We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
K. Komil Bukhara Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Bukhara
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great Historic Building”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

I stayed here for two nights and specifically asked my tour company for this hotel. This was a 19th century Jewish merchants home that has been preserved and converted to a guest house. The dining hall is an original banquetting room. They have a new wing which they gave me a room in at first but as it was low season I asked to be moved to the old wing.
The room was very comfortable and modern inside but still retaining the old architecture and wall alcoves. The room had central heating and a second portable radiator which I kept close to my bed. Bathroom was completely modern with hot water and good water pressure
The TV had four satellite options, one was mostly russian, the other a mix of arab and middle eastern channels. Its very easy to explore the old town from here. A block south is a Mosque and one of the old city gates, just south of that is a historic Jewish cemetary. Just opposite is a small vendor selling snacks from their doorway. The old town starts about a 3 min walk north.
Staff speak good english and are very friendly. I would definately stay here again or recommend to others for the historic atmosphere. You can also go to the roof for a city skyline of all the old houses.
Despite facing in on the courtyard the room was very quiet, there may be more noise in busy season with more guests. Breakfast had fresh pancakes, jams, boiled egg, local breads with choice of fresh tea. This hotel was one of the highlights of my stay and I dont regret my decision staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    71
    18
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
85
35
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zeist, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

A welcoming home in the heart of the old city, but just away from the crowd. What more would a traveller want? We stayed 6 nights in Komil's boutique hotel and would have gladly stayed longer. The owner, Komil, and most of the staff for that matter, went to great lengths to make us feel at home. The hotel is comfortable, full of character and has a very friendly vibe. It is located in one of the backstreets of Bukhara, only a few minutes walk from Lyab-i-Hauz.

Komil also doubles as a travel agent. We travelled (semi-)independently for 3 weeks through the country. We found Komil on the internet and asked him beforehand to arrange for our stays and connections. He also provided us with the necessary letter of invitation. Although sometimes he was a little slow in responding to emails (a telephone call every now and then helps a lot!), Komil proved to be a reliable agent. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stay three nights in Komil hotel

On the plus side nice breakfast, very nicely decorated rooms, friendly and helpful staff, overall good value for money, location is good (though you need to go down a small alley way, thinking to yourself is it the right way, this is a common experience in Uzbekistan).

On the negative - had the impression the outlook of the owner/hotel is a bit too merchantile, for example the dinners provide were at least twice the price for something similiar at a restaurant in town and the price offered to organise a taxi (bear in mind you always pay a premium when organised by a hotel) was three to four times what you could organise independantly.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Our experience started out a bit shaky when we were given a room in the older section of this converted mansion. The room itself had a lot of character, but it had some major problems with things not working. We mentioned the problems to the desk clerk when we returned from a short walk through the old city and got the impression it would go nowhere, but one minute after we returned to our room, there was a knock on the door and the owner/manager, Komil, was there and asked to see the problems. He immediately moved us to a room in the new annex and this was a BIG improvement. Everything worked, it was spotlessly clean and nicely furnished. The beds were comfortable and it had good WiFi access. Our entire stay, Komil was unbelievably attentive and was clearly a very hard worker trying hard to provide good customer service.

Pros:
Very accommodating owner/manager
Beds
WiFi
Close proximity to the old city
Quiet

Cons:
On a side street with a dirt road. At night it was watered down making it somewhat muddy and difficult to navigate in the dark.
Could have been cleaner in general. The breakfast tablecloth in the courtyard was pretty dirty.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new annex - not as charming, but WAY better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Dont' pay attention to the bad roads to access the hotel as this is very common in Uzbekistan, but to the interrior of this small local boutique hotel. When I arrived with my fiance, the owner himself checked us in. Very friendly and helpful he checked us in in one of the rooms that we rented as it was early morning, the second we took it in the afternoon.
The rooms extremely well decorated with local taste gave us the confort we were looking for: a good shower and a good matress to sleep.
Some attention should be given to the housekeeping though.
The breakfast was in a very wonderful big room, still decorated from it's Jewish origins.

Room Tip: Quiet hotel in a calm area compared to some others close to the old city centre, crouded and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianJabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

A wonderful place softly renovated, the atmosphere of old Bukhara still present in the guest rooms but foremost in the beautiful dining room. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MonicaTrachsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Unassuming from the street, the foyer leads to two attractive, shady courtyards. Our room was upstairs off the first court, apparently a newer wing, and all services in the room functioned well - a surprise after our experience with other budget accommodations. The historic rear part of the building is a real gem - they have maintained the original ornamentation in the grand room where breakfast is served - very special! Staff was welcoming, friendly and helpful with luggage. We liked the location, a short walk from active /noisier areas.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakmil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bukhara
0.1 mi away
Minzifa Hotel
Minzifa Hotel
#2 of 23 in Bukhara
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Malika Bukhara
Hotel Malika Bukhara
#4 of 23 in Bukhara
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hovli Poyon
Hovli Poyon
#6 of 23 in Bukhara
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lyabi-House Hotel
Lyabi-House Hotel
#11 of 23 in Bukhara
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kukaldosh
Kukaldosh
#16 of 23 in Bukhara
50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arkanchi
Hotel Arkanchi
#4 of 7 in Khiva
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K. Komil Bukhara Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K. Komil Bukhara Boutique Hotel

Property: K. Komil Bukhara Boutique Hotel
Address: Barakiyon St. 40 | Arabon 32, Barakioyn 40, Bukhara 200118, Uzbekistan
Region: Uzbekistan > Bukhara Province > Bukhara
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Bukhara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — K. Komil Bukhara Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your K. Komil Bukhara Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
K. Komil Bukhara Boutique Hotel Asia - Uzbekistan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing