We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good traditional guest house in beautiful old house”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yazd
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Traditional Kohan Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Yazd
Reviewed 4 June 2014

In the old part of the town, which is the most atmospheric part of town to stay.

We booked ahead by phone. We were given a relatively small room away from the main courtyard, around a smaller courtyard which was nice as it was very quiet. The bathroom was very basic but good with both a western and iranian style toilet.

The restaurant is in the nice courtyard next to the big fountain; you can eat on regular chairs and tables or lie down on the iranian style beds around the fountain. A lovely place to spend a few hours lounging in the shade.
We had lunch here one day and the other day we had lunch in the Silk Road hotel, which wasn't as good.

The contact we had with the hotel receptionist and his brother was great! He reminded me of the energetic receptionist of the "Best Exotic Marigold Hotel"!!

Don't forget to visit the roof top for a great view over the old town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Walterke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (308)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 308 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

It is a beautiful space, with two courtyards and fountains, a pleasant restaurant, and good professional staff. The rooftop has very nice view of the old town. Great value for money...................

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlenHzSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a very good option if you want to stay in the heart of the old city Yazd. The hotel is traditional, that means it is the same like many years ago, with amazing, panoromaic view from the roof. It is really nice place and proper to heve some rest and escape from the heat. Rooms are a little basic but clean (unfortunally if you stay more then one night - nobody cleans your room or changes the towes). The breakfast is realy good and serving in fabulous surrounding. They offer also the good option to have a diner in the hotel - good and tasty food in reasonably price. The staf is friendly, lady in the front desk speak excellent english and is really helpfull, the man seems to be bored and is not interested in helping tourists with hotel or transport reservation. It is possible to arrange a car with driver to visit Chak Chak or det to the desert. Wifi is weak and slow, exremely, but free and allow to check emails.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed there for two nights. Great value for money. Basic hotel with the best open courtyard in Yazd. You can relax, have food and enjoy the atmosphere. The receptionists and staff are lovely too. Location is right in the heart of old city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJ1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Excellent value for money. We stayed here 4 nights with our 5 y.o. kid and spent wonderful time on the courtyard meeting people from all over the world. Absolutely fantastic staff speaking good english and always ready and happy to help you --> never without a smile !!! Thank you so much guys and good luck.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarek F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I haven't slept there, I have just discovered this traditional hotel in the old Yazd the day before leaving it thanks to a signal: highest rooftop in Yazd. The rooftop is wonderful indeed, with a 360° view on the city and all the people is invited to go on, even without being lodged in the hotel.
the position as well is great, in the heart of the old city, few minutes far by walk from Alexander's prison.
staff is extremly friendly and helpful: always ready to welcome you, offering lots of services and proposing some tours in/around Yazd.
private rooms and dormitories - free wifi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piotr85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We initially booked two rooms at Silk Road Hotel over the Internet, but as we arrived there they refused and said that they were fully booked. After being a bit annoyed at first, our taxi driver brought us to Kohan Hotel close by.

Since there were no double rooms available anymore, they offered us the dorm in the upper story and told us (4 persons) we could use it by ourselves. The room itself is huge, but not clean at all, with beds which were really hard. But with the Price of only 300.000 Rial (ca. 8 Euro) per night/Person and a pretty private balcony overviewing the courtyard it was ok.

A really nice feature was the view from the rooftop - especially at dawn, when you can see all over the city and listen to the songs of the muezzin.

The location midst the old City was really nice, so we could walk to almost all the interesting sights.

Room Tip: Try to avoid to get a room inside the building without proper windows - those were pretty smelly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EfffBeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Traditional Kohan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traditional Kohan Hotel

Address: Emem Street, alley #4 | corner of Coin Museum, Yazd, Iran
Region: Iran > Yazd Province > Yazd
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Yazd
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing