We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Basic hotel from Sinh Tourist tour”
Review of Hoa Phuong

Hoa Phuong
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hoa Phuong
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Can Tho
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dirty Basic hotel from Sinh Tourist tour”
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

Ok I know the tour from Sinh tourist is quite cheap, but there'are a lot of better hôtels at the same price. Obviously they have an agreement with sinh tourist.

the main problem is the dirt, the whole place would benefit from a serious cleanup. The sheets were not changed, hundreds of mosquitos in the room, bathroom with flees' suite all over...

Breakfast is ok but almost only viet food

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rollingmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    1
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
5
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
150 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Like most people who have reviewed this hotel I stayed here for 1 night as part of a 2 day tour of the Mekong delta organised by Sinh Tourism. When I booked I didn't know which hotel I would be staying at but I did know it was a 1 star hotel and therefore I had minimal expectations. As it turned out my expectations were probably exceeded a little. I think some of the reviewers of this hotel are a bit 'precious' and should have paid a little extra for a higher graded hotel.

I don't know what I paid for the hotel but it could not have been much. I paid US$35 in total for the 2 day tour - this included comfortable airconditioned bus to the delta and back, the 1 night accommodation at Hoa Phuong (including light breakfast), multiple boat trips, 1 lunch, and a guide. As I was travelling alone I had to pay a supplement of US$8 (so 2 people travelling together would pay just US$27 each!). And it appears some people expected a ritzy room for that tour price!

My brief observation of the hotel was that it had seen better days but it was relatively well maintained and clean. True the desk staff did not speak fluent english (1 or 2 reviewers seemed to think this was an issue - did they forget they were in Vietnam?) but I didn't have any major issues with communication.

My room was on the second floor (and yes, as highlighted by at least 1 reviewer, no lift so I had to walk up stairs!). There was a slight damp smell when I opened the door but after a short time it didn't bother me. The room was quite spacious and old but clean comprising 2 quite wide single beds, air-conditioning, a TV (useless), a bar fridge (not turned on), a selection of drinks on a desk (at prices not much higher than at the supermarket, but not cold), a telephone (useful for getting a wake-up call), a bedlight that I couldn't get to work) and a couple of small chairs. The bathroom was also a good size comprising a toilet, a handbasin and a shower over a bath. The water was hot, and basic toiletries (toilet paper, soap, toothbrush) were provided. And yes, there was no shower curtain, which seemed to bother 1 or 2 reviewers. I felt the room was very good value.

Breakfast comprised eggs (cooked to your preference), crusty bread, jam, bananas, coffee and
green tea. Simple, but OK.

During my stay I didn't encounter any cockroaches mentioned by other reviewers.

The hotel is 20 mins walk from the river front which has a nice walking promenade and many restaurants/cafes.

A tip is to ensure you have ear plugs no matter where you stay because you will probably have to put up with excessive use of loudspeakers going well into the night (continuous commentary if a sporting or other event) and early in the morning (for indoctrination!).

In summary, if you want simple, cheap accommodation for 1 night you should consider this hotel.

Room Tip: For more quietness, try to get a room away from the balcony that overlooks the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_bmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed at the Hoa Phuong as part of a Mekong tour organised by Singh Tourist. As the night before we had stayed at another dismal hotel and had been told by other travellers who'd stayed here that this one was even worse, our guide rang ahead and asked that we be given 'good' rooms. When we got there we were shown 4 rooms: the first smelled like an old ashtray, the second was noisy as it faced the road, the third was damp and the air-con didn't work. The fourth one was at the back, relatively quiet and almost smell-free. No hot water though (you can't have everything, right?). Breakfast was an experience I've done my best to forget.
The only vaguely pretty part of this unremarkable town is the river front, which is a good 20- minute walk from the hotel. Other than cost, I can't imagine why on earth anyone would choose to stay here.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here ask for a room at the back of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrotamundoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Can Tho hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Stayed here for one night on the 2D1N Mekong Delta tour offered by The Sinh Tourist (formerly known as The Sinh Cafe)

First, the plus points:
Ridiculously inexpensive
Room air-conditioned
TV available
Beds comfortable enough
Breakfast provided; simple but satisfactory

Next, the minus points:
Hotel is old and run-down, no lifts available. Fortunately we were on the 2nd floor and our bags weren't heavy.
Room was old and dirty, saw a cockroach on the floor, bar fridge was not working.
Air con was freezing although we set it at the highest possible temperature.
Toilet was old and dirty, roof was leaking, no shower curtain, water heater not working.. had to bathe in cold water.. this was bad for the first 10 seconds but I must admit it turned out to be quite refreshing after that.
Not many attractions in the immediate vicinity, only 1 'megamart' nearby (few minutes away by foot).
Front desk staff speak little English; front desk does not operate 24h.

Overall, a very basic hotel. I suppose you get what you pay for. Stayed here only because I was on a package tour. I don't think I would stay at this hotel otherwise.

Verdict: Can tolerate if it's just for one night. If I were to spend more than one night in Can Tho, I think I would pay a little more to stay at a better place.

Room Tip: ask for lower floors if you have a lot of luggage as there are no elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ang_M26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

It's a cheap hotel with dark and old rooms. It's about 20 minutes walking to the center.
Maybe if it was cheaper it would be a good option but not with this price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josep-Timbaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This is a one star hotel with basic trained staff.The staff here were not very helpful and appeared grumpy. The rooms were not very clean but did have air conditioning and a tv. It was noisy at night. The breakfast in the morning was not worth getting up for. If this hotel is part of a tour I would suggest opting for a higher standard hotel

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kari5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Stayed here as part of Sinh Cafe Tour and will never go with them again. This hotel is not well managed as the front desk staff were not friendly and did not speak English very well. The rooms had paper thin walls, so you can hear everything that is going on in the adjacent room. The bathroom were filthy and did not look like they have been cleaned since the last people moved out. No shower curtain, no tubs. It was a shower head next to the toilet. There were stains on the sheets and tiny bedbugs creeping around. Thankfully, we did not find any roaches like others have said. You do get for what you paid for, but we did not expect this as Sinh Cafe told us it was a nice and decent hotel and it certainly is NOT - it may be cheap and good for the money, but definitely not nice. Oh and if you do happen to have a window overlooking the city, you will surely be waken up at 5 a.m to the communistic mantra that is blasting from the radio throughout the city. Otherwise, it's great for backpackers and those who like staying in hostels.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EbolynSuriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
1.0 mi away
Tay Ho Hotel
Tay Ho Hotel
#18 of 45 in Can Tho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lan Vy Hotel
Lan Vy Hotel
#41 of 45 in Can Tho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Can Tho Guesthouse
Can Tho Guesthouse
#27 of 45 in Can Tho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Xoai
Hotel Xoai
#5 of 45 in Can Tho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hanh Phuc Hotel Can Tho
Hanh Phuc Hotel Can Tho
#34 of 45 in Can Tho
3.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Phuong Nga Hotel
Phuong Nga Hotel
#25 of 45 in Can Tho
3.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoa Phuong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoa Phuong

Property: Hoa Phuong
Address: 12-14-16 Tran Phu St | Ninh Kieu district, Can Tho 92000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hoa Phuong 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hoa Phuong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing