We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Natural Pool”
Review of Toledo Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Samosir Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Toledo Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Samosir Island
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a room with balcony facing the lake on the top level of an elevated double storey block. I requested for a lake view room and was told that all rooms face the lake. The rooms were very basic and old with the wiring exposed which was rather frightening.
There is neither air-conditioning nor a fan in the rooms but the breeze is cooling enough and with the sound of the lapping waves, we slept like babies.

There was also no tea/coffee making facilities but they had a vacuum flask which we requested for hot water daily at the restaurant. So, do bring your favourite sachets for a hot cuppa if you do not want to venture into the restaurant after dinner.

We were on a tour package so our meals were provided. Dinner was soup, 4 dishes with rice and a dessert of mix fruit salad. The food was surprisingly delicious. Breakfast was just fried rice, fried noodles, fried egg, toast with tea/coffee but enough for us.

What we really loved was the hotel's massive 'pool'. It is actually part of the lake which they had cordon off. In the morning the water was calm but in the late afternoon it was rather choppy but my kids are strong swimmers so they had a fantastic time regardless.

We were surprised to find that we could get free internet access at the restaurant and discovered that we could get connection at the 'pool' area too. So, we adults could share our holiday photos with family and friends while the kids had a whale of a time swimming.

I hope management will have their electrical wiring looked at as little children may have itchy hands and get electrocuted. You don't want an accident to happen before you take action.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank mjail5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2013

When we arrive we direct go for dinner in their restaurant, the food is good enough after a rough ride.

When we check in our rooms, all the rooms come with 2 singel bed..thats a bit disappointed for a family with a baby.

Overall is really nice view & colling Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Khaosaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The best thing about Toledo Inn is its location by the lake and long lake frontage. I stayed in three hotels in Tuktuk, but Toledo Inn wasn't my favourite. It is probably the largest hotel in Tuktuk, and the rooms are clustered into traditional style buildings which are stacked up in terraces along the steep lake side. The room I stayed in was large, over-looking the lake, but inside it was nothing very special. The bathroom was fine. The restaurant is more expensive than the many other restaurants in the area and not nearly as nice. Breakfast was pretty basic. I far preferred Tabo Cottages, which has nicer rooms, better food and happier staff than Toledo Inn for exactly the same price, IRs 450,000 per night including breakfast. On the plus side, Toledo has the nicest area to swim in the lake that I found in Tuktuk.

Room Tip: Do not take a room beside the road above the main part of the hotel because the noise of motorbikes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bactrianus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

have stay twoo times in Toledo Inn in 2011 and 2012. Very satisfied with the location, great view of lake, but will be a problem for family with little children due to the many stairs to reach the rooms. Friendly service. Fair price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wieringa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

You will have a great view of the lake right at the doorstep of the hotel rooms but the room condition is quite disappointing as it's quite run down and no upkeep. The walls, beds, cupboards, bathroom were so worn down its quite depressing sometimes to find yourself in such a condition. It's high time the management should put up some revenue/profit back to upkeep, repaint, maintain and refurbished the rooms. Was there with family and the kids were kind of terrified of the rooms' condition which seems so gloomy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy2008_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Toledo Inn is nicely located in Tuktuk, just steps away from restuarants and shops, and facing Lake Toba. The rooms are quite simple, they are clean but they are little worn down. The plants and flowers are beautiful on the hotel premises, however the teracces and chairs etc are not very well kept. Breakfast is quite minimal but OK, I guess that this is what you get in Sumatra. As we understood all accomodations on Samosir are somewhat basic, and given this we think Toledo Inn is a good choice in Tuktuk.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marscha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This is a sweet little resort like hotel situated right off the shore of Lake Toba at Tuk Tuk Village, Samosir.
If you drive from the main ferry terminal, it takes around 20mins to get there, so its relatively far from the busy city center, which is a plus if you want to get away from all the hustle and bustle

The overall ambience of the place is very chill and relaxing , with little "huts"containing around 4 rooms within each hut ( two on level 1, two on the 2nd level) and scattered randonly inside the estate via a net work of rustic walkway and stairs.
Compound is well decorated with plants and fauna, giving you a laid back resort feel.

Room amenities wise, they are clean but you really just get the bare basics. The hot water is only available in scheduled timing for about 2 hrs in the morning & another window period at night; so if you are particular about this, this might be an issue. Due to the natural cooling weather, there is no fan nor aircon installed. The windows are fitted with mosquito nettings so there are no bugs disturbing us. I guess the above arrangement is a common practice on the island.
At night, the whole place is so quiet you can hear the crickets outside.

The key selling point would be the endless lake view that you get if you have a room facing the lake. It simply is breath-taking and you can go for a swim in the barricaded area along the shore of lake toba right outside your hotel room.
There is an additional little jetty that extends out so that you can have a drink there to take in the view.

Entertainment wise can either walk or rent a bike to explore the little island.
From the hotel, turn left if you want to see more souvenier shops/ f&B or other entertaining capabilities. Turn right if you are going for more village-like countryside views as you venture into the residential areas.

Basically this would be the perfect choice if you really want a place to "get away"from the hustle and bustle. Of course, don't expect too much and you shall have a good stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a room with lake view for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank XYNT X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samosir Island
0.9 mi away
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#1 of 7 in Samosir Island
215 reviews
25 mi away
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
#4 of 7 in Samosir Island
20 reviews
5.5 mi away
Inna Parapat
Inna Parapat
#2 of 9 in Parapat
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Judita Cottage
Judita Cottage
#3 of 7 in Samosir Island
6 reviews
4.7 mi away
Patra Parapat Lake Resort
6.4 mi away
Niagara Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toledo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toledo Inn

Address: Jl. Tuk Tuk, Samosir Island, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Samosir Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Samosir Island
Hotel Class:2 star — Toledo Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 141
Also Known As:
Toledo Hotel Samosir Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing