We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sammy Hotel Vung Tau
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Vung Tau
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Big hotel with more room, near beach, but it far from downtown of Vung Tau.
The room is ok, it's quite clean. Not bad to stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vor_sammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2012

Went to "Vungers" to see where I took some "R&C" 42 years ago. What a change. Now a popular seaside resort for families from HCMC. The whole strip of hotels, beach clubs, facilities reminded me of the Med. coast of Spain with all it's seaside resorts. Stayed on "Back Beach" thinking it would not be too far from everything - but now wish I has stayed on "Front Beach" - where all the action and hydrofoil terminal is. Hotel was a 2-star, recently upgraded to 3-star. Looks average from outside. Not welcoming as you enter the reception area to find it's does not have AC - just a couple of fans. Same on the foolrs, no AC. My "deluxe" room did have a great view over the boulevard and the beach clubs and the bay, and once it got going, the AC was great. Room was very large - but sparsley furnished. Just the queen-size bed, writing desk, TV and mini bar (with good prices for water, beer), and a coule of chairs. The room had a very large bay window with a central pole (for support or pole dancing??) and nothing else in it. A couple of chairs would have finished it off nicely. Bathroom had a shower and was reasonably clean, lacking good toiletries. Unfortunately I was at the hotel when there were 5 coachloads of Chinese tourist - and I think I was the only Caucasian staying there. Needless to say the breakfast area was a complete mess with several hundred Chinese squabbling over a Chinese-oriented breakfast offer. Never did understand why they couldn't put their watermelon seeds on a plate instead of all over the tablecloth. Breakfast room does have small tables for 2/4 persons - only large round tables for 8-10 persons. Not the way I like to have breakfast - sitting with people I don't know! Breakfast offer was a little poor for "Westerners" - although they at least had a toast machine and an egg station. Would I stay here again or recommend the hotel? No

Room Tip: Stay here only if you want to have access to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwalaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

room terrible,food terrible,staff good,dont waste ya time.Went to PetroSetco hotel near ferry

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jezza1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We had a pleasant stay at the Sammy Hotel in January 2012. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was good value for money, clean and in a good location. The beach is opposite and there's a shopping centre next door with a supermarket and a public pool opposite as well.
The buffet breakfast was good although when there aren't enough people staying they roll out a set menu which is just different variations on noodles. It got a bit monotonous as we stayed there for nearly a week.
The hotel was a bit dated, probably built in the 1970s, but the groovy patterned tiled floors and fab wicker furniture added a little something to our stay.
We liked the fact thati it was also away from the girlie bars on the other side of town.

Room Tip: We stayed on the eighth floor and the wifi connection wasn't very good here. Also, we were plagu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaunRyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Good location, just cross the road and you have access to the beach. Beside the hotel is a small supermarket for you to stock up on water. if you walk further down the beach, there are stalls open at night where you can buy fresh seafood and get them to cook for you to eat on the spot.
The hotel pool is small and can get crowded, but there's another pool at the beach where you can pay to get in.
Just take note it's quite a distance from the Vung Tau ferry terminal, so you're better off taking a taxi from the ferry terminal to the hotel. Walking would take you about 2hours!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfsm97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Have used this hotel many times. Rooms are great in front, Breakfast buffet included but mainly Asian food. Hotel has massage and bar plus small shopping. New mall dext door has food court. Restruant across the street by beach has good live seafood. Beach chairs and tables with umbrella a little spendy, pay before using. Ploy is to let you sit down for about 5 min., then try to charge you higher prices....Good security at hotel and good staff.

Room Tip: Be clear about room view and price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vnvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

The hotel is very near to the beach if that is what you are looking for. The beach was OK, nothing too exciting. There's a night market nearby, about 5 minutes cab ride. Food around the hotel was hard to find. Quiet part of the beach, breakfast was good and staff were friendly. Our room was spacious and rather clean. This is OK for a 3-star rating hotel. The concierge was helpful with our luggage. Pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexac90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
0.4 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#11 of 78 in Vung Tau
106 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#8 of 78 in Vung Tau
142 reviews
0.5 mi away
Phoenix Hotel Vung Tau
Phoenix Hotel Vung Tau
#31 of 78 in Vung Tau
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Imperial Hotel Vung Tau
0.7 mi away
Cap Saint Jacques
Cap Saint Jacques
#26 of 78 in Vung Tau
51 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rex Hotel
Rex Hotel
#18 of 78 in Vung Tau
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sammy Hotel Vung Tau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sammy Hotel Vung Tau

Address: 157 Thuy Van St | Thang Tam Ward, Vung Tau, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 78 Hotels in Vung Tau
Price Range: £32 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sammy Hotel Vung Tau 3.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Sammy Hotel Vung Tau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing