We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food, Service, Ambience, Location, View....5 star” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nam Bo

Nam Bo
Ranked #42 of 107 Restaurants in Can Tho
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: It is listed in the Lonely Planet
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Food, Service, Ambience, Location, View....5 star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Not one but two restaurants, two menus, two completely different atmospheres, One street side great for people watching at this central location or rooftop for cooler air and ambience with great river views. downstairs had a snake set dinner for the more adventurous, upstairs I had the classic beef Pho and pleasantly surprised about the quality of the meat, (being surprised was probably my naïve preconceptions of a country being shown up.) Stayed at the hotel here and the breakfast was very impressive too.
TIP:-breakfast was included in the room price and we had also booked the breakfast boat trip,
luckily hotel breakfast was served until midday so we had it when we got back at 1130 as an early lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnbarry7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    75
    75
    34
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Roubaix, France
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Expensive than quality of food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Came here with my friend, we sat in the table near the street, Service is quick and professional, but food is too expensive than any restaurant in the same street and not very good, just medium, nam bo have nice decor in the dining room, waiter friendly, I just compain about the food and the price, hope next time I come will be better.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank miyamoto m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“We've eaten here 5 times in the last two years and it's only ever been excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We've stayed at the Nam Bo twice in the las eighteen months and kept coming back to the restaurant, because the first meal we had here on our late arrival was so good and we've never been disappointed. To be honest, we keep intending to try L'Escale, but are always seduced back to the Nam Bo.

We had a late dinner here after our arrival from Chau Doc, so the restaurant wasn't busy. The service was excellent and the food was freshly and excellently prepared. My wife and daughter had two fresh fish dishes and my son had beef with onions - freshly cooked tender and succulent pieces of beef. I had more mundane Cantonese fried rice - but it was also freshly made and delicious. The dining room is charming, clean and comfortable and from here (or outside if you prefer) you can watch the world go by on the riverside streets.

True, it is a bit more expensive than he norm, but it also sets higher standards. We are not slaves to western expectations, but found that this place is worth the extra, but our meal for 4 with drinks was still only 700k dong <$40).

I must say, some of these bad reviews look suspicious to me

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Can Tho, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good view and location and bad food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great location, near the Ninh Kieu quay, have great river side view, if you want to drink coffee, relax and see the sight seeing river view, no where in Hai Ba Trung street can better than Nam Bo, and if you want to enjoyed good food, this place is worst option, service here is very good but food is very bad, and small, I tried noodle with seafood, wait 20 minutes for the food that I ate just only 1 minutes, because it small and so salty, and price is expensive, Sao Hom and Nam Bo is the most expensive restaurant in Ninh Kieu quay but Sao Hom is better

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gben57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mistaken identity, big mistake”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We had meant to go to the highly recommendef L'escale but when we arrived we were shown to the this resturant instead . We found out later that L'escale was on the 4th floor. It seemed quite nice inside with good initial service. We ordered the can tho frief spring rolls and mango prawns. The spring rolls were a big dissappointment with what seemed to be sausage mince as filling. The mango prawns appeared to be two dishes mangoes poured over overcooked prawns. The meal was expensive and tasteless. I cant see why this is the case when there is so much good food in can tho.
After our initial service it was very difficult to get any service.
Dont bother.

Helpful?
2 Thank mamoore1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nam Bo also viewed

Can Tho, Mekong Delta
Can Tho, Mekong Delta
 
Can Tho, Mekong Delta
Can Tho, Mekong Delta
 

Been to Nam Bo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing