We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #17 of 70 Hotels in Vung Tau
Vung Tau, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Poor”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here, thinking it part of a chain. Like the Rex in HCMC.

Sheets were dirty, rooms below average, tidy but not fully clean even by Vietnamese standards.

Bathroom had mouldy walls. Rooms where very noisy even though my faced the swimming pool

Over priced.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mas123mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    23
    33
    23
    2
See reviews for
14
28
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I was there for 1 night only for my short weekend trip from 29 to 30 March. Location is great n room is fine. But i dislike the way they behavior to Vietnamese (even they are Vietnamese). I work for a 5stars hotel as well, you can have a poor hotel but poor attitude is unacceptable. Guest pays you salary not beg you a place to sleep

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaiLevn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vung Tau hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Rooms are good. Service is decent. Awesome location. Cannot have a peaceful time in the evening as there is loud music playing nearby a hotel because of fair that is going on. No respite from that until later in the evening. It spoilt my Sunday too. It gave me a headache.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biztraveller852014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have slept in everything from fishermans huts to 5 stars. This ranks on the lower end of the scale.
The staff were pleasant, the room was clean and comfortable although the pillow was a bit like a large brick. The balcony offered great views over the pool and harbour and I found breakfast adequate. The thing that lets it down is the bathroom. The towels were theadbare, the tiles were not very clean and the most nauseating blue colour.
Weekends sees the pool area turned into a wedding venue and the music is at full volume but luckily it is mostly over by 10 pm.
Our first night on the 1st floor was the noisiest night I have ever had in a hotel. We were moved to the 8th and apart from the noise coming form the pool it was better.
If investment in a serious upgrade was applied this could be an excellent venue. As it is it is dying a slow and painful death.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Nice welcome upon arrival, but then things just went downhill.
Room very dated, bathroom and fittings very 1960s.
Facilities not great.
Breakfast very mediocre, likewise with dinner.
Hope to stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Arrogant hotel, if you're an experienced traveler go somewhere else. There is cheaper and better quality elsewhere. I booked directly online. Poor customer service upon arrival. Almost like a resentful approach, as if they didn't want my business. After a long tiring trip, and going to my Standard room, had to go back to reception and ask them to turn the power on in my room. Ridiculous. Staff did not inform us we needed vouchers for breakfast and the pool. Silly, reception should have told us, and or given us the vouchers upon check in. The buffet breakfast was ok, Asian food was good. But the bacon and sausage was terrible. They cook eggs in the buffet area, but you have to sit down and ask staff for eggs. They do not serve you from the buffet area, so strange. The Standard room was big and clean, so was the hotel and pool. Shower was a hand hose in the bathtub and did not mount to wall properly. So had to hold the shower hose to wash Vietnamese style sitting down (sigh). The hotel is clearly getting old and lacking extra facilities. I noticed much older westerners (Americans and Australians) at this hotel and their bars. Aged 50-70 years. Also a small few Euro backpackers. The pool bar had many local ladies trying to "work" the older men at night (to buy more drinks or buy the women). I think their target market are people who want an Australian or western style hotel in Vung Tau. They rely on customers ignorant or complacent enough to pay the higher prices, and put up with poor customer service. But it's below average, even by Australian standards. The hotel bar also attracts working girls (if you're into that), did not like that. In Saigon HCMC, had a way better hotel, at a better price. Eg A&EM hotel has a computer in each room with free internet, much classier decor and feel. The local hotels are usually much more competitive and do those little extra things or have extra features so you have a pleasant stay and trip. Overall would not stay at the Rex again, and do not recommend. If you've traveled before and or familiar with the Asia Pacific region you will not be impressed. I don't think other young professionals would like it here.

Room Tip: Standard room had a hand shower hose. Did not have western style fixed shower head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B Adventures A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Trying to give a rating for this hotel is difficult as on the surface of things it is more than acceptable. The rooms are large, light and airy with a balcony, comfortable bed and good cleanliness. The swimming pool is also pleasant although hard loungers without any type of pad or mattress is hardly comfortable. However, there are many, many hotels which also have these things (and for a much lower price). In my own opinion it is the little things which make an okay hotel a great hotel and this place is sadly lacking in all those 'little things'.
The staff are neither warm, welcoming or especially helpful although to be fair they are efficient. It feels as if this hotel has a rather high opinion of itself and is trying to convey that with an air of untouchability and aloofness. Somebody must have told them that good quality means acting this way.
I didn't appreciate the phone call at 11.30 pm to remind me to lock my door (which was locked) nor do I need my pillowcase changing 2 or 3 times a day (very odd!) Room cleaning always seemed to want to come into the room when I was in it and then never came back again when I told them it wasn't convenient, unless I specifically requested it.
The restaurant is another case of this hotel thinking it is rather more special than it is. The buffet breakfast is excellent - with a very wide choice of Asian or Western options. However if you order a meal then the portions are ridiculously small for the price. I could actually count the number of fries served with my beef (which I am still in some doubt as to whether it was beef) - 11.
There is a hotel information folder in the room which contains none of the information which would actually be helpful. For example, it would be good to know BEFORE you have settled yourself at the pool that a voucher is required from reception.
I got a large discount on my 4 days here and STILL feel I paid well over the odds for a hotel which has a very inflated idea of itself. If I had paid the full price I would have been mortified.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deneice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 70 in Vung Tau
133 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 70 in Vung Tau
454 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pullman Vung Tau
Pullman Vung Tau
#2 of 70 in Vung Tau
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#9 of 70 in Vung Tau
84 reviews
1.5 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#14 of 70 in Vung Tau
94 reviews
0.2 mi away
Petro Hotel
Petro Hotel
#13 of 70 in Vung Tau
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Property: Rex Hotel
Address: 1 Le Quy Don, Vung Tau 790000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Vung Tau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rex hotel is well-known in Vung Tau city of Vietnam as one of the first international standard three-star hotel. Located in central of beautiful city, within a few minutes walking to reach the Front beach and very close to many tourist attractions of Vung Tau city, REX hotel is ideally convenient for staying working, visiting, relaxing and shopping. Rex hotel comprises of 77 well-appointed guestrooms with stunning view over the sea, mountain and downtown of Vung Tau city. All the rooms are featured with a traditional and sleek design with warm furnishing. You can enjoy the fresh air and sea breeze from every private balcony. Lying in the white wooden lounger chair in the swimming pool area will make you feel most comfortable and really relax. Our obligation is to make REX hotel be "Your home away from home" when you go on vacation or business to Vung Tau, a beautiful coastal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Vung Tau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing