We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprises again and again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maruba Restaurant

Maruba Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indonesian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Gili Trawangan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Surprises again and again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Bacon! She tells me she smokes her own - wow, smokey and flavourful and to die for good! She also makes a burger that is full of homemade flavoure, fesh bun, seasoned with sage, rosemarry, parsley and served with a dijon styl mustard - wow.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank whygoback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    18
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Worth the wait.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

One of the typical experience you will get when visiting a restaurant in this island is the duration to wait for the food to be sent to your table. So most of the time, people really do care for a good or even excellent food delivered to satisfy the long wait.

Maruba is one of those restaurants that actually satisfy me. One of the most delicious must-try food is the Pork Schnitzel, the portion is quite humble and the price is worth it.

Another good thing is the friendliness of the restaurant owner. They even showed us a very cute 2-week-old puppy by our request! An awesome hospitality.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel77x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A bit overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Had Saksang (traditional Batak dish) and turned out not as nice as we thought it would be. Price is a little bit high, you may try the dish at some where cheaper if you would just want to taste of it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank geng_qian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“You Can Not Get Any Better Here!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

We went here on our first night and ordered straight from the menu, it was so good that we pre ordered a special Batak fish dish for the next night. The family here cannot do enough for you. This is the number 1 choice when going to lake toba

Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great find in Tuk Tuk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Where do you begin, the food is amazing, every meal we ate at Maruba was delicious and made with love in this sweet family run restaurant. We happily walked 40 minutes each day to enjoy the food. Their dog Brown is hilarious, if she saw you walk past she'd bounce over tail wagging and try to lead you into the restaurant. Try the avocado salad!

Helpful?
Thank Itchy_Feet_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maruba Restaurant also viewed

Samosir Island, North Sumatra
Samosir Island, North Sumatra
 
Samosir Island, North Sumatra
 

Been to Maruba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing