We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View is great, not the room”
Review of Lakeview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeview Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kintamani
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Mixed feelings....
Pro-
1. View is great
2. Staff are helpful
3. Room is clean

Cons-
1. No TV in the room. (The staffs answer and solution: Channel problem, but they brought up a CRT TV with DVD player to the room. Very helpful but still a 'con')
2. Need to wait for 10 mins for hot water coming thru, the staff came to check and the conclusion is the same)
3. Safety box was broken, got fixed the next day.
4. No hair dryer in the room, the staff sent one over after my call.
5. No slippers in the room, the staff said that's standard here.
6. No wifi in the room, only in the lobby and restaurant.

Above all, for paying nearly USD100, maybe all for the view.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Elena_Huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Elena,

Thank you so much for your thorough and candid review. It's reviews like yours that truly help us improve. We always find it helpful when guests are completely honest with their expectations and impressions when staying with us.

We can only express gratitude to you for highlighting the pros you experience (the great view, friendly staff and clean room). It is a great pat on the back for the housekeeping team who are eager to improve.

Allow me to respond to your input point for point on the "cons" section:
1. TV - many of our guest find it refreshing not to have a TV in prominent display in the room. We are slowly reintroducing them into the deluxe rooms (superior to follow) discretely hidden behind a work of art. That way children of city-slickers (joke intended) can actually look out and see the view, enjoy the fresh air... before they find the TV and switch it on.
2. Hot water - we had a centralized gas system installed when the building was constructed in 2001-2002, and it seems the pipe-insulation has failed (the insulating material sloughed off the pipes after 12 years of use) so now it takes longer to heat up the pipes before bringing hot water to your room. After upgrading our electricity, we are now installing instantaneous electric water heaters in each service shaft to deliver hot water more immediately to the room. Thank you for your patience.
3. The safety deposit boxes in each room are in good working order, but some of them have internal rust that uses up their batteries really fast. We have tried various ways of fixing this, but some may have to be pulled out and replaced -- this is not a simple task as they were installed when the buildings were built and are securely anchored to the building structure).
4. Hair dryers are available on request. We have not made them available in each room yet. We will consider this request.
5. Slippers are a nice addition to the free amenities, we will consider including this when our room price goes up along with the next peak season.
6. You may have noticed that the superior and deluxe rooms are in a solid building, built into the cliff-side. Installing a wifi transmitter in front of the building would be detrimental to the view. Wifi is installed in the corridors of the building, but the signal is not always strong enough to go through the concrete walls. Again, some of our guests actually comment favorably to being disconnected from the matrix of the web in their sleeping chambers. We are slowly finding our way to balance the aesthetics and the need of our guests to be connected.

Guests should be aware, though, that despite having a 2Mbps connection, our internet is intermittently offline due to the poor infrastructure available in this remote area. We use a cellular (mobile telephone) connection backup, but this is not as fast. We are committed to getting the best available internet service in our area for your benefit.

Guests comment that we have a million dollar view, so paying less than $100 for a room built into the cliff of an ancient volcanic caldera, with view of crater lake and baby volcano below, is definitely a bargain.

Wishing you a pleasant holiday,

Kadek Krishna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (284)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 284 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

Wonderful escape from the hustle and bustle of Ubud and South Bali.

I stayed here just over a year ago. Amazing views, as others have noted, so I don't need to go into detail about that. Food was great.

I was lucky to be there during a regular local market-day event, with local craftspeople coming to sell their fabulous conserves, handicrafts, food products etc.

Staff were friendly and willing without getting in your way - although some a little shy and less experienced, but this not surprising given the hotel employs local people (thereby contributing to local economy and community, which in my view is highly positive).

Room itself was comfortable and well appointed. This is not a 5-star chain hotel, nor does it pretend to be, so those who complain about the room standards need to get a reality check! I slept very well and woke up feeling invigorated and refreshed.

Would happily stay there again and would recommend to others who are looking to explore Bali off the beaten path.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David_T4130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your vote of confidence in our services, location, view, staff and food! It is always a pleasure to share with our team that we have hosted a happy customer.

We wish you well in your world travels and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Kintamani.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We are staying at Lake View Eco Lodge from 9th-12th April 2014/ Delux room. Below are our comments for the hotel.
Room:
Provided Standard amenities, but the housekeepers didnt do their job very well. The kettle is left unclean with half the water from last guest and stains at the bottom. Glass panel in the shower is covered with water stain. ( pls see the pictures attached)
Staffs: Moderately friendly compares to other balinese but pay very little attention to their guests. The hotel informed us to get breakfast box at 5 am ( normal for these region as most guests are here for sun rise trekking) but when we went to pick up our break fast there was noone at the reception and the canteen. Our car also couldn't come into the carpark as the security guard disapperaed from the gate.
Value for money:
The room is messively over price. We paid 80 usd per night but we have stayed in other hotels in Bali with much better quality for the same price. Today we also found another really nice hotel by the lake for 2/3 the price of this place.
Authenticity:
The pictures posted in here and in their website do not represent the actual place. The hotel is very old and low on mantainance. Quite dirty in certain areas. If you want to book a delux room, please be mindful that you will not get the view like how they showed in the pictures as the delux rooms are on the lower floors and the view is blocked by the trees.
Food: In general food is alright here.
Hope these helps the travellers to make a better decision and the hotel to improve more or less.
Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tropical_peach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your candid review. I'm glad you enjoyed our panoramic views and healthy food. We assure you that in addition to our daily cleaning, our housekeeping have a monthly general cleaning to tackle the issues such as the Calcium deposits on the glass that builds up due to our natural artesian-spring-sourced water.

As we rebrand from a hotel to an Ecolodge, we are no longer using harsh chemicals for cleaning, we use natural solutions instead. You would have noticed that the exterior of our building is finished with natural lava stone, while the interiors are finished with bamboo, wood or soft sandstone. Natural materials, particularly the sandstone, do change with the weather, and we are in the final throes of rainy season.

I had a meeting with our housekeeping team who advised me that you requested no cleaning to be done in your room on your second day (after your first night) with us as you needed total rest. They did manage to clean your room on the third and fourth days, and hope you were happy with their work.

Regarding the breakfast service, I note in the log that you requested 5AM boxed breakfasts before going on early morning tours twice, on the 10th and 11th. On the 10th, you came up early for them and received the boxes at 4AM. On the 11th, there was confusion with another guest from another room picking up boxed breakfasts at 330 AM, instead of taking just two breakfast boxes they took all 4. This caused some confusion when you came up at 5AM to claim your boxed breakfast because it was already taken, however our front office staff personally went to the kitchen to expedite your breakfast preparation so you received it at the lobby well before your guide came to pick you up (on that day, according to our team, your guide was late in picking you up, and did not arrive until 5:30).

Regarding the price, we charge a fair amount to afford our upkeep, staffing levels and improvements. Indeed, there are cheaper alternatives around. Your review was posted barely hours after you checked out, so we would hazard to guess you had not yet had a chance to scrutinize the lakeside hotels with your fastidious eyes. I assure you there is a reason we are the most sought-after hotel in the Kintamani area. Nevertheless we are aware that to satisfy our customers it is not enough to merely rise above our neighboring competition. We have to compete with expectations of guests who have experienced other world-class destinations.

That is why this coming dry season we will be breaking ground on our new villas project, where each villa will be designed to be as autonomous as possible in terms of its off-the-grid independence of resources (water, electricity, etc), while maintaining a high quality and unique experience for guests.

We wish you all the best for your travels and look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Kintamani.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

It is a ideal hotel to enjoy the great view of volcano and lake. However, the hotel needed renovation badly. The hotel rooms were very run down. Toilet door couldn't be lock at all. Bed bug kept me away all night. Thank god it is only one night stay for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerdays999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for your feedback. Due to persistent complaints about the old standard rooms, we have removed them from the Lakeview Hotel inventory as part of our rebranding into Lakeview Eco Lodge this year.

They are now being managed by Kintamani Backpackers along with the dormitories, and are suitable for budget travelers.

Note that we now only have Superior rooms (from $50 a night) and Deluxe rooms (from $70 a night).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Love the view of the landscape. Can see Mount Agung on the right and Mount Batur straight in front the hotel. The view of the valley is very nice from the hotel. Having a meal at the restaurant with that sort of view is just magical. Love the food, very nice and quite satisfying. Only thing is that transportation to anywhere here is quite expensive not that much option compared to other places in Bali.

Room Tip: the dormitory rooms are down below the lobby and without the view. But the single rooms offer specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waleos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thanks for reviewing the area and activities! Always a pleasure to hear a guest has had a good time.

Do note, however, that the dormitory (and old "standard" rooms) are now managed by Kintamani Backpackers. If you look on our website there are only superior and deluxe rooms. We recommend budget travelers check out the backpackers :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Very nice location to enjoy the panoramic view of the Lake and Volcano. Food is delicious and staff very friendly. Rooms have everything you need and beds are very comfortable, perfect to relax after a day of hiking. Perfect for families or friends groups.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d4riog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thanks for your vote of confidence! We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay and look forward to hosting you on your next trip to Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

First time ever I went to Bali bringing a jacket. Located in highland Kintamani area, Lakeview is a great option if you are bored with beaches and hot sun. Stunning view from the rooms as well as sleeping quality was excellent. I recommend anyone to stay at Lakeview Hotel either with family or friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drnugroho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeviewBaliGM, General Manager at Lakeview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Always a pleasure to receive an enthusiastically positive review from a fellow Indonesian. Come again! We look forward to hosting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kintamani
9.8 mi away
Alam Anda Ocean Front Resort & Spa
10.2 mi away
The Villas Tejakula
The Villas Tejakula
#1 of 7 in Tejakula
229 reviews
3.5 mi away
Volcano Terrace Bali
Volcano Terrace Bali
#1 of 5 in Kintamani
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cave Hotel
The Cave Hotel
#8 of 21 in Kintamani
35 reviews
3 mi away
Batur Volcano Guesthouse
Batur Volcano Guesthouse
#1 of 21 in Kintamani
13 reviews
11.7 mi away
Astra Dana Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Hotel

Address: Jalan Raya Penelokan, Kintamani 80652, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Bangli > Kintamani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kintamani
Price Range: £27 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeview Hotel is at the edge of a massive volcanic caldera overlooking Mt. Batur and its tranquil lake. The cool climate offers respite from the heat of the tropics, while the mountain setting invites nature lovers to explore. Just 56km north of Denpasar, it is a two-hour scenic drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. Each and every room, as well as the two restaurants at this hotel command magnificent views of volcano, lake and the forest below. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lakeview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Hotel Bangli
Lakeview Hotel Bali/Kintamani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing