothai.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perrrfect_cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

OK little bungalows but our ceiling leaked onto the bed. Maybe that's to be expected but the owner didn't seem too bothered.

We didn't find the owner helpful at all, and she had lots of rules including "don't dirty the sheets"! Pretty confusing as I'm not sure what she expected us to be doing in the bed.

The place was totally empty so we expected a little more service and interaction than we got, but every time we spoke to the owner about laundry, bus times, getting breakfast etc she acted like we were getting in the way. TR guesthouse next door seemed to have much more of a buzz.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a double fan room after finding an excellent price online (agoda).

It's a 5min taxi ride away from the bus station (everything is) and the charged us 60bhat for the two of us. On arrival we were left alone, a little confused by this, then the owner/manager came to greet us. She is a lovely lady who is softly spoken and wears a massive smile! She gave us a map and some helpful hints and helped us book a cycling tour (a great way to see the local area).

There is only one small strip of hotels in this town and this is near the end of the row, it is extremely peaceful here and you feel safe. There is a bar at the opposite end which had a singer on when we went. On the second night we chose to relax at the hotel and the beer is cheap here also.

The old town is a 14km bus ride away, we were charged 30pp but the locals appeared to be charged less supporting the lonely planet theory the fare should be 20 but we didn't argue, just gave the conductor a quizzical look when the other people paid their fares so up to you if you challenge this or not!

The rooms are small, we had a double bed and not much else. The shared bathrooms (three for 8 rooms) were clean and there are two areas to relax in, although I found the restaurant better at night for mozi's. The people staying here are friendly.

We ate here both nights in the end and the food was fantastic both times. Yes, slightly more expensive and the portions are the right size not large like we have experienced elsewhere, but there isn't really anywhere cheaper and the food was excellent so we were happy with this!

A lovely little hotel with friendly staff. It is a little oasis and we would highly recommend it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Taking-a-year-off
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013 via mobile

We had a Fan room with shared bathroom for 250Baht. The room had a bed in it with a very uncomfortable mattress. Thats it. No shelf, no hook on the wall and only one power plug. The room was clean, well its not hard to be cleaned because there was not that much space besides from the bed. The bathroom was clean enough. For the price it is ok, but just ok. We found the restaurant prices a little bit to expensive so we went out to eat. Not much cheap options around. The owners seemed nice at first, but after we took the cheapest room and didnt eat at the guesthouse, they seemed pissed and the smiles disappeared. Still ok for a few nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iShawn89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sukhothai hotels
6.9 mi away
Tharaburi Resort
Tharaburi Resort
#7 of 21 in Sukhothai
321 reviews
0 mi away
J&J Guesthouse
J&J Guesthouse
#8 of 21 in Sukhothai
123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sabaidee Guesthouse
Sabaidee Guesthouse
#8 of 56 in Sukhothai
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
EZ House
EZ House
#6 of 56 in Sukhothai
114 reviews
6.7 mi away
Thai Thai Sukhothai Guest House
0.6 mi away
At Home Sukhothai
At Home Sukhothai
#3 of 51 in Sukhothai
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ban Thai Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ban Thai Guesthouse

Address: 38 Pravet Nakhon Road, Sukhothai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Sukhothai
Price Range: £7 - £8 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ban Thai Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Ban Thai Guesthouse Hotel Sukhothai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing