We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old bazar- tabriz”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bazaar of Tabriz

Ranked #2 of 37 things to do in Tabriz
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Bazaar of Tabriz is a historical market situated in the city center of Tabriz, Iran. It is one of the oldest bazaars in the Middle East and the largest covered bazaar in the world. and is one of Iran's UNESCO World Heritage Sites. The Blue Mosque is a famous historic mosque constructed in 1465 upon the order of Jahan Shah.
Tabriz, Iran
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“old bazar- tabriz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Bazaar of Tabriz (Persian , Bāzār-e Tabriz) is one of the oldest bazaars in the Middle East and the largest covered bazaar in the world.Tabriz has been a place of cultural exchange since antiquity. Its historic bazaar complex is one of the most important commercial centres on the Silk Road. Located in the center of the city of Tabriz, Iran, the structure consists of several sub-bazaars, such as Amir Bazaar (for gold and jewelry), Mozzafarieh (a carpet bazaar), a shoe bazaar, and many other ones for various goods. The most prosperous time of Tabriz and its bazaar was in 16th century when the town became the capital city of the Safavid kingdom. The city lost its status as a capital in the 17th century, but its bazaar has remained important as a commercial and economic center.[1] Although numerous modern shops and malls have been established nowadays, Tabriz Bazaar has remained the economic heart of both the city and northwestern Iran

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank farnoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    33
    14
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
161 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Historical Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Grand Bazaar is one of the historical place to see in Tabriz, but if you visited Istanbul Grand Bazaar before, I am sure you won't be impressed..
It is huge place for shopping, you can buy carpets, gold, accessories, shoes, handicrafts etc.
Very crowded in weekdays but be careful, Friday is weekend in Iran and this place is closed..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank firstmoon3142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I loved the Tabriz Bazaar. It is the best bazaar in Iran and I could say in the Middle East. You find everything you could imagine and the quality of its goods is high.I wish I could have come back to Tabriz only to go shopping in that place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank worldtravellerRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Shepstone, South Africa
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Whacky and fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

This lovely old Bazaar is an ideal place to shop ,you would need a whole day to go through this Bazaar which has everything you can imagine the carpet market is amazing and hand made woolen rugs are really cheap I found and bought some good handmade leather shoes if you want to buy nuts than this is the ideal place to buy nuts and dried fruit fresh walnuts ,pistachios and various types of health seeds

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ZK786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEHRAN
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very attractive !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Tabriz is one of the most beautiful cities of Iran . Tabriz is famous for historical background and BAZAAR is one of important parts of this background . I liked the center of carpets more than others . One of attractive sections of BAZAAR for me was the part of colorful clothes for villagers .
We were there for three hours and we hah visited 3/4 of BAZAAR . I will be there as soon as possible .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank SOUSAN R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bazaar of Tabriz also viewed

Tabriz, East Azerbaijan Province
Tabriz, East Azerbaijan Province
 
Tabriz, East Azerbaijan Province
Tabriz, East Azerbaijan Province
 

Been to Bazaar of Tabriz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing