We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Haven” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lion & Elephant Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beitbridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lion & Elephant Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beitbridge
south africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Haven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

This old establishment is still going strong!!
We have never since 1994 stopped taking vacations in Zimbabwe, sometimes twice a year. We always feel safe and thoroughly enjoy all destinations.
In December 2012 we stayed at the motel, having always just stopped for a drink and to relax. We have already booked again for our next trip in September!
The rooms are amongst huge indigenous trees on the Bubi River, wich is a seasonal river. Although not modern the rooms and bathrooms are spotless.
We were sorry that we did not eat at the restaurant, as the menu looked great and the ambience is fanatasic, a true African Bush experience.
It is a very good birding spot esecially during the summer months.

Room Tip: Rooms 28,29+30 are at the end of the lodge furthest away from the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ritaSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    17
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
8
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lusaka, Zambia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2013

Have stayed here so many times over the years and watched it suffer under food and power shortages, floods and hyper inflation. Recently a lot of work being done to upgrade, but what's always been there, come rain or shine, is great hospitality, service with a smile and value for money! I always stop here for a night, revitalises the soul and you can chase all the evil spirits!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blantyre, Malawi
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

One those places where we always said we will stay en route to South Africa, but always passed by. This time we stayed because of the delays at the Zim/SA border. It was worth it! A double room with TV cost $70, breakfast is extra. The rooms were basic but comfortable and clean. The local staff very friendly and helpful. The place, peaceful with lots of birds. The food, a bit basic, not cheap but quite adequate. I would definately recommend a stop over here on the long journey fron Harare to SA

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris_Curtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

This is actually 75km N of Beitbridge on the A4 and is just beyond where you cross the dry Bubi River. The accommodation is in thatched cottages in a garden, and there is an open air covered restaurant. The food was good and the the welcome genuine. The river is dry but you can stand out in the middle of it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beitbridge
0.0 mi away
Ancient City Lodge
Ancient City Lodge
#3 of 9 in Masvingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Lion & Elephant Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion & Elephant Motel

Property: Lion & Elephant Motel
Address: A4 Main Road, Beitbridge, Zimbabwe
Region: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland South Province > Beitbridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Beitbridge
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing