We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”
Review of The Vissai Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Vissai Hotel
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Ninh Binh
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a good experience”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the beginning of March and were very disappointed - the pictures shown and the descriptions given do match the reality. Firstly we were given an inferior room to the one booked; we were then given the correct type of room but this had a lot of mould all around the walls in the sleeping area and bathroom, smelt of damp and there was a hole in the bathroom ceiling so we we had to ask for another room (the staff didn't seem to think this was a problem). This room also smelt damp but only had a small amount of mould so we stayed. The room is actually a lovely size and the bathroom has a lovely walk in shower (not the 1st bathroom) but they need to maintain them.

The fridge hadn't even been switched on in the room and by 9.45 pm on the day of arrival we had to phone and ask for more toilet roll - this is not 4 star service.

On arrival we asked if we could get food in the hotel and were told to go to the bar on the top floor; we were also told that was where breakfast was served. The bar did not serve food and did not serve breakfast (we later found out we could have got food on the 3rd floor- also where breakfast is served). Although fruit and cake were an option on the breakfast menu they were not available either day of our stay.

We were looking forward to some relaxation time by the pool only to find the pool area was a building site and the pool itself full of debris and could no way be used. When this was mentioned to the member of staff on duty at the desk we were just told the what floor the pool was on! We could not get her to understand that we knew where it was, the fact it could not be used was our problem.

Building work is still being carried out at the hotel so we were subjected to the noise from this and although they advertise the fact there is a coffee shop, nightclub, salon and shops - they haven't actually been built yet.

Luckily the top floor has a roof terrace and a jacuzzi and this made our last afternoon a pleasant one. The sun was shining and was quite hot and we were at a loss as no pool but this was really nice. The member of staff , who was really helpful, switched on the jacuzzi for us and brought us water to drink and so were able to relax in this lovely setting.

I am sure when The Vissai is finished it will be lovely but there is along way to go.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    10
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
6
9
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Do not book this hotel. We were shown to a room with a musty smell, the carpets were filthy. When askwhat out the smell, I was told to turn on the air conditioning for 5 min and that would fix it. The front desk people had very poor English. We asked to change rooms and were given an upgrade which was initially ok but the shower tap then sprung a leak and continued to leak and there was no hot water. Had to boil kettles of water to fill the bath to have a decent wash. This hotel was probably built in a hurry with poor materials.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 971Jchm971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ninh Binh hotels

Denpasar, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This hotel is by no means new, as stated by earlier reviewer and is in need of an upgrade throughout. The staff at the Vissai tried very hard to make our stay a memorable experience and we really did appreciate their efforts considering what they are up against in this building.
We had booked through an Internet hotel site and unfortunately our booking had coincided with a government conference of sorts. Not wanting to lose our business we were given a shabby damp room as a temporary measure with the promise of an upgrade the next day. The next day saw us in a nice deluxe room overlooking the main town centre. We found some annoying things in the room one being, removal of key card/ power switch also turned off the refrigerator so after a days outing everything in the fridge was warm! Any other hotel I have stayed in has a separate circuit for the fridge. One other quirky thing was, and this appears to be in every room was the need to turn off the main lighting circuit breaker to switch off the lights at night! The circuit breaker is situated near the entry door and once it's off there is no lighting at all in the room!

The main annoyance was when we were seated in the dining room for dinner. A medium size rat went scooting along the kitchen skirting board. I immediately notified the waitress and said, you have a rat in the kitchen! She shook her head as to gesture no and held two fingers up signalling that there were two rats, I wonder how many there really are.
The owner of the Hotel is building a Disco/ Car park at the front of the Hotel, not renovating the existing as again stated by a previous reviewer. This may however alleviate the clutter in the driveway by the ability of him being able to park his black Porsche, black Range Rover and other mobile status symbols somewhere out of the way. Maybe he should have got his existing rundown building into better shape before starting a new project.
It's only because of the friendly staff that you could call this place a Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Opened 2 months ago, it is still being set up. Basement is being renovated. Lobby is sparse. It is probably the newest and poshest hotel in small place like Ninh Binh. View from the 17th floor is superb facing the scenic Tam Coc and looking down at the football stadium. Sun rise around 5 am, you could see the residents waking up to their morning exercise at the neighboring homes and the running track. There is a swimming pool but dirty when we were there.
Rooms are nice, spacious and comfortable. There are proper wine glasses in the room. Facilities like the bar and restaurant are lacking. Breakfast is served at a fancy European style dining room. There is a menu to choose from but the staff didn't state what is not available until you select those items. The staff are helpful and tried their best to accommodate to our requests. Hopefully their level of service will improve over time with more training to meet the 4 star standard.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the view of Tam Coc on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ninh Binh hotels
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Ninh Binh Legend Hotel
#7 of 26 in Ninh Binh
382 reviews
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Reed Hotel
#10 of 26 in Ninh Binh
34 reviews
5.2 mi away
No photo provided
Tam Coc Garden
#2 of 26 in Ninh Binh
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hoang Son Peace Hotel
#14 of 26 in Ninh Binh
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Ngoc Anh Hotel 2
#6 of 26 in Ninh Binh
543 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
The Queen Hotel Ninh Binh
#8 of 26 in Ninh Binh
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vissai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vissai Hotel

Property: The Vissai Hotel
Address: No.848, Tran Hung Dao Street,, Ninh Binh 430000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ninh Binh Province > Ninh Binh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Ninh Binh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Vissai Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Vissai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing