We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saigon Cantho Hotel
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Can Tho
Chau Doc, Vietnam
2 reviews
“Best hotel yet”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We also had 'standard' expectations after some of the other hotels we have stayed at in SE Asia, but this was a welcomed surprise. Big room, balcony, great bathroom with a tub and separate shower. Nightstand 'control center' for lights and charging your devices. Short walk to the river front and the tourist restaurant there.

Friendly staff, decent breakfast. Thumbs up to this place.

The only negative was that the shower didnt drain, so it flooded into the bathroom. But the water snaked its way directly to the floor drain, so it wasnt really a big deal.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room, not sure what the difference is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanmag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    66
    61
    19
    7
See reviews for
24
75
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We spent 1 night here after cruising around the Mekong Delta. Surprised by the size of the room and the excellent bathroom . Just a quick walk to the river and the night markets are just outside in the side street. Breakfast was limited in variety and the wifi seemed to drop in and out. Appear to be updating the hotel as new carpet rolls lying around. Well worth it

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1208BrianC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
291 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Being small, Can Tho has limited options at this price point if you want to be near the river. I chose this one because it fit my criteria, which was: walking distance to the river, affordable ( relative, I know ) and balcony. Here are my thoughts:

Location- Excellent. Two minute walk to the river. Turn left and walk the park & riverwalk, turn right and go to the tourist market, continue farther and see the better market, the local one. The night market sets up on the street in front of this hotel, and runs the length of the road down to the river.

Room- Huge! Really, it's very spacious with two beds and a high ceiling. I loved the build in radio between the beds. Our bathroom was fine, and both it and the room were clean. There was a balcony overlooking the street below which is always a great feature. It was a bit Spartan looking, but I understand it is owned and/or run by the government. But you know, the lack of lots of decorations was fine, it actually felt very much Vietnamese is many regards.

Hotel- Didn't get a chance to sample breakfast as left for the floating markets at 5 a.m. But nice big a/c'd lobby, great English spoken at the reception desk, very pleasant staff, and there's an elevator in the building.

If you are just looking for a place to sleep because you are coming to Can Tho for one night to do the markets and canals and want to be walking distance to the restaurants and riverfront, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1dancing_fool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We spent our third night in Vietnam in the Saigon Cantho Hotel after a day's sightseeing around the Mekong Delta. The hotel proudly announces itself as the first three star hotel in Can Tho and we found it to be a very good three star hotel.
The staff are very helpful and friendly. The decor in the passageways looked a little worn but our room (207) was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom looked as though it had been recently renovated. The shower was very good and we had no problems with the drainage.
we chose to have dinner in one of the nearby restaurants and afterwards took advantage of the 30% discount on a massage in the hotel spa which was a great way to end the day

The almost alfresco breakfast on the 4 th floor was more than adequate and we enjoyed cooked to order omelette and fried eggs which we hadn't been able to get at our hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
We would certainly stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrueLPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We weren't expecting much from this hotel but got a lovely surprise - very spacious and clean room with a bathroom that looked like it had recently been refurbished, welcome fruit, friendly staff and good location (near to market and river). We only stayed one night but it was certainly one of the nicer hotels on our trip. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeanneCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Your experience of a place is largely a function of your expectations. I'd say, for usd 50 a night, a large spacious room, with excellent wifi, helpful staff, clean sanitised bathroom with separate bathtub and shower cubicle, running hot water, decent sound proofing given that its located on a really busy cross road in the tourist centre where the night market ends, a nice largish bed, with good pillows, not the extremely fluffy stuff...is a decent deal.

However, they have to look into their shower area drains - water fills up reallly fast and takes its own sweet time to flow down; breakfast is nondescript (though better than some of the other similar budget hotel fares ); the fitness center begs for some attention! Located o the top floor, in the far interior corner, it feels and looks like some dungeon. Spider webs, a layer of dust on the sad looking few dumbells, manual treadmill and cycle (looked broken, and who uses manual anyway!)...i had one look, and i was out of there.

Didnt have meals other than the complementary breakfast, so cant comment on that. The hotel has motorbikes you can rent for 150k vnd per day, without petrol. Lift worked fine, no complains there.

If you overlook the small details and dont plan to take a long hair wash in the hotel and use their fitness center, its pretty decent to spend your time in can tho.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pallavi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany Western Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We have recently spent a couple of days in Cantho after a Mekong Delta tour. Our first night we arrived reasonably late and set out to find a restaurant to eat at. We thought the restaurant to this hotel looked quite upmarket and the menu looked fine. Boy were we mistaken. My husband ordered the cream of mushroom soup for entree. This was absolutely disgusting and tasted like eating warm cream...ugh.The next meal to arrive was mine- steak and salad. Well the steak looked like it was very mangled,not sure what they had done to eat. It was incredibly rare, strange as they never asked me how I would like it cooked. I know that when travelling in Asia you should never have rare steak. My son ordered a club sandwich which was choc a block full of stringy dried chicken. We thought this looked very dodgy and told him not to eat it after he had already had a couple of bites. Early the next morning,a mega bout of food poisoning had set in and my son was so incredibly sick we had to get to Ho chi minh city and have him hospitalised at the FV Hospital. He is currently recuperating here and has a very bad bacterial infection. Definitely avoid this restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Can Tho hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
0.2 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#3 of 45 in Can Tho
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#5 of 45 in Can Tho
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tay Ho Hotel
Tay Ho Hotel
#20 of 45 in Can Tho
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kimtho Hotel
Kimtho Hotel
#11 of 45 in Can Tho
24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#6 of 45 in Can Tho
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Victoria Can Tho Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Cantho Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Cantho Hotel

Property: Saigon Cantho Hotel
Address: 55 Phan Dinh Phung St, Can Tho 900000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Can Tho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Saigon Cantho Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saigon Cantho Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing