We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Orchid Hibiscus Guest House
Ranked #15 of 50 Sukhothai B&B and Inns
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“quirky”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This is Paulo's place - so if you like him and his style it might be described as full of character. If you don't, well...........you probably need to go somewhere else. This is like a backpackers lodge, so don't expect fancy fittings. But it is totally adequate, well located for visiting the old city, the garden has charm, and Paulo was helpful with local things to see and is clearly a historical enthusiast. As another reviewer has said - manage your expectations and, for a night or two, this is a nice simple place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    125
    43
    42
    56
See reviews for
87
152
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

First, I just have to say that Paulo is an incredible host. He made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived, hooked us up with a map of the Old City, and outlined the lay of the land, just awesome.

For $35.00 Canadian a night I have no reason to complain. Yes the beds are hard, but my sleep was not adversely effected. Yes the bathroom has no curtain, but we had enough hot water for two showers in the morning. The breakfast was delicious, and the jazz music that went along with it was spectacular. The grounds are like a little Oasis, and the pool was the perfect ending to a beautiful bike ride(Sukhothai Bicycle Tours)through, and around the Old City.

Honestly, my girlfriend and I enjoyed our stay here thoroughly, our only complaint was we didn't stay longer.

I've never received so much, for so little $$$, thus I have no idea why there are so many negative remarks about this quest house?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Disgusting hotel. We paid for 2 nights, but escaped after the first one because:
- the room had strong urine smell
- bathroom was very dirty
- no warm water
- terribly hard bed (like sleeping on the floor)
- no noise isolation whatsoever (you hear not only neighbors talking, but also what they are saying)

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kateryna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sukhothai hotels

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The accomodation is quite old and bad maintened, the room is super small for 2 people, the bathroon is depressive (not even a tent in the shower and the floor is always flooded).
The staff is very remessive in giving any kind of information (and not even english speaking).
We have been charged an overprice of 3% for payment with credit card even in our reservation through booking it was clearly written that visa credit card was accepted. We asked clarifications to the italian owner that was very rude and confirmed this crazy policy.
Definitively there are many better options to stay in the old town. DO NOT GO FOR ORCHID HYBISCUS

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Francy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and would recommend the place to everyone wh wants to stay in Old Sukhothai.

Owner: Paolo is special, but a great person. If you ask him a few questions you can learn a great deal about Thailand. Don't treat him like hotel staff - he is an Italian maestro and deserves to be treated accordingly. Very helpful and at least a person with individuality.

Staff: very friendly and helpful!

Place: a 5 min walk to Old Sukhothai and therefore quiet. Comes with a nice garden, many plants, nice pool, and especially interesting if you travel with kids: many speaking birds.

Accomodation: basic but good If you aren't a spoiled little sissy you will enjoy it! It offers everything you need, beds are a bit hard but that's the Asian way. Bathroom is basic, too, but clean and functionable. People who expect to find all the unsustainable 5-star luxury bs in every guesthouse (GUESTHOUSE!) should stop travelling instantly and spend all their money on going back to school.

Breakfast (included): one of the best I had in Thailand in this price range. Comes with wild honey from the near forests, Oolong tea (ask Paolo about it, it's a profession on its own) or coffee, coco-rice-pudding in banana leaves, bananas, toast, varios jams and butter.

TL;DR: great place, highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank JulianRaphael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Orchid Hibiscus. Our choice was based on the location very near to the historical parc. Firstly the postive aspects: very close to the park with bicycle rental at 50 baht/day just opposite the guesthouse. Beautiful pool and gardens - a real little oasis.Very nice breakfast included in the room rate (although I would not qualify it as "incredible" as done so by the guesthouse itself. The negative points would be : firstly the basic rooms. The walls are paper thin. You can even see into the next room through very small cracks. On the first night, there was a baby crying in the room next to us and it felt as though he was in the room with us! The bathroom is a bit depressing - just an open shower stall and the floor was constantly flooded. The staff was courteous but not overly helpful.
having come back home I think I would recommend this place based on all the positive points. Our overall feeling was that we did have a great time and enjoyed our stay there. We would probably go back there for the pool, gardens and proximity to park.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Turned up and the grumpy Italian manager seemed to have lost my booking which was done directly through their website.
He managed to sort it out in the end, but his initial response was to say they were full and I had to phone the booking company myself. Not the friendliest of greetings having spent a hot day travelling there.
Fortunately didn't have to deal with him after that, other staff seemed friendly but didn't seem to understand what you asked them or be any good at providing local information if they did.

Bed is incredibly, incredibly hard. This is Thailand, so most beds are hard, but wow, this was something else. It's a bit lumpy too, really have no idea what they managed to make it out of. Even the pillow was uncomfortable so used one of the cushions instead! The bathroom and the room was rather tired, the shower was a little broken as the pipework leading to it was leaking badly. Security isn't great - my lock broke locking me out of the room, and staff had no trouble breaking through the rear window to gain access before replacing the lock.

Location is a little far out of town, a good 20 minutes walk. Bike hire is just over the road which is fine during the day but not so great going out to get some food in the evening once it's dark. There is a restaurant up the road but other guests said it was rubbish so went into town for better options.
It is nice and quiet at night though.

Wifi now seems to be free, but they warned of a frankly bizarre 500 baht fine if you dared to wash your clothes in your room.
The pool looked nice but never used it. The grounds are nice, but bring insect repellent if you plan to relax in them in the evening, and the birds seem a little distressed caged up in the aviary, much more so than they usually are.

Coconut pudding for breakfast was nice, and the honey nicely presented, but rest of the breakfast pretty standard.

All in all, not entirely horrible, but at the price charged was expecting something much, much better. I guess you're paying for the pool and the grounds, so if these aren't interesting to you then try and stay elsewhere and save yourself having to deal with the staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sukhothai hotels
0.5 mi away
Legendha Sukhothai
Legendha Sukhothai
#3 of 19 in Sukhothai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tharaburi Resort
Tharaburi Resort
#5 of 19 in Sukhothai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thai Thai Sukhothai Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
Scent of Sukhothai Resort
#1 of 19 in Sukhothai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vieng Tawan Sukhothai Guesthouse by Thai Thai
0.1 mi away
Sawasdee Sukhothai Resort
Sawasdee Sukhothai Resort
#2 of 50 in Sukhothai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Hibiscus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Hibiscus Guest House

Property: Orchid Hibiscus Guest House
Address: 407 Old City, Sukhothai 64210, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Sukhothai Province > Sukhothai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Sukhothai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchid Hibiscus Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Orchid Hibiscus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Hibiscus Guest House Hotel Sukhothai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing