We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUTDATED BUT TRYING HARD”
Review of Rex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rex Hotel
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Vung Tau
1 review
“OUTDATED BUT TRYING HARD”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

i was recommended to stay in this hotel; mainly for its location.

not so good points:
at entrance, it is a simple hotel, and you would notice that is old.
also, there are very few frontdesk personnel to assist, so you would have to wait
if a large group is checking in.
the aircon in my room was not working. the technicians had to come in twice, before i decided
and asked for another room.
the second room was better. but the next day, i had issues with the aircon again, and the technicians had to come in to fix...
some of the staff were very helpful, patient and friendly. but some barely even smiled or greeted.
at some nights, it can get quite noisy since the place right across is often used as venue for fairs or local gatherings.

ok points
during my issues with the aircon, the staff were quick to respond to the problem.
the hotel provides for the basic necessities.

all in all..
if you are one to visit with limited budget and wont be staying in the hotel most of the time, this could be bearable. but i would pick another hotel in my next visit.

Room Tip: pick rooms that are not facing the road. higher floor rooms seem better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginzipie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    23
    34
    24
    3
See reviews for
14
29
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

One staff member can often colour your view of the whole establishment. On the one hand there was one very testy receptionist who was quite sharp and unfriendly, but on the other hand, the doorman saved the day by stepping in and putting things right and being very helpful. I would rate it between average and very good if that category was available but I think it was a little overpriced for what was on offer. One of the major problems was the number of oil industry workers who seem to use the hotel when off duty and some of them were very loud and obnoxious and on occasion it was a bit upsetting to see how some of them treated the local Vietnamese staff, but you can't blame the hotel for that. Overall it has a good location, a good pool and some good staff. My biggest complaint was at the this price you expect hot water.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonRicardo210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vung Tau, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here, thinking it part of a chain. Like the Rex in HCMC.

Sheets were dirty, rooms below average, tidy but not fully clean even by Vietnamese standards.

Bathroom had mouldy walls. Rooms where very noisy even though my faced the swimming pool

Over priced.

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mas123mas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vung Tau hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I was there for 1 night only for my short weekend trip from 29 to 30 March. Location is great n room is fine. But i dislike the way they behavior to Vietnamese (even they are Vietnamese). I work for a 5stars hotel as well, you can have a poor hotel but poor attitude is unacceptable. Guest pays you salary not beg you a place to sleep

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaiLevn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Rooms are good. Service is decent. Awesome location. Cannot have a peaceful time in the evening as there is loud music playing nearby a hotel because of fair that is going on. No respite from that until later in the evening. It spoilt my Sunday too. It gave me a headache.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biztraveller852014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I have slept in everything from fishermans huts to 5 stars. This ranks on the lower end of the scale.
The staff were pleasant, the room was clean and comfortable although the pillow was a bit like a large brick. The balcony offered great views over the pool and harbour and I found breakfast adequate. The thing that lets it down is the bathroom. The towels were theadbare, the tiles were not very clean and the most nauseating blue colour.
Weekends sees the pool area turned into a wedding venue and the music is at full volume but luckily it is mostly over by 10 pm.
Our first night on the 1st floor was the noisiest night I have ever had in a hotel. We were moved to the 8th and apart from the noise coming form the pool it was better.
If investment in a serious upgrade was applied this could be an excellent venue. As it is it is dying a slow and painful death.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Nice welcome upon arrival, but then things just went downhill.
Room very dated, bathroom and fittings very 1960s.
Facilities not great.
Breakfast very mediocre, likewise with dinner.
Hope to stay somewhere else next time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vung Tau hotels
0.4 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#7 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#3 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pullman Vung Tau
Pullman Vung Tau
#1 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#9 of 70 in Vung Tau
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.5 mi away
Green Hotel
Green Hotel
#15 of 70 in Vung Tau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lan Rung Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rex Hotel

Property: Rex Hotel
Address: 1 Le Quy Don, Vung Tau 790000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Ba Ria-Vung Tau Province > Vung Tau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Vung Tau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rex Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rex hotel is well-known in Vung Tau city of Vietnam as one of the first international standard three-star hotel. Located in central of beautiful city, within a few minutes walking to reach the Front beach and very close to many tourist attractions of Vung Tau city, REX hotel is ideally convenient for staying working, visiting, relaxing and shopping. Rex hotel comprises of 77 well-appointed guestrooms with stunning view over the sea, mountain and downtown of Vung Tau city. All the rooms are featured with a traditional and sleek design with warm furnishing. You can enjoy the fresh air and sea breeze from every private balcony. Lying in the white wooden lounger chair in the swimming pool area will make you feel most comfortable and really relax. Our obligation is to make REX hotel be "Your home away from home" when you go on vacation or business to Vung Tau, a beautiful coastal city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rex Hotel Vung Tau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing