We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views however beds were hard and uncomfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ky Hoa Vung Tau Hotel
Ranked #31 of 198 Vung Tau B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good views however beds were hard and uncomfortable”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Beds are hard and uncomfortable to sleep on however, rooms are spacious and clean. The view from the hotel room was beautiful. Staff are friendly but speak very little or no English. It was very hard to communicate to the staff. Overall, I wouldn't mind staying at this hotel again but would look elsewhere for better options.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d0lphin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    19
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
17
21
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I'll admit being a bit apprehensive about staying in this hotel, as I'd never booked a 3* hotel before, and I wasn't sure what to expect. Given its fairly low price, I figured I could always run away and take my loss if it turned out to be a total dump.

Arrived by motorbike, for which shaded parking was available close to the reception. From the outside, it looks great, a mix between a castle and French colonial style. Check-in was fast, and staff spoke English - not a given in Vietnam, even at better hotels.

My room on the fourth floor overlooked the pool and the beach - absolutely magnificent views at sunset and sunrise, but I'll get to get later on.

The room was reasonably furnished and clean, although the wood looked a worn and the walls could use a fresh coat of paint.
Fair water pressure in the shower, but be prepared to bring your own shower goodies as the shampoo is scented water and there was no shower gel - also not after asking.

You'll be able to see the sun rise, as every tiny ray of light brutally plunges through the flimsy curtains. If you want to sleep (in), bring earplugs and an eyemask.

WIFI hotshots abound, but quality is so poor, it is useless. Thankfully, the hotel next door had an open network on which I piggybacked. If you are going to need steady WIFI on your trip, consider this.

Breakfast starts at 6h30AM and runs till 9. As other travelers described, it's mostly Vietnamese food, though there is an egg station and fresh fruit. No cereals or yoghurts. Juice was depressing, it tasted like something out of a carton. Coffee was nice and strong, tables few and messy. Tablecloths don't get replaced when a guest leaves, so if you're not an early riser, you'll probably have a stained one, full of spilled foods from previous eaters.

The pool is nice, but there are few beds - 12 at my count,of varying forms and levels of comfort. No umbrellas or trees to provide any shade. The pool bar is amazingly cheap, and if you tip the server on day one, you'll get brilliant smiles and scurrying service for the rest of your stay.

It's a steep walk up the hills, but as the hotel itself states that, and everyone reviewing it comments on it, you're prepared.

Summarizing, the rooms are so-so, but the views and the pool exceed what you would expect for that price. So ultimately, you get what you pay for - the equation being bargainable.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank JoelAndoetoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Please choose the sea view room and you will enjoy a wonderful stay. Only disappointed is the breakfast, not many choices, the meal and table arrangement is not suitable to take. The staff can't refill the meal immediately.

Room Tip: Choose the sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Ky Hoa (pronounced kee hwa) was about 15 minutes walk from town along the waterfront. The hotel is only a few years old so everything is fully functional. Big rooms with big comfy beds. Good hot water and free internet that worked well. The breakfasts catered mainly for Asian tastes, which suited us fine - there was a bigger selection when there were more people staying. The hotel is part way up a hill, so there is quite a steep driveway to climb to get there. This is compensated by the great views and quietness. Wonderful pool with a shallow end and deep end and bubble pool in the middle. The only downside was the staff, who need lessons in smiling.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with good internet reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzyloo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed there in Jan 2013 this year. Booking was for a hotel suite. Arrived Ky Hoa, reception was far up the hill but luckily the taxi drove all the way up or I'd would be dragging my bags. Got my keys, went straight to my suite room which was situated near the entrance, room 201. The room was very huge - dining, kitchen, separate bath, sofa, bedroom.

For the hotel to improve - Lighting was just moderate. They had this small LED light by the ceiling which was barely enough to light the sofa, dining and kitchen area. Water heater was very slow. Had to wait more than 30 mins for it to warm up (not heat up).

Bed - hard. Pillow, too soft. In room safe had low battery, not maintained with a caution sign to not leave valuables or hotel not responsible and was advised that the hotel reception has a safe facility there. I brought my important document to the reception to inquire about leaving my documents there. And the funny thing was, there was no guest safe facility. Just a big safe box which the hotel was also using and they just gave me an envelop with a string attached to it and asked me to drop my important documents inside. Wow !! No way was I going to do that with just an envelope and a safe box with a door wide open throughout the day.

Breakfast - It was ok for me, Vietnam noodles, nice coffee, egg counter, fruits so nothing much to complain. Just be prepared to walk uphill which was quite good actually considering the breakfast you ate.

Pool - nice but small. Located near the entrance. Don't worry only for hotel guest.

People and service - OK. We didn't face the problems some guest faced. Although English and some sign language will amuse both parties during communication.

Transportation - rent a bike. It's much easier and the security or the reception can help. It cost me about 130,000 Dong per day. With petrol. Much cheaper compared to taking the Vinasun taxi in Vung Tau which you'll notice the meters on the taxis n Vung Tau spins much faster compared to HCM.

Room Tip: Choose a room near the entrance, high floor like 3rd floor onward. I think the highest is 5th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Santawang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

As above.....it's all "ok" but won't blow you away. Food was bad, rooms were nice tho with good views. Like people said long walk up the slope but they do give lifts and we were on scooters anyway. Vung Tao in general is more up and coming rather than a great place to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jukebox696969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Check-in for us was ridiculous. We’d booked a suite but were given a room which clearly wasn’t a suite as described on Tripadvisor. I returned to reception to query this and was then taken to a real suite room (on the opposite side of the very large hotel grounds). I was then asked to wait at reception and 5 minutes later the manager appeared and informed me I couldn’t have a suite because they were reserved for distinguished guests. I was then taken to see a superior room (another walk up & down stairs!) which I was happy with and accepted. Hotel has a lovely large swimming pool with ocean view and shallow area for children to play. The water was always clear but some days there was quite a lot of dirt on the bottom of the pool (i.e. it wasn't vacuumed properly.) Used drinking glasses and cans sat by the pool for 2 days before they were removed. Totally uncceptable! Hotel has 70 rooms but there are only 6 lounge chairs by the pool. Unbelievable!

Room Tip: Agree with other reviewers that if you choose to stay here, request a room close to the pool so it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vung Tau hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
1.1 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 72 in Vung Tau
140 reviews
0.9 mi away
Muong Thanh Vung Tau Hotel
Muong Thanh Vung Tau Hotel
#8 of 72 in Vung Tau
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaside Resort
Seaside Resort
#10 of 72 in Vung Tau
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#9 of 72 in Vung Tau
86 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lan Rung Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ky Hoa Vung Tau Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ky Hoa Vung Tau Hotel

Property: Ky Hoa Vung Tau Hotel
Address: 30-32 Tran Phu Street, Ward 01, Vung Tau 790000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Vung Tau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Ky Hoa Vung Tau Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...Alone, with friends or with family, the wonderful place to enjoy your holiday is Ky Hoa Vung Tau Hotel. Come with us! You can stay at home in the center of Vung Tau City, very nice place between the mountain and the beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ky Hoa Vung Tau Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing