We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and classy!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Comfortable and classy!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I went to Tanjung Pinang for company business and stayed at this hotel for one night.

The people were friendly and helpful. During my stay, there was not peak season, so the hotel was relatively empty. The ambience was good. It was quite.

My room was clean and smelled good. The AC was good and the bathroom was super clean. The TV worked well and so did the coffee maker. I spoiled my self with hot water shower and a cup of delicious tea.

I absolutely will stay at this hotel again if I ever come to Tanjung Pinang.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LubisBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    99
    79
    24
    16
See reviews for
71
69
17
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We were lured by the fabulous photos of the hotel rooms and great room rates on the tripadvisor website - so decided to explore Tanjong Pinang and try the hotel out. We booked & paid for the Premier room but at check-in were shown to what I suspected was their deluxe/standard room. We asked the front desk/reception staff several times if this is a premier room, showed them the copy of our confirmation online booking by HotelClub - and were told again yes, this is a premier room. When we returned to Singapore we double-checked the room photos on the website - for sure we were given a deluxe/standard room. The room itself smelt of stale cigarettes although there is a non-smoking sign, it is obviously not observed.
These rooms are located on 1st floor - main lobby & restaurant are on the 2nd floor. I am sure their premier rooms are probably on the 3rd floor. We were not able to sleep at all since these rooms are right below the restaurant and you can hear the sounds of the restaurant though the ceiling all night long.
We did try the restaurant & ate dinner there - surprisingly the food was quite good & price was reasonable. However the complimentary breakfast buffet offered quantity & variety, but not quality & not great standard. Definitely decided not to extend our stay and return home as soon as possible.
Tanjong Pinang is NOT interesting to visit, and the hotel is located 30mins by car from the ferry harbour through an under-developed uninteresting town area. The hotel itself has a complimentary car shuttle to & from the harbour, but this information is not forthcoming and it was only after many many questions on how to get back to the harbour and where to buy the tickets was it finally revealed that they have this service. If you do not speak Indonesian you will not find it easy to get around here.
After we contacted HotelCub about our downgraded room, they contacted the Aston hotel but could not get any co-operation from the hotel. Probably this is a regular scam by the hotel to get a little extra revenue dollar by not honouring the grade of room booked & paid for!
Definitely will never go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tanjung Pinang hotels

markham, ontario
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Complete waste of my vacation. Stepped into a disaster zone. Hotel is far from the city therefore the only transportation is hotel taxi which charges you min 3 hrs roughly 30 sg. The hotel is outdated and last lighting. Kinda spooky. The first night in the hotel I didn't sleep at all. The noise from the road kept me up all night. I request to change the room and they didn't until 7 hrs later. They claim it was fully booked. Liars!!!! I checked online and there were rooms available. I kept calling to change rooms and they kept hanging up on me. Such good service right? No one wanted to attend to resolve my situation. Lack of service, lack of politeness, lack of respect. Finally they changed my room... To the basement. Yep. I paid money to stay in a complete crap hole. I will not recommend to anyone, and I will definitely let all my friends know about my experience. A vacation turned into a waste of time and money.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hyperkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batam, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

While our room was clean and modern, I will always judge a hotel poorly if it's Internet reception is poor. This hotel offers "free WiFi Internet" but, in reality, it was almost impossible to get from one Web site to another. This may have been due to the fact the hotel was fully booked, but that is no excuse in today's world for a property that calls itself 4 star. Also, the food at the restaurant was poor. An expensive barbeque by the pool featured beef that could not be eaten, one rice offering and one poor pasta dish. The buffet breakfast, while expansive, was also poor, with beef bacon that was not edible and orange juice that was orange drink. In addition, the room rate was relatively expensive for the location and was 40% higher than what was offered online, probably due to the fact it was a holiday weekend and the time to get more from customers for the same accommodations. Add to this the hotel's poor location 45 minutes from anything by taxi and you have a bad experience. Staff was courteous.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aimlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My husband Gopie is on a long business trip in Tanjung Pinang which will last for another 8 months. My husband and I are enjoying our stay here. The staffs go all out to fulfill any assistance that we require. We are always greeted with big smiles by them. The front officers i.e Zuki, Ozy, Nur, Idol & team, the F & B staffs i.e Dumai, Wira, Zulkfli & team, the Fitness centre supervisor Andy & team and the housekeeping staffs i.e Harry. Even the management staffs are very approachable and friendly i.e Ery, Putri, Mr Tata & team.There are many others which I don't know their names. Everyone is very committed & attend to our needs immediately.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanthiniThiyagarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I certainly enjoyed my stays there. How the hotel provides it's services. Got a pick up from the ferry terminal by their driver without any extra charges. We were welcomed by a group of pleasant stuffs. They were really friendly. And provided, there's a staff named Evin. Be sure to check him out, his services were the best. From being a driver, he even became a personal tour guide. Thumbs up! To those who are a first timer in Tanjung Pinang, be sure to check out Aston! Kudos

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElishaElias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed there with 3 other friends of mine for a short getaway. Honestly we had a wonderful and terrific time there. The hotel itself is nice. The staff are very friendly. Always offer a helping hand even before we ask for it.

We were fetched by the hotel driver, Evin. A very nice person and a very humorous guy. Very polite and humble. This is not the first time I'm in Tanjung Pinang but he brought me to places that I've never been and tour us around. Thank you so much Evin for everything.

Upon checking in, the receptionists greeted us politely. They are all english speaking. So we had no trouble communicating.

Gosh, if I were to write everything here, I don't think it would be enough. You guys should really check it out yourself. I really had fun and I'm sure my other friends had fun too. Thank you so much Aston Hotel. Thank you for the services. Hope to be there again.

-Amalina/Nana

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Nur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tanjung Pinang
2.5 mi away
CK Tanjungpinang Hotel & Convention Centre
CK Tanjungpinang Hotel & Convent...
#1 of 17 in Tanjung Pinang
66 reviews
12.9 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
583 reviews
22.9 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Pelangi Hotel
Pelangi Hotel
#4 of 17 in Tanjung Pinang
58 reviews
20.7 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#7 of 36 in Bintan Island
338 reviews
22.4 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center
Address: Km. 11 Jl. Adisucipto, Tanjung Pinang, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29125, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Tanjung Pinang
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Tanjung Pinang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and stylish 4 star Business and Conference hotel committed to the highest International standards and a wide range of service and facilities to suit the need of frequent Business Travelers and Conference Organizer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Tanjung Pinang Hotel And Conference Center Bintan Island, Indonesia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing