We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice setting, shame about building works”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Victoria Can Tho Resort
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Can Tho
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
224 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Nice setting, shame about building works”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

The Victoria Can Tho is a beautiful hotel, set around well manicured gardens and a swimming pool on the banks of the Hau river on the outskirts of can tho town. On checking in they provide cold towels, juice and a shoulder massage and staff appear very attentive. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The balcony of the deluxe room looked over the swimming pool, some of the rooms would however look over the restaurant next door.

We ate dinner jn the restaurant which was very tasty, serving both vietnamese and western food. It does of course have the price tag for in hotel dinning but the location is beautiful. Citronella oil is provided if you want to sit outside to prevent mosquitos but we found we needed to use our DEET!

The buffet breakfast is also extensive, and was one of the best we have experienced in vietnam. Both Western and Asian options were available.

There is a free shuttle boat to take you into Can tho town, however this only runs between 7-11am and 4-10pm. otherwise you would need to take a taxi as it is probably too far to walk as the route is indirect. Can tho town however offers very little, we attempted to go to the military museum but due to the timing of the boat we could not get there when jt was open. We spent maybe 2hrs at most in the town including eating dinner.

We took two tours organised through Victoria. The first was a countryside cycling tour. We paid around £30 a person for this and were led to believe it was a 4 hour cyling tour. It started well, the bikes on a short boat journey and then we visited a brick factory (was actually really interesting if sounds a little bizarre), we then cycled on concrete paths (referred to as roads but actually just wide enough for bike or moped) around farmland and small canals. it was really interesting and pretty, but then our guide took us on the main road saying that the paths were under construction . We returned to the hotel less than 2hrs after leaving, supposedly the paths had been under construction for at least a month! We complained to the tours manager, who initially offered us 15% of another tour, we eventually managed to get it for free! This was to the floating market, rice noodle factory, fruit orchard and rice processing factory, it was very interesting and i would highly recommend. The hotel manager also apologised for the tour problem.

The only other issue with the hotel is that there is currently building work going in, just next to the swimming pool. We were emailed to advise us of this a few weeks before our arrival but as we had a non refundable booking we could not change anyway. It certainly ruined the ambience of the pool area, but we appreciate it is low season and work needs to happen. Perhaps some compensation for this should have been offered?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonsterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    872
    346
    55
    12
    3
See reviews for
201
721
42
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

very French provisional hotel well laid out clean great service from friendly helpful staff nothing outstanding about the rooms except roomy clean but being French provisional they felt a bit dated food was good no complaints great for a couple of days but wouldn't recommend for a long stay as there are so many other places to see

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The moment we arrived we were greeted with passionfruit juice in ceramic cups. The resort is classic French colonial style, with everything performed in an understated, elegant way. The grounds are delightful, complete with swimming pool, and a short walk to a promenade along the Mekong. At dawn, stroll into town to hear the monks chanting their prayers. When night falls and the humidity drops, catch the hotel boat into Can Tho to explore the markets of have a meal.
The hotel restaurant is excellent, a choice of either traditional or French-inspired cooking. Staying here was one of the highlights of our trip, and I look forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, Cheshire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The rooms were comfortable but we had stayed in much better on our trip round Vietnam. There was nothing special to make the rooms better than 3 star. The pool was nice and the area well laid out.
The restaurant breakfast was the ok but we had much better in all the other hotels we had stayed in. As we were in a group in the evening we had a set meal in the dining room and the only thing I was able to eat was the dessert (something I don't normally have). The starter had too many things mixed in with it and I was unable to eat it because of some of the ingredients. Neither my husband or I managed to eat either the starter or the main course, it was the worst food we had the whole holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zenith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The perfect hotel to stay in when visiting the Mekong Delta area/region in Vietnam!!

Perfect for a one or two night stay/stop over in this area!!! Great breakfast

Upon check you are welcomed with a welcome refreshing drink as well as a mini back massage and it most likely much needed.

The pool here is very nice and nice to just sit and relax in for a few hours in between activities in this area!

I highly recommend!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ariel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
231 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

It is a beautiful hotel...third time here..low season, so very quiet & lots of maintenance going on. They said they had upgraded us but that was not correct. Breakfast is excellent & the staff are very helpful. There are no other hotels in Can Tho of this standard, so you must stay here!

Room Tip: You can get a room that has a view to the river & that is first choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lollygobbleblissbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umina Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

On our recent April 2014 19 day discovery tour the Victoria Can Tho resort stood alone for highest quality in four star hotels in Vietnam. From the welcome drink and neck massage on arrival the food, service and amenities all international first class.The layout of the room and its amenities, cleanliness, big towels turning the bed down message all great. The pool area superb grounds likewise with a river view and free shuttle boat 15 minutes into the shopping centre..The spa and massage staff were very efficient friendly at reasonable fees. Regrettably we only had one night to spend but needed longer.We feel the hotel rates at least 5 stars for what excellent accommodation it offers. We plan to return to Vietnam next year and certainly stay at Victoria Can Tho, we thoroughly recommend the hotel to all family included and the cost is average for the country. Neville Stephenson Umina Beach Australia nevstephenson@bigpond.com.au

Room Tip: First floor facing the river with comfortable balcony area, only couple of minutes to everything the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neville S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Can Tho
1.0 mi away
Vinpearl Can Tho Hotel
Vinpearl Can Tho Hotel
#9 of 44 in Can Tho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
1.5 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#7 of 44 in Can Tho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.8 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#3 of 44 in Can Tho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Can Tho
0.9 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#5 of 44 in Can Tho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
25.0 mi away
Mekong Riverside Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Can Tho Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Can Tho Resort

Property: Victoria Can Tho Resort
Address: Cai Khe Ward, | Ninh Kieu District, Can Tho 32, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Can Tho
#2 Romantic Hotel in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Can Tho Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Mekong Delta, Can Tho is home to charming riverside landscapes, green paddy fields, floating markets and myriads of canals. Experience a sunrise or sunset cruise on board the Lady Hau, a traditional wooden rice barge to the floating market. Set in a magnificent garden on the banks of the Hau River, the colonial architecture of Victoria Can Tho Resort complements the natural beauty of the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Can Tho Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Can Tho Hotel Can Tho
Victoria Hotel Can Tho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing