We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real beautiful and peaceful place to escape from our over-perfect-zivilisation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tam Coc Garden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tam Coc Garden
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Ninh Binh
Certificate of Excellence
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A real beautiful and peaceful place to escape from our over-perfect-zivilisation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

This resort is nothing for business- or private people always wanting to be online or having the best restaurant at the snip of their fingers. But it is PERFECT to take away the stress for a view days off from the crowded places you may have visited before. For our feeling (we are from Salzburg, Austria) it is a very well managed and clean resort in a lovely and perfect nature environment, with a lot of very nice and helpful people working there. We really enjoyed our stay and recommend it for nature-loving people. There is still natural landscape inside and outside, the comfort you need and expect inside, and especially the daily fruit-plates in the room are very tasty and nice. Don´t miss to take the bicylces to discover the birds-park (~4h) on the "right" and the very old "Bich Dong" Jade Pagoda (~2h) on the "left". We visited both of them in the evening during our 4-night stay. Last but not least of course the central roundtrip (~6km) within the Cuc Phuong NP and boat tours into Tam-Coc´s & Trang-An´s caves are worth the 2 full day-trips, too. All in all it was the most beautiful place on our journey in Viet Nam (which took 10 days) and it was very helpful to have a contact in advance to know a private car is taking you from Ha Long Bay to Tam Coc. Many thanks to Ms Dinh Tam, it was a pleasure to be here :-)))

Room Tip: If you stay there think about the deluxe-room-variant, the few bugs more won´t hurt too much, even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank d_d_u_u_m_m_y_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    115
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
179
365
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Tam Coc hotel is excellent. Surrounded by the most beautiful scenery. Great to arrive on a hot day and find a gorgeous pool. Just found the steps into the pool slippery with slimy algae, and had to ask for a towel to place over the steps in order to go into the pool. Also found the raised bed unnecessarily hard to get into and out of, so would suggest to remove the raised part.
To be able to do a boat trip from there, and see the awesome caves is worth going to Tam Coc.

Room Tip: All rooms great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank MonicaG506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

For $100+ a night! I came here with high expectations. The room itself was clean, spacious, and comfortable. However, there was no wifi available in the room, the power was on only about 50% of the time (no a/c was unbearable!), and the swimming pool was completely covered in green slimy algae. Perhaps in high season they give the pool a clean, but for the price of a night, it should be perfect.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank hollyvictoria2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights after spending 2 nights in Ninh Binh. When they built this Hotel, they tried to be a little different. The bed is located on an elevated stage type of construction which means it can be a little difficult getting into, and out of, bed and especially when the bed is covered with a mosquito net. Having a shower is also a major exercise - the detachable shower head is located above a non-conventional bath with no shower curtain and as a result water flies everywhere. There is no plasma TV in the Rooms so you would think that is the perfect opportunity to catch up on emails etc. but, alas, there is no wifi in the Rooms. Internet connection is available in the reception area but that is not very convenient - why would you want to sit in reception when you could so easily be able to do those things in the comfort of your own Room. The Restaurant has a fairly basic menu - we were keen to try the duck but unfortunately it was "out of season" although every other Restaurant in the area could provide duck. We then asked for the Vietnamese Hotpot - no luck there either so we ended up opting for the burgers! The great parts of this Hotel are the pool area and also the beautiful, peaceful location. Bikes are available free of charge which is a great and easy way to get to the sights around Tam Coc. The staff are very courteous and eager to please. The Hotel did not seem to be very busy during our stay and as a result the low occupancy probably does not give the staff the opportunity to hone their skills. If the Management could just fix a few of these things, this Hotel could be really good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vonhagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel lies beautifully in between ricefields and karst mountains with an incredible garden and pool landscape. The rooms are big and have a unique style. The staff is very friendly but some could improve their English. It's not far to any of the nice seights in the area. All is reachable by bike.
On the downside, the hotel is for its standard comparable expensive, both the rooms and the food. There is no possibility to eat outside. Also the internet only works in the reception and it is rather slow. Makes it difficult to plan your further trip.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Juni V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

HOTEL GROUNDS: clean, quiet, very beautiful views and landscapes, of course those kinds of perks are trade-offs to being walking distance to restaurants, shops, etc. Although there is a temple atop a mountain that is pretty close by.
HOTEL AMENITIES: The hotel restaurant has a short menu that seems to be the same everyday, but most everything in it is delicious and made with quality ingredients - items can be a little pricey - I recommend going to town and stocking up on water bottles and beer. The pool is clean and has a gorgeous view. Bicycles are lent out for free - you can really get a serious workout biking to town but the sceneries will take your breath away as well. I wish they rented out scooters so you're not stuck wondering around a very close vicinity the whole time.
STAFF: polite and always very eager to help with any request. Do not speak fluent english but you can get by. They do seem to be able to speak French better?
ROOMS: gorgeous, tastefully decorated, romantic, private yet spacious, clean but has a musky smell at times when it rains or after you shower - I think the location makes it difficult to keep the humidity out of the rooms. There's a tiny trace of mold on our villa's ceiling.
Overall, the experience was extremely tranquil for us. We stayed during the end of our vacation so it was perfect to just have no major agenda and just stroll the beautiful area throughout our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Although the Tam Coc garden is more expensive than some resorts it is worth every penny.

The room was huge with space to sit and relax with a stunning view and all throughout the resort there was a view.

It's worth getting up at 6 for Tai Chi with the hotel manager who is very friendly and knowledgeable. With free bikes and area guides to use we were really close to all the sights so didn't have to take any tours when we were here.

A really peaceful and relaxing few days in a hectic trip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ninh Binh hotels
1.8 mi away
Nam Hoa Hotel
Nam Hoa Hotel
#3 of 26 in Ninh Binh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vietnamese Ancient Village- Lang Viet Co Hotel
5.2 mi away
Ngoc Anh Hotel 2
Ngoc Anh Hotel 2
#7 of 26 in Ninh Binh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ninh Binh Legend Hotel
Ninh Binh Legend Hotel
#6 of 26 in Ninh Binh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
10.4 mi away
Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh
Emeralda Resort Ninh Binh
#4 of 26 in Ninh Binh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Vancouver Hotel Ninh Binh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tam Coc Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tam Coc Garden

Property: Tam Coc Garden
Address: Hai Nham Hamlet, Ninh Binh 40000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Ninh Binh Province > Ninh Binh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Ninh Binh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tam Coc Garden 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Far removed from the hustle and bustle of city life, Tam Coc Garden, nestled amidst rice fields, is a jewel of hospitality, gastronomy and romanticism, harmoniously intertwined with local farm life. The benefits of eco-tourism, cultural tourism and combined tourism are conveyed through the architecture and the foundational functioning of Tam Coc Garden. In fact, in keeping with the original construction of an authentic Tonkinese village, surrounded by rice paddies, with its typical stone houses and tile roofs, bamboo groves, gardens and orchards, Tam Coc Garden is proud to say that all staff members are from the surrounding villages, which adds to the uniqueness of Tam Coc Garden. As you ascend the steps to Tam Coc Garden, you will be warmly welcomed as a close friend who can share special moments with the local people into a quiet, peaceful, simple atmosphere in which comfort is not compromised. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tam Coc Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing