We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Vitoon Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Vitoon Guesthouse
Ranked #27 of 50 Sukhothai B&B and Inns
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Located across the street from the entrance to the historical park, Vitoon is a small friendly guest house. The lady at the reception desk was very friendly and we were shown two air conditioned rooms which we took for THB1200. The rooms were not too large but we didn't care because we planned to only sleep in them. The beds were rock hard and the pillows very firm but after a long drive from Chiang Mai and a few hours exploring the park, sleeping was not a problem. The room had a TV (Thai channels only), a wardrobe (no hangers) and an en-suite wet room type bathroom with a power shower. During the night a big thunderstorm knocked out the power to the whole area so I spent a little while trying to open the windows in the pitch black due to no air conditioning. Next morning, breakfast was had at a café next door and bicycle rental was available next door on the other side. Although basic, the hotel was clean and the location was ideal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank echomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    37
    24
    13
    8
See reviews for
2
41
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Algeciras, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

If you're going to Sukhothai then I think your experience will be enhanced by staying at the Old City rather than at New Sukhothai. You will be able to enjoy the sunsets and a fuller day at the Historical park and also you will save time having to do the 13 - 15km journey. Old Sukhothai is very laid back, quaint and quiet and perfect to start your visit to the Historical park. Vitoon GH was great. Khun Kanchana the lady there who is 71 (but looks 60) is absolutely charming and is very helpful. You can get breakfast for 50Baht consisting of toast, coffee and a plate of fruit. The room had AC, towels, TV and was spotless and the bathroom was great with really hot water!! The only issue was you could hear what the people next door were saying as the walls were paper thin. I stayed there 2 nights as I loved the peace and serenity of the park. Bicycles are a must and available for 30Baht for the day. Cycling around the park is very peaceful and the Western zone which is a forest really with ruined temples is to be recommended - Not many tourists seem to go there but it is beautiful and the standing giant Buddha is in a stunning location. Highly recommend Sukhothai and would rate it above Ayutthaya just cos it was so peaceful and the ruins there in much better condition. Also, the Buddhas in Sukhothai were smiling!!! Quite unusual :-)

Room Tip: There are two different buildings, one has the fan rooms and the other more modern building I stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Super convenient ---Just next door to the Sukhothai Historical Park and Bus station. (there is new and old town centers. This hostel is located in the old town, just next to the Park)
Clean and Tidy --- The place is clean (they keep shoes off in the lobby)
Cheap --- I pay 300B for room with double bed and ensuite shower room

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lineeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caye Caulker, Belize
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

As others have said this guesthouse has a prime location right across the road from the central zone entrance. We stayed in an a/c room which was clean, comfortable and had great (10mb) wifi. The staff were friendly and we were really happy to have stayed here in the old city.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper request a room away from the road as there is a surprising amount of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived at Sukothai Historical Park per bus and the Vitoon guest house was just across the street - so in very short walking distance to the historical park.

The rooms are really small but we still decided to stay there because the price of 600 THB with AC seemed good and the location was perfect.

The bed was really hard and for us not at all comfortable. The bathroom was even worse - old and not very clean. The shower didnt have any curtain but provided warm water.

The staff was helpful when we asked about a bus to Ayutthaya. When we went to the office to book the ticket - which was just a short walk away - it started raining heavily and as we went back to our room it was flooded because the window was leaking.

We told the owner and he cleaned it up but we were not able to change the room because he said all rooms are full - we are not sure whether to believe him because we only saw 2 other couples around.

We dont recommend staying in this place because it was just not worth the 600 THB. It has a really nice location if you want to visit the historical park and there are also few restaurants around the corner. New Sukothai was really a long way to go by Tuk Tuk.

But if we would go there again we would propably look for another place - maybe in New Sukothai.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1989-niki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sukhothai hotels

Florence, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Vitoon GH is in front of the entrace of historical area of old Sukhothai.
The GH is simple, clean and with a/c. The breakfast is good.
Good price value (10 euros for room/night).

Next to the GH there are the bycicle rent office and some good and cheap restaurants where to eat.
In old Sukhothai there are many dogs along the street... the night can be noisy.

Perfect position for the visit of Central and North area of Sukhothai.
The bus coming from new sukhothai stops in front of the GH and next to GH you can get on the bus for Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davide m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alken, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This guesthouse is located in the old town: right in front of the Sukothai historical park. You have to cross the road and you are in the park. When we arrived in the evening, we were friendly welcomed. The rooms were nice for the price. We had the rooms with air conditioning. A small minus point the beds were incredibly hard. The breakfast was ok. Just a standard breakfast what gets you everywhere.

Room Tip: If you're a tuktuk or taxi from the bus station to the old town: make sure you're not overpa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DagdaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sukhothai hotels
0.2 mi away
Oldtown Boutique House
Oldtown Boutique House
#11 of 50 in Sukhothai
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wake Up at Muang Kao Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Sukhothai Garden
Sukhothai Garden
#4 of 44 in Sukhothai
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Vieng Tawan Sukhothai Guesthouse by Thai Thai
0.6 mi away
The Rise Resort
The Rise Resort
#17 of 44 in Sukhothai
16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
#1 of 20 in Sukhothai
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vitoon Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vitoon Guesthouse

Property: Vitoon Guesthouse
Address: Sukhothai, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Sukhothai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Vitoon Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing