We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Omar Khayyam Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omar Khayyam Hotel
Ranked #5 of 44 Bukhara B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
97 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

The hotel was better than we expected.The situation is good for visiting the town. We checked in,
went for a walk and saw most of the old town.
The rooms are pleasant and well equiped.There is a central courtyard where breakfast is served.
Most of the staff spoke English reasonably well.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony room you must ask for an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santpedor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    36
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
256 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

This hotel is located within walking distance of all the sights, shopping areas and good restaurants. The street it faces on to is for pedestrians only, so its quiet and peaceful. You have to drag your luggage a short distance from the car parking area though, but it's not far and it's a lovely walk. The lobby is large (and the only place the WiFi works) and cool. There is a coffee shop and a nice place kitted out with cushions and carpets to sit and write or ponder or have a cup of coffee. Beakfast is served in the pretty courtyard but the selection is not great (and the fried eggs are awful), but it's adequate. The waiters were very obliging though and tried to keep us happy. We had bought our own oranges to use for juice and there was no juicer, manual or otherwise, available and when we asked for espresso they just made us a fresh pot of Nescafe, but they tried. The room was very comfortable (we got a triple room so lots of space) and the bathroom was very clean and modern and nice, with a shower over the bathtub. There was very little in terms of complimentary toiletries, if you like that sort of thing, but ample hot water and clean towels. The reception staff were kind and did what they could to help us find out about the puppet show we wanted to see. Directly opposite the hotel is a knife maker and he has the coldest drinking water we could find. This is a comfortable, well located hotel that will add to your enjoyment of Bukhara.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the courtyard could be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarveyCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Spezia, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Modern but characteristic this hotel is very close to all the main monuments of the ancient Bukhara . As this part of the city is only for pedestrian the place is really quiet
The rooms are rather spacious and very clean .
The staff is very kind and helpful
The breakfast doesn' offer many choices bur is good

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Massimo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Very pleasant courtyard for breakfast. A balcony room overlooking the courtyard would be nice, we had a room facing the afternoon sun so it was pretty hot. Aircon just managed to cool it. Wifi supposedly available in rooms but didn't seem to work except in the foyer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KandMOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
123 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Lovely hotel surrounding a courtyard (great for breakfast) where you can sometimes see the owners car on a pedestal looking like an extra from a Renault TV ad & sometimes see a tortoise as well

Comfy, quiet rooms

You are definitely in a great location here in the centre of the old town

Your fellow guests will primarily be German & French tourists in groups.

Room Tip: See if you can land a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tastydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

We were scheduled to stay at the Asia but our booking was bumped in favour of a large German tour group and lucky for us, we ended up here.

Check in was instant (they had our keys ready and waiting), the room very comfortable, everything in the bathroom worked (!!!), the breakfast was very good and there was even a little balcony overlooking the central courtyard.

Being centrally located it's within 5 minutes walk of just about everything.

Our favourite hotel in Uzbekistan.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MidlandsSkippy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bukhara hotels
0.6 mi away
Minzifa Hotel
Minzifa Hotel
#2 of 23 in Bukhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Malika Bukhara
Hotel Malika Bukhara
#4 of 23 in Bukhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lyabi-House Hotel
Lyabi-House Hotel
#11 of 23 in Bukhara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hovli Poyon
Hovli Poyon
#7 of 23 in Bukhara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.6 mi away
K. Komil Bukhara Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Amulet Hotel
Amulet Hotel
#1 of 44 in Bukhara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omar Khayyam Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omar Khayyam Hotel

Property: Omar Khayyam Hotel
Address: Khakikat Str 7, Bukhara 200121, Uzbekistan
Region: Uzbekistan > Bukhara Province > Bukhara
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Bukhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Omar Khayyam Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Omar Khayyam Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omar Khayyam Hotel Bukhara, Asia - Uzbekistan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing