We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hospitality ever - Comme à la maison”
Review of Chez Loan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chez Loan Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Best hospitality ever - Comme à la maison”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed 3 nights and loved every minute of it. Loan made us feel that we were part of the family. The location is in the middle of the countryside, in rural Vietnam. The food served was tasty, beautifully presented and affordable. Tam Coc is only 1 km away and there are many nice sites to see within 30 km. Loan speaks very good French. I am not sure she speaks English but I do believe that she will make all travelers feel at ease, whatever the language. A truly special place.

Un lieu merveilleux et un accueil particulièrement chaleureux. Nous avons beaucoup apprécié notre séjour de 3 nuits. Il y a beaucoup de choses à voir dans un rayon de 30 kilomètres et nous avons adoré cette région.... et Loan.

Room Tip: The rooms to the front of the house have a very nice view of the village across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandrine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    122
    53
    23
    6
See reviews for
87
195
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We had the top floor family room for the 5 of us ; this room has been build afterwards on top of the small hostel and it was rather hot inside when we arrived. The airco functioned very well so cooled it off at night. Bathroom is rather small for 5. Food downstairs is served on the terrace and was of good quality but terrace lacks a bit of atmosphere. Early morning was rather noisy. Service is very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFoxies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Chez Loan has very good comments on Trip Advisor and different tourism guides so we booked at her place, luckily for us only for 1 night. Mrs Loan was very friendly by mail for the reservation but all along our 2 days/1 night stay, she has been extremely unpleasant and rude, which came as a very big surprise for us as we are the outgoing/smiling/happy type of guests; we tried our max to have a good time there but when the person does not look at you when she speaks, does not answer your basic touristic questions to go hiding in her kitchen while you are waiting for her at the reception for a few minutes (and she sees you :-/ ) that is clearly very surprising!! Do not know what happened to her those days but clearly Loan did not want to speak or take care of the guests properly. Other guests that we met in the dining room were also really disappointed. And the food was the worst of our stay in Vietnam (for true), absolutely tasteless, no herbs, no spices, just insipid boiled meat in water etc. Too bad I did not take pics of the food to share them on Tripadvisor. Bedroom cleanliness was OK (yet towels were dirty), but overall atmosphere was really unpleasant. Will definitely not recommend staying at her place and will never go back. PS: I am French but that did not change anything of this gross experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine_from_Dubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Chez Loan. The rooms were big & warm. The restaurant area was a bit cold though. I notice some people have complained that they don't speak English only French. We don't speak French but it wasn't really a problem. Our 2 children 8 & 6 years enjoyed it too. We ate the Vietnamese Hot Pot one night and it was delicious. Before we left for the night train, they gave us bananas and crackers.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Chez Loan is a family run business where you will quickly feel at ease. Miss Loan is a warm person, always ready to make her customers happy (she offered a bag of sticky rice, my favorite breakfast dish, before I left). Location is very convenient to walk or ride around the beautiful region of Tam Coc. Food is a bit pricey for Vietnam but the hot pot is a must. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank asia_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed at Chez Loan as part of a 4 night tour to Tam Coc and Mai Chau organized by Oriental Bridge travel. Like all the hotels we stayed at with Oriental Bridge, we were given their best room, which was clean and had a great view of the valley. We luckily speak French, as nobody speaks English here, though they do have menus in English. We had excellent food at the hotel. We tried our first banana flower salad and loved it so much we ordered it the second night along the the fried prawns wrapped in potato which were also great. This a very small hotel, with excellent prices for both the room and meals, so I would suggest making a reservation.

Room Tip: The rooms vary in size, I believe our room (301) was the most expensive at $25 night including break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtraveler3465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2011

This place is out of the way and kind of hard to get to, but that's what makes it worth the effort. We spent a few lazy days cycling around Tam Coc and waving at the locals in the rice fields. Ask Loan for her recommendations and splurge on the food - it's pricey for Vietnam but we didn't find anything better, or cheaper, in the area (which is frequented by a lot of tour buses).

We went in the off season and Loan offered us a discount on the rooms even though we were already there, in that out-of-the-way location and would happily have paid the price that was originally quoted to us.

Just be careful if you have environmental sensitivities. There were a lot of dead bugs around, which suggests heavy pesticide use in the area...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostMyTowel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ninh Binh hotels
1.6 mi away
Tam Coc Garden
Tam Coc Garden
#2 of 26 in Ninh Binh
795 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Belle Vie Tam Coc Homestay
0.9 mi away
Nguyen Shack – Ninh Binh
Nguyen Shack – Ninh Binh
#1 of 59 in Ninh Binh
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh
Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh
#5 of 26 in Ninh Binh
838 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ninh Binh Hidden Charm Hotel & Resort
3.7 mi away
The Vancouver Hotel Ninh Binh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chez Loan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez Loan Hostel

Property: Chez Loan Hostel
Address: Route de Tam Coc - A Bich Dong | thon Dam Khe xa Ninh Hai Hoa Lu, Ninh Binh, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ninh Binh Province > Ninh Binh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 65 Speciality Lodging in Ninh Binh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chez Loan Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Chez Loan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Loan Hotel Ninh Binh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing