We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to stay on Samosir Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samosir Villa Resort
Ranked #10 of 28 Samosir Island B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My parents, cousin, husband, our 2 years old baby and myself stayed at Samosir Villa Resort during our 5D4N trip to Northern Sumatra. Samosir Villa Resort seems to be the best place to stay on Samosir island. It's far from being a 5 star hotel but it's a lovely nice hotel with very friendly people always serving you with a smile.

The rooms are very basic with no amenities such as safe deposit box and no turn down service was provided.

But the hotel surroundings is so amazing! Nice outdoors furniture, a nice swimming pool and an overall nice relaxed atmosphere. Outdoor beds were available in some areas with very nice views of Lake Toba. We also had a very nice view of the lake from our family's room balcony. There was also a traditional batak music band for the nightly entertainment which we really appreciated.

The hotel was very well located on the island. It was close to many tourists attractions and restaurants. The hotel restaurant served delicious food but I would recommend to try grilled fish from Jenny's restaurant which is located next to Samosir Cottages.

We had an overall good experience at Samosir Villa Resort. If ever we go back to Samosir Island again, we will definetely saty at Samosir Villa resort again.

P.S: No noisy customers during our stay there. Noisy customers can be found in other hotels too and I don't think it's fair to criticise the hotel for the noisy customers...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Estelle_Rik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2012

Stayed one night in Family Suite & Deluxe Room, review as follows:

1) Location - located in Tuk Tuk Village - about 20 mins drive from the ferry terminal. Situated by the lake. Very very scenic. Outstanding view.

2) Hotel Surrounding: Very nice. Batak style design, nice pool, very very nice outlay.

3) Hotel Room: The deluxe room is ok. Family Suite is good. Family suite direct view to the lake is outstanding.

4) Set Dinner: food was good and delicious

5) Buffet Breakfast: Very poor. Dislike it totally.

6) others: quite a lot of mosquito at night, and i think the hotel should provide fan in rooms, bcoz if we shut all the windows to avoid mosquito from coming in, the rooms get stuffy and warm with no ventilation.

Overall, very nice relaxing resort which i will come again.

Room Tip: Lake View Rooms are magnificently beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FrenchRemix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

For those looking for a peaceful stay at the beautiful Lake Toba, stay away from Samosir Villa Resort. I had intentionally booked a room at the resort, thinking that with the higher prices, i would get a better experience. 

The deluxe room promised a view of the lake and it did. But that was the problem. The room was very near to the water edge, where the resort has built an area for people to get into the water easily.

So by 8pm, those from the other rooms further in the resort came out to play. And play they did, they played the guitar and sang very loudly for the next two hours. This was followed by another group of people who were fishing at night. This group talked very loudly, smoked (and the smell came into my room) and drank (there was even the smashing of glass bottles). This group continued their noise til past 2am.

By 6am, the hotel staff started clearing up the mess and was so loud in scooping up the glass and rubbish that it startled me. And by then, the people upstairs were walking around very loudly, turning on the TV and so on. I could even hear the morning news. At 8am, the construction work started... Just a room away.

I hardly slept the whole night. If you're looking for a quiet place, stay away. The resort is overcrowded with noisy guests. The lake is truly beautiful, pity about the people though.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
12  Thank xingledout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Its just nice hotel but dont stay here for long weekend! We didnt sleep with all the noisy by group of chinesse people, they dont have any respect to others as they make a noisy until 3 am and every night! I didnt know that in kind of a nice hotel u can even cooking infront of the room as there is restaurant in this hotel! Im lndonesian so pls for western people u should go to samosir cottage and not samosir villa resort, the staff is very friendly and they sugest me to stay in samosir cottage ..

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Doni U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Slight mixed up in the booking and was told that it was fully booked when we arrived at 7pm. The staff then managed to whip out a piece of paper showing our booking.

Room was decent. huge room, small fridge, 1 double and 1 single bed.There's no air-conditioning so it you are mosquito prone, bring repellents.

Food was very ordinary but the view of the lake was beautiful. all things nice had to be spoilt by a bunch of malaysian holding some sort of party at the extreme end of the hotel. They had KTV sessions with speakers facing the rest of the rooms and this went on even after 10pm.

Called the hotel to check on it and calls after calls, i could still hear people croaking instead of singing. Very fustrating when one comes to the lake for a relaxing vacation only to be ruin by people who cannot control their volume and cannot sing.

It seems like the hotel have very little control over the guest and they could do as they please. the singing only stopped after 11pm. (and that was because i called them every 5mins to get them to act on it.)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikiKoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Overall a great experience- comprehensive menu,good service, swimming pool but water is cold nice hotel and view. Don't choose the room next to the table tennis table and snooker as players can disturb you when the ball hits the wall of your bedroom. No hot showers. Don't expect daily room cleaning. Day tours are 600,000 Rp per car, motorbike 80,000 Rp or 170,000 Rp with driver. By Chong CY, Singapore

Room Tip: do not choose room next to table tennis table and snooker
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChongCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed unfortunately only for one night, because it was fully booked after that. A good location, clean and functional pool, and steps and a swimming platform for the lake. I would agree that the breakfast choice was a bit limited. There was good local live music band, but it finished by 11pm so did not go on too late (but still maybe too late for some who were wanting a more peaceful evening). The manager could not have been more helpful (offering alternative accommodation at the Samosir Cottages). The only problem was that the place as over-run with a large group of multiple family Chinese who were incredibly loud and had very noisy kids. From the size and Yakuza-style tattoos of the men it looked like a 'mob' family weekend away! Hardly the fault of the management, but certainly did not make for a peaceful stay.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank AfghanHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Samosir Island
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carolina
Hotel Carolina
#1 of 7 in Samosir Island
215 reviews
24.1 mi away
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
Tiara Bunga Hotel & Villa
#4 of 7 in Samosir Island
21 reviews
4.9 mi away
Inna Parapat
Inna Parapat
#1 of 9 in Parapat
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Toba Village Inn
Toba Village Inn
#2 of 28 in Samosir Island
234 reviews
0.3 mi away
Zoe’s Paradise Waterfront Hotel
0.7 mi away
Anju Cottages
Anju Cottages
#3 of 4 in Ambarita
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samosir Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samosir Villa Resort

Address: Jl. Lingkar Tuk Tuk | Lake Toba, Samosir Island, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sumatra > North Sumatra > Samosir Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Samosir Island
Price Range: £32 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Samosir Villa Resort is a new Villa Resort addition to Tuk Tuk - Samosir Island . Located in one of the most dynamic and strategic area right beside of the Lake Toba.This newly build, all suite.Imagine an island right in the middle of the biggest volcanic lake in the world, Lake Toba.Wake up to the sun rising over the lake just a few steps from your bed, in a perfect vision of tropical paradiseThe elegant design schemes of the villa resort areas are embrace throughout villas, cottages, unique design of the restaurant, swimming pool, play ground, parking place . Some of the villas spacious more than one-room suites, separate living room area with sofa,dining room,balcony, refrigerator, TV,1 bathrooms with bathtub and garden.We are proud to introduce the Samosir Villa Resort and our entire hotel team looks forward to establishing our hotel as one of the most contemporary, upscale villas in Samosir Island. Wheater your next visit is for business, vacation , and weekend getaway , our team members welcome residents and travelers from around the world, to experience the Samosir Villa Resort. ENJOY OUR NEW INTERNET WIFI SERVICESSamosir Villa has various of facilities such as Meeting Room, Fitness Room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Samosir Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing