We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant be expecting to much from a 1 star hotel”
Review of Huy Hoang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Huy Hoang Hotel
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Came here on part of a tour of the meekong...

I've stayed in the worse, the room itself did the job... Air Con.. hot shower.. Rock hard mattress and pillows meant for "longevity" more so then comfort..

the place really let itself down in the service department in the morning... unable to provide a slither of the huge pot of butter that was right in front of the lady ... as she stipulated we only get whats on the menu ...

overall ... wouldnt book this Hotel myself... but can be dealt with for just 1 night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenHalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Like lots of others we stayed here as part of the 1 night Mekong Delta tour, but we then didn't go back to Saigon, we went on to Phu Quoc. Room was very basic, not particularly clean, old and decrepit but I've stayed in worse. If you are doing as a walk in then I personally don't think it's worth more than about $8US and you should haggle for that or lower. Wifi did work on the 3rd Floor and was ok. Breakfast was poor. TV had full cable.
The only issue we had was when they found out we weren't returning to Saigon but were going on to Phu Quoc and they were trying to sell us a transfer. They were asking $70 for 2 of us. We did it ourselves -
Meter Taxi to Bus Station D40,000
FutaBus to Rach Gia D115,000pp
SuperDong Hydrofoil D350,000pp
Bus to Duong Dong D30,000pp
Total for 2 - D1,030,000 which is $49US, or 30% cheaper. We ended up on exactly the same buses and boat as everyone who booked through the hotel

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Grant_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

My girl friend and I stayed at the hotel one night as a stop before Saigon. The room was ok, but the service and staff is absolutely terrible. They promised a number of things which didnt happen and overall just very bad. just an example is that we were promised breakfast made to go in the morning, but of course nothing was ready when we had to leave. And we STILL had to pay for it, eventhough we told them about it.
And DON'T book ANY tours through the hotel. They are over charging like crazy and the tour we had and were promised was a total joke!
It is obvious they pretend to know how to run a succesful business, but in reality they have EVERYTHING to learn!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mads H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The room was OK and quite clean. Free wifi and good location with short distance to the promenade and pier. The service varies a bit and I didnt trust the staff 100%. Bathroom is a combined toilet and shower with hot water lasting a couple of minutes.

They charge $30 to see the floating marked without a tour group. If you walk 200m down to the pier the price is about $15. (or maybe less)

All in all not the worst hotel you can stay in, but you will probably be able to find a better.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ludvig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights at 280000 dong a night. The room was very clean, white sheets and white towels. Flat screen tv, fridge and ac so good value. I found the staff on reception friendly and their english was ok. They have cheaper rooms available without a window or more expensive ones with a balcony.
However I would not reccomend doing any trip through them with Mekong Delta Tours. We did a boat trip to the floating markets which was ok but our "English" speaking guide was difficult to understand. We also booked a trip to Vinh Long to sight see along the journey and then stay in a home stay. The guide had dreadful English but the home stay was appauling and I refused to stay there. As I had only paid for half the trip and the remaining half was to be paid to the home stay I did not pay and took the ferry back to Vihn Long. This is no reflection on Huy Hoang hotel and look forward to returning to Can Tho and staying here again as its good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woowoo68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stayed there three nights in february 2014.
You get what you can expect from a 15$ per night bedroom.
Meaning the breakfast is frugal, strict minimum furniture in the BDR, and the staff expects you to use one of their "guides".
We chose to make a tour on a private boat with one of them, the "guide" didn't know anything pertinent about the city and the trip was too short for the money he asked, so I claimed he showed us more attractions, which he did, but he ruined the whole thing.
The day after, our "guide" served breakfast, cleaned the meeting hall and was also the receptionist.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank fabmeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Like most people who stay here, this hotel was included in with 475,000VND (About $25) 2 day 1 night Mekong Delta tour by An Travel (or another reseller eg. Lac Hong Tours) or the 2D1N tour by TNK Travel. The hotel is plain but clean and bright. Bed is a little hard, shower head is weak BUT fine for the one night stay and seeing how the two day tour is only 475,000, it’s a great value.

Wifi didn't work. There is no elevator... luckily, I was on the second floor. Free breakfast was mediocure to poor but edible. Good vietnamese coffee though.

The restaurant next door is mediocre to poor but inexpensive, English-friendly and convenient. I walked to a nearby Com Tam broken rice shop that was much more traditional and tastier. Exit the hotel and turn left, walk until the next street/intersection, cross and turn left. Look for the sign. You should see it right away. It’s about 3 minutes away. Be warned, the menu is only in Vietnamese and without a price. We paid only about 40,000VND for each rice dish including cold tea but we speak/read Vietnamese.

Room Tip: No elevators... so pick a room on the lower levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k-existence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Can Tho hotels
0.8 mi away
Victoria Can Tho Resort
0.8 mi away
Iris Hotel Can Tho
Iris Hotel Can Tho
#7 of 46 in Can Tho
347 reviews
4 mi away
Nguyen Shack Can Tho
Nguyen Shack Can Tho
#1 of 91 in Can Tho
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
TTC Hotel Premium - Can Tho
0.1 mi away
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
Anh Dao Mekong Hotel
#6 of 46 in Can Tho
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Hotel
West Hotel
#4 of 46 in Can Tho
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huy Hoang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huy Hoang Hotel

Address: 35 Ngo Duc Ke St, Can Tho, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Mekong Delta > Can Tho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 46 Hotels in Can Tho
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing