We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aquarius Boutique Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Palangkaraya
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

The room is spacious and equipped with free wifi in the room. For business traveler it is very recommended.

The location is very good for those who like sight seeing around the city. If you'd like to go to Nyaru Menteng (BOS Foundation, Orang Utan), it's only 15 minutes away.

But the staffs are not aware of details. I booked an executive room, but they gave me a standard room.

Room Tip: Higher floors is better (at the ninth floor if it's available) since the noise of the club downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theonlykarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2011

Very welcoming staff and clean, comfortable rooms. A few irritants to be aware of; the keycards keep failing, there are too few lifts and the internet frequently drops. It is now THE venue for conferences in the province, and the shortage of lifts is particularly annoying when a meeting is on. Despite this, it's the best hotel in town at the moment

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank banbikas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Upon arriving we were impressed (having previously stayed in a beach shack) but this feeling quickly wore off. Reception was staffed by a group of pretty young girls who smiled sweetly at you while saying "sorry I don't know" to every question. They have no idea about the town, the area, site seeing, restaurants, etc. They're useless!
Food & drinks are poor & expensive. Usual poor wine selection & inability to mix a cocktail.
The spa was attrocious, stay away!
The roof top pool could be ok if they improved the surrounding decor & service but as it is it's poor.
Staff were friendly but unhelpful because the had no training or management.
There's a very dodgy basement nightclub which vibrates through the hotel if your room is on the wrong side of what is a very ugly building (just a high rise block).
What's shocking is that they are completely unable to help tourists & explorers.
We managed to find a few good restaurants, a market, a great boat trip & a private driver who took us to see wild Orang-utans which was the highlight. All this was because of our own knowledge & tenacity but the hotel was hopeless.
I would recommend this town as a base for a few days to explore the jungle. Take a river cruise & hire a private driver to take you to "Kaja Island" to see the wild Orang-Utans. But hopefully you can find a nicer & more helpful hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Razzi-B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Palangkaraya, ringed by peat swamps, and a long way from anywhere you have heard of, is far off any tourist trail. Yet as Kalimantan's mining boom continues, it is slowly becoming more important. One sign of this is the swanky new Aquarius Boutique Hotel- the best in town. It is not really a boutique hotel as I understand the term, more of a multi-storey business hotel. But considering the location in Central Kalimantan, it is modern, clean and has excellent facilities. From the swimming pool, you can look far off across the peat swamps. The rooms were well-appointed and most modern amenities were available. Overall, we were impressed. The main drawback was the prices in the restaurant. These were very expensive by Indonesian standards and the portions were not very big. Considering how we paid 21% tax and service on the bill, we did not tip. This went down very badly with the staff who looked at us, aghast. Perhaps the hotel wasn't passing on any of 11% service charge to their staff, but that isn't our fault.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank rievadit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Reservasi melalui aplikasi online jauh lebih murah.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ical9595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palangkaraya hotels
3.3 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Danum Palangkaraya
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neo Palma
Hotel Neo Palma
#2 of 12 in Palangkaraya
86 reviews
1.5 mi away
Fovere Hotel Palangka Raya
Fovere Hotel Palangka Raya
#8 of 12 in Palangkaraya
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Amaris Hotel Palangkaraya
Amaris Hotel Palangkaraya
#9 of 12 in Palangkaraya
48 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Avicenna
Hotel Avicenna
#5 of 12 in Palangkaraya
3 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wisma Liontine
Wisma Liontine
#9 of 18 in Palangkaraya
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Boutique Hotel

Address: Jln. Imam Bonjol No. 5, Palangkaraya 73111, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Kalimantan > Central Kalimantan > Palangkaraya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Palangkaraya
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquarius Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Aquarius Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing