We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a business hotel”
Review of Petro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Petro Hotel
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Vung Tau
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed here for a few nights whilst visiting a relative in Vung Tau. This is an ok hotel, but it reminded me of hotels I've stayed in for business trips rather than for a holiday. Our room was nice, it had a sea view. The shower was ridiculous, it pointed outwards towards the (rather grubby) shower curtain, so it was impossible to shower without flooding the room. It had a hairdryer which wasn't terribly effective.The staff were not terribly friendly and we had a couple of language problems. On the plus side, the room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. It had tea and coffee making facilities, a good mini bar and flat screen TV. In summary, it's fine, not far from the beach or town centre and did the job whilst we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

The 17 members of my wife's family arrived early but were looked after with rooms found for them .. no fuss. Overall the service was excellent which is not always the case in a four star hotel in Vietnam. The 2 parents are disabled and were assisted by the hotel staff which was a nice bonus.
The outlook over the sea was great and the location was near all the seaside action at night.
The pool was a disappointment.. nowhere for children to play as it is too deep..
The breakfast was just OK but this is often the case in Vietnam ..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank saigon_peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

unbeatable as the preferred choice for business travellers to Vung Tau: rooms are large, and very well-equipped..good bathrooms..wide screen tv..food is disappointing though (absolutely no excuse for frozen seafood when you're 100 metrese from the South China Sea!)..service is good, and the laundry service is the fastest I've ever experienced!

Room Tip: make sure you get a sea-facing room - rooms on the higher floors have lovely ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dato' Ainuddin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

The pool is a uniform depth of 1.58m. Clearly, this is very dangerous for children. Furthermore, there is cheap plastic grating around the pool which breaks when you stand on it!

Breakfast is very ordinary - I would suggest you eat elsewhere.

When we stayed there, construction work was ongoing on the floor above us during the day. Hardly suitable for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonbvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed here multiple times, and made this my hotel of choice for all my future travels to vung tau

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nuxoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Hard to beat this hotel as a place to stay in Vung Tau. Was pleasantly surprised. Didn't use any of the facilities, or restaurants as we ate out both nights we where in Vung Tau, but the rooms where very good, and the staff excellent. Would definitely stay here again if I was traveling to Vung Tau. The hotel is well located with a good spread of bars and restaurants within easy reach. Taxis are generally lined up outside, so issues there - just make sure you pick one from the line, and not one trying to jump the queue, which did in our case - always good to watch people argue in a language u don'r understand

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IainDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I have now stayed twice at Petro Hotel. Location is decent and pricing is very competitive for a hotel of this category. Only the Imperial hotel is better than this one, but the price is almost double. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable, spa service is professional and clean, and restaurant is decent. Buffet breakfast is not up to Western standards but still does the job pretty well. For business travelers who are looking for a centrally located hotel with good quality/price ratio, this is it. Compared to the Rex Hotel and the Palace Hotel, this one is way above in terms of standards of quality and cleanliness, I recommend for anyone going to Vung Tau.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
0.6 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 77 in Vung Tau
142 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau
1.4 mi away
Pullman Vung Tau
Pullman Vung Tau
#1 of 77 in Vung Tau
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Muong Thanh Vung Tau Hotel
Muong Thanh Vung Tau Hotel
#7 of 77 in Vung Tau
69 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaside Resort
Seaside Resort
#9 of 77 in Vung Tau
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petro House Hotel
Petro House Hotel
#22 of 77 in Vung Tau
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petro Hotel

Address: 9 - 11 Hoang Dieu St., Ward 1, Vung Tau, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 Hotels in Vung Tau
Price Range: £37 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Petro Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Petro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing