We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
FMoz
Southeast Asia

Pathetic

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 May 2022via mobile
Locals say this is the premier hotel in town. If that's so, this ultra-boring town is really pathetic. It's a pity because staff are quite friendly and the lobby looks grand. The horror starts once you enter the room, or even before this, as the public corridors are not air-conditioned and very hot. The room basically does not function as a comfortable place to rest for the night. It really smells. No matter how much perfume and fragrance you spray in it, the stench comes back all the time, and it hits you the moment you enter. Bedsheets are stained. I became so itchy that I could not sleep the whole night. There is only one socket in the whole room. The carpet is dusty and dirt-stained. There is no hair dryer nor toiletries. The WC does not have a hoss spray -- something so basic in the poorest households in this country. The bathroom is disgusting (see attached pictures) and moldy. Perhaps the best thing is the strong water pressure. But this is a place to stay far far away from.
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.8 miles from Sri U-Thong Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
1.7 miles from Sri U-Thong Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Trip.com
1.6 miles from Sri U-Thong Grand Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
No booking fees
    0.3 miles from Sri U-Thong Grand Hotel
    Go to your Happy Price
    • Booking.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Agoda.com
    2.7 miles from Sri U-Thong Grand Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • Agoda.com
    2.7 miles from Sri U-Thong Grand Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    • eDreams
    13.3 miles from Sri U-Thong Grand Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
    29.5 miles from Sri U-Thong Grand Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Restaurant
    • ZenHotels.com
    • Trip.com
    • Agoda.com
    8.8 miles from Sri U-Thong Grand Hotel
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    We love 27 Resort
      18.0 miles from Sri U-Thong Grand Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Suphan Buri
      Reviews (37)
      Filter reviews
      37 results
      Traveller rating
      9
      16
      7
      2
      3
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      9
      16
      7
      2
      3
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 37 reviews
      Reviewed 7 July 2020 via mobile

      In many ways it was like staying in a hotel 30 years ago. It was clean and the furniture was well maintained, but I suspect very little had changed since it opened.
      I stayed in a Deluxe room which was large, with a large window. The bed was very comfortable and the bedding of good quality. There were mosquitoes in the room when I arrived, but that was dealt with promptly.
      However some things needed mending/upgrading. Most of the lights over the beds did not work. There was only one plug socket, not near the bed. Today people need to charge their mobile phones easily. The one plug socket seemed not to work at all until the desk light was switched on from the control panel by the bed.
      The water pressure and temperature in the shower were excellent, but there was only a fixed nozzle on the wall, which was far too low.
      The toilet bowl was far too low for an older guest, and the seat was a strange shape. As others have mentioned, there was no hose spray for washing after using the lavatory.
      The only toiletries supplied were soap and shampoo, no body wash or conditioner. My room did, however, have a hairdryer.
      The air conditioner was good, and was easily controlled from the bedside panel, but the external compressor was very noisy. It could have done with some maintenance.
      There were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, almost unknown in a hotel aiming to be of a decent standard.
      There was also no security box in the room.
      The restaurant had only reopened 5 days before I visited, but nevertheless it was unfortunate that most of the items on the menu offered were not available.
      The buffet breakfast was very poor, with lukewarm food and little variety. When ordering an omelette the cook seemed to only know how to make scrambled eggs, which were, however, quite nice. The coffee was disgusting, the "orange juice" some made up powder.
      I see reviews in 2015/16 say that the breakfast buffet was excellent, sadly this is certainly not true in 2020.
      But the most disappointing thing about the hotel was the staff. They were so miserable. They were incapable of greeting guests or smiling. The reception staff were rude when I tried to check in, until I challenged them, then they did apologise, but the harm was done. Only the head housekeeper was cheerful when she sprayed the room against mosquitoes.
      It is interesting that some reviews in Thai found the staff rude, so it was not just because I was a foreigner (although I speak Thai).
      I would stay at this hotel again, it certainly had charm, I just hope the staff cheer up and improve their politeness.

      Date of stay: July 2020
      Trip type: Travelled solo
      Thank rolandc921
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 30 January 2020 via mobile

      This is the first time staying at this hotel although we visit Suphan Buri almost annually. I can honestly say that this is the best hotel in the area by a long way.
      The staff are warm, friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The food in the restaurant is excellent with a wide choice to suit all tastes.
      The breakfast is more geared to thai type food so do not expect a full English breakfast but this is Thailand, when in Thailand eat thai.
      There was no tea and coffee facilities in our room but they gave us a water heater which is very useful as we always use our own tea bags etc anyway.
      Highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting the area.
      Shops and town centre close by

      Date of stay: January 2020
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      2  Thank Nomad799042
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 22 May 2018

      On the way back from a business trip up North-West from Bangkok we had to stop over for the night and found this Hotel. Surprising finding a huge hotel like this in a remote position with a high quality interior and superb support. Very enjoyable. I recommend to visit Suphan Buri and stay there.

      Date of stay: December 2017
      Thank ChangNoiNung
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 4 October 2017

      We originally booked into another nearby hotel, but had such a horrendous experience that we fled to Sri U-Thong Grand Hotel. It was such a relief to find, that initially I would have awarded it 10 stars, if such a rating was available on TripAdvisor.

      But I after two nights stay I have graded it back to three stars.

      The rooms are large, clean, and well furnished, with comfortable beds and clean linen.

      But the bathroom shower never offered water anything above luke warm water.

      The breakfast offering was well below par. A hotel of this standard could do better than offer reconstituted powdered orangeade and call it "orange juice", and at the egg station the pre-cooked eggs had gone cold and were coagulating in the cooking fat.

      The coffee was undrinkable.

      Date of stay: October 2017
      • Trip type: Travelled with friends
        • Value
        • Rooms
        • Service
      Thank David B
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

      This hotel was a very bad experience. The keycard didn't work, wall behind bed was dusty, ventilation in shower was full of dirt, aircondition was noisy and pour breakfast bufe if you are a vegetarian.

      Date of stay: November 2016
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Anders G
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews