We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest hotel in Vietnam!”
Review of Kim Long Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kim Long Hotel
Ranked #4 of 123 Can Tho B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“The friendliest hotel in Vietnam!”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

The staff speak good English and are extremely friendly and helpful. They can book tours and onward travel for you too. Rooms are really clean, hotel is in a good location and theres a good restaurant and spa right across the road.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Weelee81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    104
    26
    12
    6
See reviews for
34
145
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The Kim Long hotel is well located, just 5 foot step to the dockside and close to decent of food stalls, restaurants. The room was big enough with an ensuite bath, spotelessly clean. The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful. Everything about this Tour was as advertised, great guide, (Thin) who spoke very fluent English to provide not only information about the surrounding areas, culture and traditions but great conversation too. Our group scheduled this as an outing for our business trip off day and we couldn't be more pleased. It was the perfect way to relax, see the countryside and have some fun with great locals.

Our Tour Guide was very accommodating to our schedule and the things we wanted to see, customizing our experience so that we could see everything that we requested.

I warmly and highly recommend to stay and book tours with the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The location of this place is really good and worth it for that alone. Right next to the river and close to The Mekong Inn which is a little restaurant where westerners tend to congregate. Staff where super friendly and reception staff speak good English.

Can Tho is a bit of a strange city in that 1.5 million people live there but there's almost nothing to do apart from the Delta tours and some countryside tours. I didn't do any of the tours offered by this hotel but they looked very well priced from what I could see.

All in all, the Kim Long would be one the of best places at affordable prices to stay for a couple of nights in the capital of the Mekong Delta.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 981Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Got to say, the owner of this place is our new hero. We stupidly left our passports there when we left (note to self - many places in Vietnam hold on to your passports while you're staying with them) and we realised about half an hour in to our bus journey. By some almighty intervention I had told him earlier that I'd forgotten some of the names of the accommodation we'd been staying at and might not be able to give good reviews on tripadvisor after travelling for some time, so he gave me his card. When we realised we could call him and he was very apologetic (it wasn't even his fault at all) and he arranged with the driver and staff on the bus for us to wait at the rest stop for the next bus to HCM city which would have our passports on it and sure enough within 2 hours of making e call we were reunited with them and back on our way. Top bloke! Some people seemed to think he was pushy with the boat tours, but isn't that what you're in Can Tho for? We arranged it through him when we arrived in the evening and got on early the next day and had a lovely time. We didn't get an English speaking guide and he boat driver spoke about as much English as we do Vietnamese, but he did his best to show us around the place and make our ride as comfortable as he could, as well as the fruit prepared by all the boatmen and women for the tourists, he even showed and played with the huge fish in the tank with us at a place where we stopped for coffee. The rooms are a great size and the bathroom was one of the biggest we've had so far, there is even a fridge stocked with well priced drinks. I'd be really clutching at straws to find a negative with the place or the staff, brilliant place and would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodz, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Even though we were very satisfied with our stay at Kim Long Hotel Im giving it a poor review to draw your attention to one very sad aspect. I have to admit the hotel is located very well, rooms are clean and staff is beyond friendly. We loved the trip to the floating market they organised, the crab that the owner prepared for us and the motorbike trip to the homestay on An Binh island. So what went wrong? Once we got to the homestay run by a friend of the owner we liked it so much we wanted to stay for 2 nights instead of one. We already paid for the first one that was included in a trip from Can Tho to An Binh so we didnt know exactly how much we were paying for the homestay. The owner of the Kim Long Hotel (who drove us to the homestay) told us the price 25$ per person per night. It was way too much for us so we were prepared to leave next day. Up until we found out on tripadvisor that other guests just two months earlier were staying there for 12$. Unfortunately we couldnt confront the owner of Kim Long Hotel about it as he was already gone but his friend from a homestay agreed on the price without hesitation. It wasn't the first or the last time sb tried to use us for money but we never met someone so friendly and helpful and deceiving at one time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 28martusia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trungct, Owner at Kim Long Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Dear Zecin Marta
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us. We treat all forms of feedback with the seriousness they deserve and we always strive to provide the best service available as well as rooms. We are delighted to hear about your experience at the hotel and how you though the floating market tour and the motorbike trip were well organized; how our staff was friendly as we strive to deliver and how much you enjoyed the crab I did offer.
We are, however, deeply saddened and very surprised to hear on how we did try to deceive you for money. We, personally, think that there was a mis-understanding here. We, therefore, want to make it clarify by saying that basically if you did come to An Binh Island on your own and stay there, you correctly would be charged 12 USD/ per pax/ per night as cited in many previous reviews on Tripadvisor. However, you did pay for us 25 USD/ per pax/ per night instead. This is because we did rent two scooters for you and did take you to the Island, which is about 2.5 hours driving away from our hotel, Kim Long. Meanwhile, we did plan to keep you away from busy and crowded national road by taking small and rural road, which enabled you to expose yourself to the spectacular landscape of southern Vietnamese countryside. Besides, there were also two very good English speaking drivers who could communicate with you and explain everything as needed on the way, which is not easy to find in Vietnam cause most people here hardly speak a word of English. Another little point which you may think over is that on the way to An Binh Island, due to the hot and humid weather, with the hospitality of Vietnamese, we did invite you to have a cup of ice coffee for boosting your energy to continue heading off to homestay. Additionally, at the homestay, you were served with decent authentic Vietnamese food for dinner at night; breakfast on the following day and you were free to use available bikes as well. With the above mentioned benefits of the trip like this, if you did it yourself, it, I bet, would cost you more than 10 USD/ per pax. In combination with the money of 12 USD/ per pax for homestay fee, you would pay by far the money of 25 USD/ pax you did pay for us. If you are still not satisfied with our explanations and still think the trip was not worth that much money, please let us know where you are now. We are, then, willing to pay the money back to you without any hesitation.
Once again thank you for your comments and I hope my effort of explaining to you makes sense and you will decide to stay and take our service in the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Trung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The best is the staff, very friendly!!! The room was very clean and confortable. If I comeback to Can Tho, I repeat!!! The hotel has a good position in the city because you have the old market and the river where you take the boats to see the floating markets really near. The hotel offer good tours for good prices with guided that are students. In general very good.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfernandezcrespo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Very nice hotel with clean rooms, everything you need. Situated very close to the river. Owner and staff are very warm, friendly and helpfull. We booked an interesting tour to floating market, with excellent guide. Really nice experience and great fun. Owner and guide speak English very well. We can warmly recommend to stay here and book tours.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dissl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
0.2 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#3 of 46 in Can Tho
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#4 of 46 in Can Tho
327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Xoai
Hotel Xoai
#5 of 46 in Can Tho
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria Can Tho Resort
0.2 mi away
Tay Ho Hotel
Tay Ho Hotel
#18 of 46 in Can Tho
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#7 of 46 in Can Tho
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kim Long Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kim Long Hotel

Property: Kim Long Hotel
Address: 9 Chau Van Liem | Tan An Ward - Ninh Kieu Dist, Can Tho 900000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 123 B&Bs / Inns in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Kim Long Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An intimate, 2-star boutique hotel, Kim Long provides excellent service and overlooks Can Tho river and Ninh Kieu Quay. You can enjoy Vietnamese warmth and hospitality at its most charming.Established in December, 2012, the hotel itself is only a few months old so it’s spotless and has a modern design in rooms at a very reasonable price. Each room is different, but all are spotlessly clean, new furnishing with fast internet, an air-conditioning, a great fan on the ceiling, AC, a telephone and a fridge. Bathroom is clean with solar hot water heating and cold water from outlet. Owner and staff are unfailingly friendly, and helpful which makes your stay a real pleasure. Hotel also has a nice rooftop in which you can view the river and take pictures. On-site parking place is free.With Gony, spa, cafe, restaurant being just opposite hotel, serving reasonably price local and western food, Chinese and Vietnamese Temple, and Ho Chi Minh statue close by, the hotel is perfect for shopping, sightseeing and entertainment. Location wise you can’t beat this place. More importantly, it is right in the heart of Ninh Kieu harbor and a local ferry terminal.The river is 50 feet away and all the night action are also right there. The day and night markets where the groceries and fresh food stalls are also a minute walk from the hotel. Hop pho which is 10 min walk away serves good western coffee. It was a fairly quiet road which was another plus for hotel.Exploring Can Tho is easy with scooter rental, bike rental, boat rental and bus ticket services available. Noticeably, Kim Long is only a 20 minutes drive away from the new Can Tho Airport, which links the Vietnamese capital, Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh city to the Mekong delta region and 10 minutes drive away from the bus station of Can Tho city, which makes it possible for you to move from place to other places easily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kim Long Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing