We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thyesza Hotel and Restaurant. Relaxing quite hotel right on the lake front on Samosair Island, Lake TOBA”
Review of Thyesza Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Samosir Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Thyesza Guesthouse
Ranked #22 of 27 Samosir Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at this beautiful Lake Toba frontage hotel in October 2012. It was really clean with comfortable new mattresses, very friendly staff and owners and a fantastic quiet lakeside setting. The lovely rooms start from about 100,000rp per night.
Everything was perfect for a relaxing romantic holiday and the owners are happy to help in any way they can.
It is situated only 7kms from busy Tuk Tuk which you can get to by renting a motorbike for 100,000rp per day which includes a full tank of fuel. This is handy if you want to visit some of the ancient stone tombs, hot springs, restaurants and other sights.
When you arrive in Parapet just give them a call on 0625 7000443 or email info@flowerofsamosair.com and the owner will pick you up for free. You can catch a ferry to Samosair Island from 8am to 9pm for 5000 - 7000rp.
The food here is also excellent and reasonably priced. I would highly recommend this place to couples or family's who want to stay in a place away from the crowds

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
3  Thank rensol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is a lovely location on the island ,very friendly people with nice food, it is very clean and a pretty view on the lake .The husband come to pick you up from the ferry for free .They have motorcycles for rent .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We booked in advance to stay at Thyesza and were picked up in Tuk Tuk by Mama Thyesza after one of the friendly hotel owners in town called her for us. It's quite a drive (about 20 minutes) to Ambarita and there is absolutely nothing out there, so you need to expect that you will eat most of your melas at the guesthouse.

The rooms are huge and the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom was average and had some plumbing issues with the toilet, which is pretty common in Asia. You also needed to ask for toilet paper and even then they only gave you a little. The shower in the bathroom is cold, which is a problem in Toba as it's much colder than the rest of Sumatra!

The setting is lovely and the views of the lake and surrounding hills are beautiful. The swimming here is OK, but obviously the water is much clearer at Carolinas. The menu in the restuarant is fairly good and all the food we had was delicious. Often a lot of the items on the menu weren't available (understandably they are a little far from town but we were the only guests staying!). Also there is no wi-fi at the property.

We stayed here to get away from Tuk Tuk but there was really no need as we actually found it to be noiser here! I'm not sure if it was a fluke, but we had two different student groups come to stay during our time and they were incredibly noisy with music, mega phones and all. We also slept poorly because of the guest houses dogs. Whilst they were really cute, they seemed to be at the centre of some sort of all night dog fight with stray dogs, right outside our window. Not only was this noisy, it was also distressing as it sounded like they were trying to kill each other. We mentioned this to the staff and they just laughed it off.

In the end, we left because we couldn't handle the noise anymore and went into Tuk Tuk which we found to be way more peaceful.

One other thing to note is that they are happy to give you a transfer to the guesthouse but not so useful when it comes to getting back into town. They suggested that we hire a moto from them and drive with all our bags and then bring the bike back, not a very logical solution as it still leaves the problem of getting into town. Finally, we ended up paying her husband 30,000rp to get into town.

This place is OK for one night or so but 100,000rp is a bit overpiced . I'd reccommend staying in town as it's quiet, conveniant and the swimming is better.

Room Tip: Ask if there are any student groups before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sezbo_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were at this guesthouse for one day at the end of Aug during the Indonesia national long holiday. Most of the hotels and guesthouses in Tuk Tuk were fully booked in advance. This guesthouse charged us 5 times higher than normal. The guesthouse is far away from Tomok Jetty. We were first pleased by the owner to pick us up from the Jetty. The room has no TV and no air conditioning; and it has no hot shower as well; but, all these came under our expectations. Once we arrived, we found the guesthouse was too remote. There was nothing to do except watching other families playing in the lake. We asked the owner (the only available driver we were able to access) if he could take us to tour around the island; he did not want and indeed tried to organize a plan on the following day which we had to leave in the early morning with (what we think) a relatively high price. Such arrangement had already spoiled our trip. The upset eased a little bit with the good food provided by the cook of this guesthouse. The horrible part came at night. We found our room was between a family who had booked 2 rooms between us. The wall between rooms is very thin. In our room, we could clearly hear the children yelling and parents shouting and it is so thin that every corner of our room could hear the sound clearly until 01:00 in the morning. The worst part came when people using the toilets upstairs and next to us, certain odor came directly from our toilet and quickly spread in our room the entire night. We only had 2 options, stayed awake and outside the room or sleeping with the door opened. I had chosen the first option with a sleepless night after a long day of travelling from Barestagi.
Stayed in this guesthouse is my worst experience in recent years travelling regarding to the price I paid, the location, the room quality and the services this guesthouse provided. We found nothing to do in this guesthouse except viewing the lake for 24 hours. I would suggest people staying at Tuk Tuk where more guesthouses and hotels are available and more transportation facilities to choose. However, if you are travelling using your own car in low season, you may rate this guesthouse differently.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank KatNoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Booked this place after reading all the good reviews. Regretted staying here. Correspondance via email was slow. Though a pick-up was arranged by Thyesza guesthouse owner upon our arrival at Medan airport, an assigned driver who met us upon our arrival was trying to rip us off by asking for a much higher price than initially agreed upon with the guesthouse for a trip from Medan to Lake Toba on the next day. He even made up story that he helped us book a hotel where he took us to for a night stay in Medan, that he had paid some deposit on our behalf. He made us pay the 'deposit' to him and the balance to the hotel. We suspected he was fishy but we didnt want to complicate things so we gave him the money. We found out later that the actual room rates on the price list at the counter that the driver was trying to block it from our sight when we were making the payment to the hotel staff. Very honest people!!

The journey from Medan to Parapat was not too bad. Except I was totally uncomfortable that the driver was pretentious instead of being profesional, expecting us to pay for hi lunch. He just left us there at the ferry point and with no clear direction given to us at which point along Samonir Island we were supposed to get down to go to the guesthouse. We were trying to communicate with the locl but it seemed everyone was trying to get buiness from us offering a motorbike ride to the place. It was totally a waste of time n a mess going through the exerience. Some big sized man claimed that he was assigned by the guesthouse to pik us up with his motorbike! How on earth could he fit 2 girls with luggges on that beat up bike of his a the same time! We did not trust all his words no matter how much he was trying to convince us. It was a horrible experience trying figure out if those people really true. We walked away, the local men were staring at us, none really looked any genuine in helping us find a way to the guesthouse. Finally we got into a local bus that was stuffed with passengers and finally reached the guesthouse. And so we thought everything was supposed to be arranged, but we were wrong!

We were seriously upset with such service that was not professionally carried out. The dissapoinment did not stop there. It seemed like they liked to take their own sweet time to attend to our needs. Our stay in Lake Toba was short and it was further shortened by their laid back attitude. There was nothing much to do there. One of the nights the local guests who came with families and friends were partying, making loud noise, drinking and playing loud music and turned this guesthouse into their own home disco place. It disturbed our sleep!!

Avoid this place if you are a backpacker and want to get the best out of Samosir Island. Tuk tuk has much more to offer -- villages, paddy fields, beautiful views of the lake and hills. We moved to a traditional Batak style guesthouse. It is a bit old but if you like the experience of staying in a local Batak house, this is the place. And the family that runs the guesthouse is friendly.

Just some word of advice to female travellers, be very careful with the local men. Be firm and do not easily get too comfortable or friendly with them. Many tend to lure female foreigners and get something out of girls whenever they get the opportunity.

Lake Toba is a beautiful place. It is just a shame that the local people are somewhat dishonest and irresponsible.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LiyinYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We had a lovely stay with Thyesza in May - my husband, daughter and son-in-law. The location right on Lake Toba was beautiful. Thyesza and her family welcomed us and she spent time talking with us about the history and culture of the area. Meals were excellent! The rooms were delightful and the gardensand flowers on the grounds were so beautiful. She arranged for us to rent motor scooters to tour the island and we much enjoyed a scenic drive around Samosir (with some bumpy roads to navigate!). We would certainly return to Thyesza Guesthouse on beautiful Lake Toba.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2011

I stayed 4 days at the end of my 5 month traveling in South-East Asia, to relax before I flew home and had a great time.
The guesthouse hosts are trying to give you the a little bit the feeling like home, the food is great and they are very helpful with everything you planning to do on the island.
If you try to escape the busy Indonesian cities this is the place to stay for a few days.

Room Tip: Just send a mail and you get the same day a reply
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jurgendhondt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Samosir Island hotels
4.0 mi away
Judita Cottage
Judita Cottage
#3 of 7 in Samosir Island
5 reviews
3.3 mi away
Samosir Villa Resort
Samosir Villa Resort
#10 of 27 in Samosir Island
230 reviews
4.1 mi away
Reggae Guest House
Reggae Guest House
#1 of 10 in Tuktuk
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
No photo provided
Gokhon Guest House
#8 of 10 in Tuktuk
2 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lekjon Cottage
Lekjon Cottage
#8 of 12 in Samosir Island
8 reviews
13.0 mi away
Saulina Resort
Saulina Resort
#21 of 27 in Samosir Island
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thyesza Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thyesza Guesthouse

Address: Ambarita | Lake Toba, Samosir Island, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Samosir Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Samosir Island
Price Range: £2 - £5 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thyesza guesthouse and restaurant is beautifully situated on the waterfront of Lake Toba. Enjoy tranquility and sweet idleness; try delicious Indonesian and European cuisine; take a swim, or go on an adventurous hike up the mountain and get a phenomenal view onto the lake or enjoy the hot springs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing