We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise stop in Piriapolis”
Review of Hosteria Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Budapest
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Piriapolis
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Arriving unannounced without a plan to stay in Piriapolis in early February 2012, we found the Hosteria Budapest particularly welcoming and accommodating. The location is perfect, close to shops, cafes and the beach without being in the middle of 'active' Piriapolis evenings. Rooms were small but clean, comfortable, with good showers and nicely appointed. Breakfasts and coffee were good. The owner was interesting and very helpful, offering extra conveniences such as towels for the beach. We’ll be back!

From Vancouver, Canada

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Christl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2007

While we were on a long (southern hemisphere) Summer weekend daytrip to the Punta del Este area, we passed through the small coastal city of Piriapolis. My wife wanted to turn the daytrip into an overnight, so we stopped in a few local hotels. My wife liked the look, feel, and price of the Hosteria Budapest, so we decided to stay.

Hosteria Budapest is a small, simple 2-story/13 room hotel about 2-1/2 blocks away from the beachfront promanade of Piriapolis. Like a lot of Piriapolis, it's a bit of a throwback to another time - architecture dating from maybe the 1940s or 1950s, but well cared-for and very clean. The lobby is like a living room parlor, with sofa and television. There's also free off-street parking for a limited number of cars.

We got a 2nd floor corner room with recently rennovated private bath, minibar refrigerator and TV. The room was smallish - certainly not the size a 4-5 star international chain hotel room (unless one is in, say, the W in Manhattan), but more than adequate for a short stay.

Breakfast was included - as I recall, it was "enhanced continental" - simple, but good quality breads & croissants, juice, yogurt, cereal, and eggs. The breakfast room has some antique furniture that adds to the ambiance.

The hotel's current proprietor is the son of a Hungarian immigrant , and he said the hotel has been run by his family for three generations. The management and staff were pleasant and helpful.

While not directly on the beachfront, the hotel is centrally located to much of what Piriapolis has to offer. There are lots of restaurants close by, and a small market just across the street. Piriapolis is not an upscale destination, but it is a relaxing and pleasant place to "chill".

Overall, the effect of the hotel was much like the small, pleasant 2-3 star hotels and pensiones we've stayed at in France and Italy - simple, clean, and nice. We liked it well enough that we made plans to spend a few days there over the New Year's holiday, but had to cancel due to unexpected visitors. So, we have to wait to experience the excitement and thrills of New Year's Eve in Piriapolis, Uruguay (such that they might be...)

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gringoMVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank hugodanielpini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Adelia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alienita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Miriam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cami-abrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Piriapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mar y Arte
Hotel Mar y Arte
#9 of 23 in Piriapolis
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bakari
Hotel Bakari
#4 of 23 in Piriapolis
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Argentino Hotel Casino & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colon
Hotel Colon
#16 of 23 in Piriapolis
136 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rivadavia
Hotel Rivadavia
#17 of 23 in Piriapolis
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hosteria Miramar
Hosteria Miramar
#5 of 23 in Piriapolis
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Budapest

Address: Chacabuco 998 | Maldonado, Piriapolis 20200, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Maldonado Department > Piriapolis
Amenities:
Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Piriapolis
Price Range: £48 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hosteria Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing