We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disrespectful to my guests & were kicked out.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Saeed Hotel Taiz - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Taiz
West Palm, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“disrespectful to my guests & were kicked out.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

My cousin a Yemeni citizen with my daughter, the daughter of his deceased brother walked my daughter up to the room and wanted to make wathoo and pray. In that time we were harassed continuously even in the room by numerous fn calls. The above and principal of hotel supposedly Muhammad Rageb refused to talk to me over the phone after staff, A Taiwan and Abdulrahmam complained to Muhammed about cousin accompanying his niece to our room. They refused to call police after I asked them to see the rules in writing. I'm an American citizen visiting from the USA.
Please contact

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FloridaGaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
2
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

I was there for a week on a business training. Here's the story: that is the best hotel you will find in Taiz for several reasons, location being the top. The hotel is on a hill that oversees the entire city with a breathtaking view on the Sabr Mountain and the Cairo Citadel.
The General Manager of the hotel is one of the most professional I have ever met, and you can be sure he will be supervising everything for your comfort. We were a group on 12, so we got a top service, starting from amazing rooms to magnificent food and luxurious coffee breaks.

The hotel has a pool and 2 separate gyms for men and women. The women gym was extremely clean, and the clerk is a very nice lady the will let you work out after hours and give you the key!

One advice for food: if you want a typical Yemeni experience go for the hotel own restaurant called Al Sakhr: it is wonderful, the food is clean and the service is outstanding. I haven't had that in many top hotels in Europe. You will also find the food much cheaper than other local restaurants in town, where the tendency is to rip off foreigners.

Another one: go for the rooms with an external view. They are slightly more expensive but the view is so much worth it!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MC_Feghali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Definitely Sofitel Al Saeed Taiz is the best in Taiz and one of the best hotels in whole Yemen , the location is amazing a fantastic view from above the hill , very clean rooms , very big lobby and reception area similar to luxurious hotels in Egypt , Service is perfect and the staff is as the whole Yemeni people are so friendly really glad to be in this Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimoGhoneim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indore, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

considering the scenario in taiz/yemen my experence with this hotel was good , this is good hotel to stay, if you like local food this is good place,

this property is located atop the peak of a hillock that provide bird's eye overview of almost the entire city of Ta'izz from its rooms and the premises as a whole. The hotel has its own (private) approach, which is barricaded well, and provides an extra sense of safety and privilege.

good lobby

service staffs manage to converse in itsy-bitsy English, while some are quite good at it. A gym, sauna and a pool are there for one to relax (open usually till 10 in the night). One can also stroll around the hotel and have a view of the night-lit city from its boundaries, and even from some of the rooms.

Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jai8371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Part of Accor's MGallery hotels, this property is located atop the peak of a hillock that provide bird's eye overview of almost the entire city of Ta'izz from its rooms and the premises as a whole. The hotel has its own (private) approach, which is barricaded well, and provides an extra sense of safety and privilege.

A big central lobby besides the reception, which is typical to large scaled gulf hotels, welcomes as one enters the hotel. Two restaurants and a coffee house lay on the periphery which provide a select menu (bit continental, bit Indian subcontinental, and rest Yemeni style), which shall be OK for most of the travelers who do not rant just for very specifics. Food & service quality are upto the mark as per local best standards. The service staffs manage to converse in itsy-bitsy English, while some are quite good at it.

A gym, sauna and a pool are there for one to relax (open usually till 10 in the night). One can also stroll around the hotel and have a view of the night-lit city from its boundaries, and even from some of the rooms.

Overall, an OK hotel. One can choose to stay if visiting this place.

Room Tip: Rooms with windows opening towards the approach driveway provide a good overview of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankaj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

This hotel has seen better times. Not because service is poor, or because of lack of maintenance, but because the overall situation in Yemen discourages tourism and does not stimulate business. Thus, few guests, but the staff at the hotel give their best.
The room was nice, a bit small, but with a new bathroom. Overall, I would say that the room just about meets the criteria for a 4-star hotel.
The breakfast is both continental as well as local and offers some choice.
There is a very nice medium sized gym and a steam room, as well as a swimming pool.

The gym and the steam room would make me go there again. So is the view over Taiz, but this depends on what room you get.

Room Tip: Views over the city depend on what kind of room you get. Don't be affraid to ask for another roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom_Tangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

I am sure many of you maybe thinking why on earth go all the way here for a moments bliss, trust me its worth it when your traveling around Yemen and come across this place.
By far this is probably the only best thing one would find in Taiz as in a decent accommodation. I have had the chance to stay in a few before deciding on splurging, which wasnt a bad idea afterall.

Good aspects:
- Good service (for me this is vital, if the service is crappy no matter how good or star-ed the hotel is..to me! its a crappy place... service defines the culture of hospitality in this business)
- The view of Taiz city from the hotel is amazing.
- Good clean pool (even though its small)
- Its a secure location
- Food at the hotel was good and the best part is (since i am no early bird), breakfast would come knocking at my door if i did not show up for it (now how sweet is this!!!).
- Accessibility to its recreational facilities all in quick access.

Cons:
- The upkeep of the hotel rooms could be better
- Internet speed could be improved (but understandably you will never get the speed what the hotel offers at internet cafe's either)

For those of you traveling around the country and would like to unwind and reclaim some energy for your onward travels, id certainly recommend this place.

Cheers and happy travels!

-

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yegeneley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Al Saeed Hotel Taiz - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Saeed Hotel Taiz - MGallery Collection

Property: Al Saeed Hotel Taiz - MGallery Collection
Address: Al Domaleh Mountain | Al Hoban, Taiz 4740, Yemen (Formerly Sofitel Al Saeed Taiz)
Region: Yemen > Taiz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Taiz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Al Saeed Hotel Taiz - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business or leisure, the Al Saeed Hotel Taiz perches in the mountains like an eagle's nest. The views are as fabulous as the service, in this hotel that combines comfortable and elegantly furnished rooms with delightful cuisine and state-of-the-art recreational facilities to ensure your stay is unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de so you can book your Al Saeed Hotel Taiz - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Al Saeed Taiz Hotel Taiz
Sofitel Taiz
Taiz Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing