We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful, comfortable, friendly and affordable”
Review of Amulet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amulet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 52 Bukhara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Amulet Hotel is a cosy, intimate, friendly hotel within a traditional madrassa-style two-story octagonal building in a fine location on the edge of the town centre, a couple of minutes from the town's best restaurant. The manageress is welcoming and helpful (but unobtrusive) and serves complementary afternoon tea and snacks. This is a basic hotel, so don't come expecting five star luxury, but it's very comfortable, atmospheric and it looks great. The wifi is the fastest I experienced in Uzbekistan. One of my favorite places from my Uzbek trip and probably the best place to stay in Bukhara.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank stevlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 200 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014

Amulet Hotel is a simple old madrasa converted into rooms and outdoor places to sip your (free of charge) afternoon tea. It is within short walking distance from the oldest monuments of Bukhara. Unpretentious and clean the place has more character than many other more expensive hotels in converted old buildings. Its staff is very helpful and professional. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank an3pi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We loved our stay at Amulet, which exceeded our expectations. Our second-floor room was big enough for two suitcases and had what we needed - effective air-conditioning, small fridge, and a coffee-making area. Suzani were spread over crisp, white sheets on the bed. The bathroom was terrific - not fancy, but newly-refurbished, quite modern, and very clean. A varied local breakfast was served on a tapchan (day bed with low table) in the courtyard and the service was very attentive and friendly. There is an old mosque shell within the premises for added character and shaded balconies ring the second floor where one can recline on a daybed and wait for the sun to mellow. This is obviously a very different experience from a standard hotel which is why we chose it. We liked the atmosphere and had everything we needed. If they were to provide some sort of dinner (given the lack of options in Bukhara) and maybe some assistance with money, Amulet would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Antip0de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This small b&b has 8 rooms. i've seen them all and slept in one on ground floor. it's basic but they really tried to decorate it with nice objects all around. there are single beds only if you want a double you need to put two twins together. the feeling of the hotel is really good also compared to the other 7 i have visited in bukhara. unfortunately it is noisy, you can hear all that is going on and the street noise too as it is adjacent to it. a little pearl but location dose not do it a favor.
breakfast was very very good abundant and various. go for it!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
7  Thank Massimovitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We chose this hotel because we wanted something small and far away from big groups, with some local taste, even though our travel agent insisted time and again that it was very "basic". Guess what, it is fantastic.

The reality is that if you are looking for a pillow menu, fancy toiletries, chocolates on your pillow and a well stocked mini-bar, this is not for you. But it was certainly for us, having stayed in too many of the above: very unique decoration, with a real taste of the place, comfortable beds, perfectly working bathroom (good water pressure in the shower, something you cannot take for granted), peaceful, beautiful courtyard, freshly cooked breakfast, only a few rooms and, best of all, a wonderful smile greeting you and an offer of some tea every time you go through the gate. It is true that it is "basic", the room wasn't very big (old student cell after all) and there wasn't a wardrobe in our bedroom, but who cares?, but there was a small fridge to keep your bottles of water (or vodka) chilled and a well working air conditioning.

After all the "basic" warnings we thought we were going to find mostly backpackers here, but not, the other people staying were well-travelled people that looked for something that was not and did not feel like a chain. We commented that sometime soon we will see this place in one of the fancy travel magazines featured as the latest "discovery", boho-chic charm or something similar.

All in all a magic place that we will remember for a long time, we were sorry to leave! Thanks!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank London-E-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A small, converted Madrassa, with the guest rooms in the former students' cells. Only a handful of rooms, but they are stylishly furnished and decorated. The staff keep them (and the attached bathrooms) very clean They surround a charming courtyard where breakfast is served and tea is always available. Excellent, friendly service and excellent, freshly cooked breakfast.

Some reviewers have complained about the beds - it's true that the matresses are not the usual spring interior ones - they are stuffed a bit like a futon and on a leather frame. However we found them comfortable and enjoyed a good night's sleep.

Well placed and central, 5 minutes from Lyabi Haus Square.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank David866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Of the various Silk Road cities in Uzbekistan, Bukhara is my favorite. The Amulet is well located (close to Lyabi-hauz square) with pleasant rooms set round a handsome central courtyard. One could carp that the rooms are on the small side but that's because the building was constructed as a madrasah for students and is part of the charm. Great breakfasts and helpful service.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bukhara hotels
0.1 mi away
Amelia Hotel
Amelia Hotel
#1 of 23 in Bukhara
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Minzifa Hotel
Minzifa Hotel
#2 of 23 in Bukhara
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lyabi-House Hotel
Lyabi-House Hotel
#11 of 23 in Bukhara
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Malika Bukhara
Hotel Malika Bukhara
#4 of 23 in Bukhara
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hovli Poyon
Hovli Poyon
#7 of 23 in Bukhara
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bibi-Khanym Hotel
Bibi-Khanym Hotel
#5 of 23 in Bukhara
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amulet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amulet Hotel

Address: Nakshbandi St 73, Bukhara 200100, Uzbekistan
Region: Uzbekistan > Bukhara Province > Bukhara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bukhara
Price Range: £28 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amulet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amulet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amulet Hotel Bukhara, Asia - Uzbekistan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing