We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean, reasonably priced”
Review of Nam Hoa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nam Hoa Hotel
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Ninh Binh
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
703 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Basic, clean, reasonably priced”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Nam Hoa is a good, basic hotel. It's a bit older and getting dated, but it is clean and well-maintained.

The rooms have a/c and lots of electrical outlets that accept North American plugs to recharge all your devices. There is free high-speed wifi. (Why can't 4-star business hotels that charge four times the price offer that???)

The hotel is on the main street a block or so from the main square and boat launch. The town dies at night so even though it's on the main street the hotel was very quiet.

The breakfast was as basic as everything else. A fresh baguette, fresh fruit, eggs and coffee or tea. It was tasty and satisfying but won't win any prizes.

The owners speak French (perhaps explaining the baguette for breakfast and the website being in French) so French speakers will feel at home.

It isn't 5-star luxury but if you want a clean, quiet hotel at a reasonable price, this fits the bill.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank GVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    63
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
40
142
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ohio City, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Regretfully, we only had one night at this fabulous hotel. We had the most comfortable night's sleep of the whole of our holiday - wonderfully soft bed, beautiful bedding and lovely pillows and duvet - would travel back just for this!
Food was excellent, as you would expect for the price.
The service was tip top, personal and helpful without being intrusive.
Lovely rooms with fabulous bathrooms.
Hard to say how this hotel could be better!
Will definitely return to this lovely, comfortable and welcoming hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jone D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton of Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
567 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The hotel is the only "high rise" in Ninh Binh so the view from the top-floor restaurant is great and unobstructed!

Some rooms are very basic so if you feel you've been given a bad one, complain about it (a few times) and they will give you one of the good ones, complete with wardrobe and all!

As for the restaurant, the breakfast is nothing special, just ok. We had lunch there and it was quite good. Then we had dinner and it was a disaster... For a start, glasses and plates are not very clean, if there is more than 4 people in this room, it becomes impossible to hear your neighbour screaming... and the set menu was not good at all...

Room Tip: Ask for one of the good ones!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ludo-Owen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Newbury
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Our hotel (Catbadream) on Cat Ba island arranged this for us: pick-up at bus station in Ninh Binh, and a 2 day stay here.It was right where we wanted to be, as the river boat trip was right down the street, and we could walk (2 miles) to Pagodas. Room was very nice, with an enclosed shower,and the food was good. We had to change rooms when we first got there because the heat and the TV didn't work,but after that it was fine. Nobody spoke English, which was a problem when we were trying to arrange onward travel, but we went to another hotel down the road and they booked us on to Hue. I especially liked being out of the city for a few days.This is in a small town with few vendors.

Room Tip: A good alternative to Ninh Binh and only a $4 cab ride away
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ninh Binh hotels
3.8 mi away
Ngoc Anh Hotel 2
Ngoc Anh Hotel 2
#6 of 26 in Ninh Binh
552 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Queen Hotel Ninh Binh
The Queen Hotel Ninh Binh
#8 of 26 in Ninh Binh
192 reviews
1.8 mi away
Tam Coc Garden
Tam Coc Garden
#2 of 26 in Ninh Binh
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ninh Binh Legend Hotel
Ninh Binh Legend Hotel
#7 of 26 in Ninh Binh
389 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ngoc Anh Hotel 1
Ngoc Anh Hotel 1
#11 of 26 in Ninh Binh
16 reviews
7.9 mi away
Golden Dragon Hotel
Golden Dragon Hotel
#14 of 26 in Ninh Binh
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nam Hoa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nam Hoa Hotel

Property: Nam Hoa Hotel
Address: Tam Coc - Bich Dong resort - Hoa Lu district, Ninh Binh, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ninh Binh Province > Ninh Binh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Hotels in Ninh Binh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nam Hoa Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nam Hoa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing