We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”
Review of Canh Dieu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canh Dieu Hotel
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

From reading the other reviews we must have stayed at a different hotel (though other guests at the same time as us spoke of their dissatisfaction). The bed was VERY hard, I would wake up numb throughout the night on the side I was laying on and have to turn, on top of which we were right above the train line in which the trains kept us awake for most of the night (There are no restrictions to the horns blowing). We arrived early evening, was given a bottle of water each, we went out for dinner leaving the air con on and the light, on return an hour later the air con and light was off, they had obviously been in our room while we were out!
We were not given a fruit drink or fruit as advertised on arrival, though we were disturbed one night at 9.45pm with a knock on the door and a fruit drink! The 'mini bar' was an empty fridge with filth at the bottom, the fans were covered in muck. There is no coffee shop, this area is used for the laundry instead.
The positives were the young guy (the son) who pretty much ran the hotel himself. He was very polite and helpful, giving us a ride to the train station and cool water for the journey. The breakfast was also good with lots of choice and good portions.
Unfortunately this did not make up for our three nights of not sleeping!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOOtsie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    47
    23
    7
    12
See reviews for
13
106
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The guy on reception here is the nicest, most helpful person I've crossed paths with in a long time. He came to collect us when we got lost en route to the hotel. He warned us about flooding where we were heading to next and came with us the the train station to arrange our bikes to go on a train further south. He helped us fill out all the forms and made sure we didn't get ripped off (a common occurrence in Vietnam), telling us to call him if we had any problems.

The hotel itself is good value; clean rooms, breakfast included and down the road from some great barbecue places where you can get goat meat - yum!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachaelbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ninh Binh, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend have stayed here for two nights and it's perfect. The man at reception is the sweetest guy! We got a free cold bottle of much needed water on arrival, He arranged a trip for us to Cuc Phong national park with our own driver who stayed with us all day driving us around for only $47 split between two which we didn't have to pay until check out, last night we had a knock on the door and he delivered us free smoothies just because, he organised our bus to Phong Nha-Ke Bang for us AND when we asked if there was somewhere we could keep our luggage whilst we wait for our night bus he said we could stay in our room until our 9pm bus for free 'if that's ok' of course it is! Such wonderful staff, a lovely clean hotel, we had a great stay. Only slight negative is the beds are pretty solid, however it didn't effect me at all like I thought it would. Highly recommended. And the train line is just behind :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Inemilysshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I was very pleased with my short stay here. The staff was more than helpful with tour information, transportation schedules and other local tips! The room and beds were quite large and very clean. AC and fans worked perfectly and we had even a big balcony. Great value!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

It's possible to see this hotel from the train station, however you have to walk around and over the tracks by a little road which takes approximately 10-15 minutes - the roads are completely safe and it's an easy, flat walk.

Even though I arrived at just after 9am, well before the check in time, I was warmly welcomed, invited to sit down while the necessary paperwork was completed, before promptly being shown to my room, already cleaned and awaiting my arrival. Great start.

It got even better when I ordered a fabulous apple pancake (seriously tasty - and massive) and then asked for advice about things to do in the area - although the answer is 'not a lot', the staff went through everything I could do within the town including the local market and the small church, and then took me through the various options for exploring the surrounding countryside - lots of helpful information without being pushy in the slightest.

The rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, with air conditioning, a fan, lockable wardrobe, fridge and tv. The beds were very comfortable and again, spotlessly clean. My room overlooked the railway station and on the first night I did wake up with a start at the sound of a train's horn directly outside my window; however this was the only disturbance in three nights at the location.

Breakfast is included and there is a wide range of both Asian and Western dishes available to choose from - all delicious-looking, though I stuck with my favourite - the apple pancake, each morning.

The staff at this hotel only add to the good points - warm, friendly, helpful...even dropping me off at the train station on the back of their moped when it was time to leave with a complimentary bottle of water for the journey (though I'm still not sure how both my bags, me and the lovely staff member were able to fit on the bike...!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Actually they are located behind the station about a 15 min walk. They gave us a ride to station in the morning and would have picked us up if they had known we were coming. Room nice and clean. Good breakfast and helpful front desk. We just stayed one night. Pretty quiet town.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

HOT WATER!!! HOT, HOT, HOT WATER!!!

Our room was large and very clean, and the cable TV had some great English channels. The staff spoke amazing English, and whilst the food was a little pricey, it was delicious. And the water was hot!

Would happily stay ahain

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ninh Binh hotels
0.1 mi away
The Queen Hotel Ninh Binh
The Queen Hotel Ninh Binh
#8 of 26 in Ninh Binh
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kinh Do Hotel
Kinh Do Hotel
#10 of 62 in Ninh Binh
245 reviews
0.8 mi away
Guest House Kim Lien
Guest House Kim Lien
#5 of 62 in Ninh Binh
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Duc Tuan Hotel
Duc Tuan Hotel
#24 of 62 in Ninh Binh
94 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tuan Ngoc Hotel
Tuan Ngoc Hotel
#4 of 58 in Ninh Binh
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Queen Mini Hotel
#40 of 62 in Ninh Binh
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canh Dieu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canh Dieu Hotel

Property: Canh Dieu Hotel
Address: 74 - Nguyen Van Cu-Van Xuan, Ninh Binh 40000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ninh Binh Province > Ninh Binh
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Ninh Binh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canh Dieu Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“ Cánh Diều Hotel is located in Ninh Binh composed of stylish oriental culture and unique characteristics of 29 rooms fully equipped rooms with modern facilities. This hotel is fit for both leisure and business travelers as it is located within close proximity to bus and train stations. Guests have a choice of 3 different types of room varying from Deluxe Twin Mountain View (Cánh Diều mountain view), Twin Standard Twin Bed, Double Standard. Guests who want to explore the city can visit the nearby attractions such as the Hoa Lu Ancient temple, Pagoda Bai Dinh, Phat Diem Cathedral as well as nearby shops and restaurants. Pick Cánh Diều Hotel for an ensured comfortable stay…” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Canh Dieu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing