We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard hotel for business travellers.”
Review of Petro House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Petro House Hotel
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Vung Tau
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This is the third time I'm staying in Petro House. While it might look small and old on the outside, the room is relatively new and clean.
I made my reservation via agoda for a standard room, and the bed has been king size throughout my three visits. The bathroom is nicely done. Unfortunately the bathtubs never had stoppers and the water not hot hence catering to shower only.
Breakfast not much of a variety, mainly Asian food but no complaints from me.
Despite some reviews complaining about the staffs' attitude, I find them friendly.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stomiye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

This our second time staying in this hotel. Our room was a deluxe suite, it was big, with a separate living room. We love the huge king size bed. They gave us a baby cot for our 18 months baby, but at night this king size bed ended up with 4 people, 2 adults, a 6 yrs old boy and the baby, and everyone slept blissfully. The hotel is quiet and the staff are friendly. The security guard was very helpful in getting taxis for us, even standing in the rain to haul cab for us. The manager, Mr. Dung, even went to pick us up himself from the boat port.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShintaDewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This was a very good hotel, clean, friendly. One week stay and very happy with everything. No lifts so have to carry Bags up 4 flights of stars. The breakfast was a little small. If ask for more coffee they will try and charge you.

Room Tip: Just ask for good room at back of hotel from street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRK042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

A french colonial villa, location 2 blocks away from the beach. It's quiet, clean and cosy hotel.
The room is big and clean and the bed is really comfortable, that make me feel like home.
Restaurant food is delicious and the restaurant atmosphere is good and clean.
Next to restaurant, they have a Casino with ATM machine, something to entertain you at night.

For international standard, I give it a 3.5+ stars. Will definitely will return and highly recommend to friends and family. Value for the money.

Room Tip: If you travel with couple, suggest to take the deluxe suite room but if you stay more than weeks and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ml1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Petro House is located in a beach area called Vung Tau, approximately 2.5 hours from Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam. You can either take a minivan or hydrofoil boat. It is easy to walk to the beach, only like 5 mins. There are lots of nice little restaurants and bars in the surrounding area where you can find both traditional Vietnamese and international cuisine.

We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to an executive suite which has around 50 square metres and has balcony with an amazing view of the city. All the rooms have TV, AC, hairdryer and minibar. The breakfast is included in a room rate and you can choose from 8 different menu selection which starts again both cuisines. We ended up paying 50 USD dollars for this 3 stars hotel.

You can easily spent few days in the city, there is always plenty of things to do. You can take a cable car or just rest on th beach

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hcslovanka1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

We had 1 of the 2 modernised rooms, which was adequate [cleaners did not wash used coffee cups]. We had a view of a corrugated asbestos roof & the wall of the building next door. Windows should be double glazed to reduce the traffic honking [even at 445am]. Inward facing rooms have no windows.Breakfast was poor, main part was freshly done but other bits [eg saute potatoes] seemed to have been cooked beforehand and left. Evening meal, also poor, curry was 1 chicken thigh in curry gravy. Pool has been closed so they can build an extension on the lot next door. You can use the [very shabby/many tiles missing] pool at the Rex Hotel, 200m walk away and 60000VND cost [they provide towels] but only 6 sunbeds!. Hotel booked a taxi from HCMC airport to Vung Tau for $85, which seemed very expensive. It didn't appear on the check out bill but on a separate bill so I suspect it the excess was going in someone's pocket.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ployshol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

I was in Vung Tau for the weekend in August 2010 on pleasure with a friend. The Petro House was an older hotel and while it wasn't 4 star hotel when compared to 4 start hotels in the United States it was easily a high 3 or 4 star hotel when compared to similar countries. The rooms come equipped with complimentary web access, bottled water, HBO and other movie channels and a menu-based breakfast is included. The hotel's staff is helpful and while they don't speak very much English, they are more than willing to suggest good seafood restaurants, flag down cabs and exchange currency. The hotel additionally has great restaurant where you can eat breakfast lunch and dinner. Also, while the hotel doesn't have room service any meal you order at the restaurant can be brought to your room and while they don't have a swimming pool, they have a partnership with the Rex hotel which does have a pool.

As far as the neighborhood, the hotel is only a ten minute taxi ride from the main port where the Petro Express ferry and other ferries drop you off which is really convenient. In general the hotel is in a great neighborhood which is pretty close to some great stores, restaurants and clubs. It isn't in the tourist district, so you will get the more authentic Vung Tau experience. And the hotel itself is mostly stayed at by people in the city for pertroleum related business.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MisterKennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
0.6 mi away
Vung Tau P&T Hotel
Vung Tau P&T Hotel
#20 of 77 in Vung Tau
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Muong Thanh Vung Tau Hotel
Muong Thanh Vung Tau Hotel
#7 of 77 in Vung Tau
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#19 of 77 in Vung Tau
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau
1.3 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#12 of 77 in Vung Tau
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 77 in Vung Tau
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petro House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petro House Hotel

Address: 63 Tran Hung Dao Street | Ward 1, Vung Tau 790000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 77 Hotels in Vung Tau
Price Range: £24 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Petro House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of Vung Tau, Petro House is a boutique business hotel, welcoming both business and leisure guests alike to Vung Tau since the 60’s. Renovated in 2012, the hotel retains the charm of the original colonial architecture, with columns and arch windows. Her spacious guest rooms have been thoroughly modernized, delivering comfort, safety and connectivity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Petro House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petro Hotel Vung Tau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing