We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NINH BINH galaxy grotto cave with Indochina Pioneer”
Review of Trang An Grottoes

Trang An Grottoes
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Bai Dinh Pagoda and Trang An Eco-Tourism Complex Day Trip from Hanoi
More Info
US$109.00*
and up
Discover Ancient Hoa Lu and Trang An from Hanoi
More Info
US$47.00*
and up
Trang An Grottoes and Bai Dinh Day Trip from Hanoi
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Ninh Binh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trang An grottoes which is a gathering of 31 valleys, 50 cross-water caves, and home to 600 kinds of flora and over 200 kinds of fauna, many of them in the Red Book of Vietnam.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“NINH BINH galaxy grotto cave with Indochina Pioneer”
Reviewed 25 March 2013

A wonderful relaxing day in the countryside! First we took a bike ride through the fields and country roads, then lunch in the outdoor restaurant next the boat jetty. After lunch we took a leisurely boat ride on the river next to the limestone mountains to the caves of Ninh Binh. We went into the GALAXY GROTTO and the BUDDHA GROTTO. I preferred the Galaxy Grotto which was far more interesting. A wonderful day trip from Hanoi.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MAUITRAVELER2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    360
    78
    20
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“something different.”
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We had had enough of Hanoi so we chose a day tour to Trang An or " Halong Bay on land". Originally our hotel arranged for a private car and guide for $85 each. We decided to change this to a group tour which I booked through one the many tour agencies close to the hotel. This tour cost $30 each and included a huge lunch and admission fees. It is a 2-3 hour drive along typically awful roads with little nice scenery BUT we had good company and a good English speaking guide. All of the others on our tour were Vietnamese, they were very friendly and despite not knowing each other were quick to break into a sing a long or share jokes. The visit to the Temple complex was great and the 2 hours spent on the river after lunch was unreal. The boats each took 5 people and visited (rowed through) 6 caves. The rowers were very friendly and really earned the fee as well as a tip from every passenger.We only saw 5 other European tourists. It was peaceful and scenic. We dozed on the drive back to Hanoi. Really enjoyed this day tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Sydneymez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“boating under the mountain”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

It was longer and more beautiful than Tam Coc ,a river with at least 10 caves , some over 250 metres long .It is very busy with Vietnamese tourists , they were happy and friendly on their vacations so we had a fun boat trip .They put 5 in a boat so groups of less will have to match up with others to make the number .Plenty of time(3 hrs) to people watch and see some incredible river caves .

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hedgehog-and-Flip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerpen
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Lovely place in the middle of nowhere”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Trang An Grottoes are the only interesting thing to do in Nihn Bihn. So if you happen to drive by, it is worthwhile a visit. But don't make it a daytrip (as we did), because you will feel sorry.

The scenery is beautiful (a boat trip on a river passing temples and cave) but tends to be very crowdy. Go there 1 hour before closing time, maybe they'll skip a cave or two but your journey will be more comfortable.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mini Ha Long Bay”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Tranquility and beautiful... luckily that day was not as foggy and usual. The 3-4 hours boat tour was worth to see, especially enter the part where the emperor used the water to make wine... the water was so clear... Really nice!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lizlee2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trang An Grottoes also viewed

Ninh Binh, Ninh Binh Province
Ninh Binh, Ninh Binh Province
 
Ninh Binh, Ninh Binh Province
Ninh Binh, Ninh Binh Province
 

Been to Trang An Grottoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing