We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good coffee, friendly people”

Luwak Civet Coffee Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.00*
and up
Cultural and Historical Day Trip in Bali
Ranked #7 of 31 things to do in Kintamani
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Location: Sekardadi, Kintamani Bali,Indonesia. Just 5 minute before best view point of the Lake and Volcano Batur.
Yokosuka, Japan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good coffee, friendly people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We actually met the owner of the coffee farm while riding on a motorbike towards Ubud at a stoplight. We struck up a conversation which resulted in our stopping by for a tour. We were shown around by Widi, the owner's nephew and an employee. He answered a ton of questions we had, and was very knowledgeable. At the end of the tour, we paid $5 each for a cup of Kopi Luwak and the variety of other coffee and teas that come with it. They were all delicious! The kopi luwak is definitely something most people feel strongly about one way or another. I think it's delicious, but my wife only had a few sips of hers. She did enjoy all the teas that we got to taste, though.

Worth half an hour of your time if you're on your way up to Ubud and like coffee.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anson V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    119
    58
    14
    32
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

What an amazing experience, we had a great time looking at how they grow and process many things and also the main attraction, trying all the coffees, teas and chocolates. definitely the highlight of our day trip around ubud.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank discoadelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good experience for coffee lover”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

My husband loves to drink coffee so much so this is the best place for him to visit.. they let us try various kinds of coffee and tea for free except for coffee luwak..

Helpful?
Thank cyn_dock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Colorado
Level Contributor
878 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“This will remind you of the movie "The Bucket List"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Try a variety of coffees and teas. Enjoy a smoke and don't let the tour guide fool ya when she tells you the whiskey taste like mineral water:) all the sampling were free, but the Luwak coffee itself. I believe it was about $5. If you ever saw the movie "The Bucket List" you'll know a little about this coffee toward the end of the movie. Supposedly there are 2 types of coffee beans: the male bean which has 1 seed and the female bean which has 2 seeds. The male beans are the good beans in which the mongoose eats. Shortly after digestion they poop the beans out in which the locals then collect and remove the beans. After roasting the beans a smooth flavorful drink is created. The females coffee beans which are the bad beans often get sold to places like Starbucks:) This was a pleasant stop.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must-Try Coffees”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

First, the distant view at the farm was scenic. The more interesting part is the coffee-tasting session. I enjoyed the moment to the fullest. I loved tasting the varieties of coffee. The hospitality of the host was commendable. The prices of the coffees were reasonable - worth buying. I should have bought more ... Will visit the place again on my next trip to Bali.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank G00d_Getaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luwak Civet Coffee Farm also viewed

 

Been to Luwak Civet Coffee Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing