We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable budget choice”
Review of Hotel Splendid

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kairouan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Splendid
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kairouan
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Hotel Splendid is conveniently located a minute or so from the medina but on a quiet street. It has an old fashioned kind of slightly dilapidated charm. The room was very large for a budget hotel and clean and comfortable. Breakfast was also inlcuded - bread, cake, coffee/tea - fairly typical for Tunisia and perfectly fine (Lonely Planet describes the breakfast size as small but this is not the case at the moment). We were able to negotiate a modest price reduction but we didn't bargain that hard. There is a local bar in the downstairs part of the hotel but we couldn't hear any noise from it at night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 24 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

The best part about this hotel was its location. As independent budget travellers, we opted to pay slightly more at hotel splendid for the comfort that this hotel afforded. Our double room was very large and clean with its own equally large and clean bathroom (with bath) and was therefore better value than some of the other hotels we had stayed in Tunisia. The hotel is located just around the corner from the entrance to the medina and breakfast was offered.

I would agree with the review below on the "negotiate a price reduction" point.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Title says it all. Four of us stayed there for 67 dinar total, which is just completely unbeatable. It's an older hotel, clean but not at all fancy. Very well located only a block from the medina entrance. Reminded me of small family hotels in Egypt. They brought breakfast and coffee up to our room, which I hugely appreciated.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Happyfellow6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The name rather overstates the virtues of this hotel, but Hotel Splendid is a perfectly adequate place to stay. The rooms are rather dated but are clean and functional. The hotel is off the main road but is handy to the old town. Hotel Splendid provides a suitable base for exploring Kairouan. Negotiate a price reduction!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apteryx055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

This was the worst hotel on our tour of Tunisia. Generally tired and drab with an ensuite which smelt so much you had to hold your breath. The continental breakfast, on the other hand was quite good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midlander1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

As most people seem to visit Kairouan as a day trip from the coast, there isn't a great deal of choice when it comes to hotels. The Splendid is probably the best option - prices are reasonable, rooms are fairly clean and en-suite, and the location is excellent, very close to the medina. There are also a couple of very tasty (and cheap) local restaurants nearby, which reception can point you to. Breakfast in the attached restaurant is a bit disappointing. There is also a very raucous bar attached to the hotel, which was quite surprising for us considering Kairouan's status as a holy city!

If you're driving, be prepared - Kairouan seemed to have no signs or street names anywhere, it was only complete luck that saw us drive past the hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BalhamWolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Overall not a bad little place if you are looking for the basics. We had a bit of trouble reserving a room, the fax # didn't work, so we had to call directly using our broken french, but it worked out ok. My friend and I stayed at the Hotel Splendid toward the end of a 10 day trip across Tunisia. Good sized rooms, fairly clean on the surface, nice private bathroom, even had a tv that we watched bad Italian game shows on which was a luxury for our price range. The negative aspects were the streets around the hotel are a bit dark at night (even though the police station is across the street) and the beds were kind of gross. We always check for bedbugs, usually can tell in a few seconds by looking under the sheets and mattress--but we weren't sure because under the top sheet the bed itself was quite dirty with black specks and hair. We spent the first hour or so convinced we were infested, but after the first night we didn't notice any bites so we were in the clear. Its a budget hotel in a touristy Tunisian town, so we had no illusions of 5 star quality, but it took us a while to get used to it. It was a good location to see the Medina and other locale attractions--and there weren't many other options for hotels in our price range, so it was fine. The staff was nice overall and the morning breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chococliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kairouan hotels
0 mi away
Continental Kairouan
Continental Kairouan
#4 of 4 in Kairouan
35 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel La Kasbah
Hotel La Kasbah
#1 of 4 in Kairouan
287 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Continental
Hotel Continental
#2 of 2 in Kairouan
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Dar Hassine Allani
Dar Hassine Allani
#1 of 2 in Kairouan
18 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendid

Address: R. du 9 Avril, Kairouan 3100, Tunisia
Region: Tunisia > Kairouan Governorate > Kairouan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Kairouan
Number of rooms: 259

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing