We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different rates same place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yazd
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Traditional Kohan Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Yazd
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Different rates same place”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated in one of the old parts of the town with good access once you leave all the small alley ways.

We arrived at 5am to a closed hotel and had to knock and wake the receptionist to check in which we had warned in advance. We were then told breakfast is served from 7:30 to 8:30 and had to wake up to catch breakfast.

We later found out breakfast is actually served between 7:30 and 11:30 plus they would have arranged a late breakfast as we arrived late but the receptionist failed to arrange this.

The rooms are extremely small and have enough space for 2 very small single beds.

In Iran hotels are obliged to have there prices in view with rates clearly displayed, as this is only in farsi a lot of people do not understand it and are charged whatever rate the receptionist feels like giving. A twin room as of August 2014 is 690,000 Rials as stated on the chart but we were charged 900,00. when i questioned this they came up with silly excuses that they have to charge a tax which is not true.

So make sure you check the prices of any hotel you visit in the lobby behind the reception.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank MFworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    105
    56
    10
    6
See reviews for
29
96
56
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miri
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Like the historical sights that surround it, the Kohan is showing its age. It's a place full of character, the building is wonderful but the sands from the desert have blown in and no-one seems particularly keen to sweep them out. I stayed in the dorm which is pretty neglected - it's a few notches above squalid but it could definitely do with some TLC, beginning with a good old clean up. I'd till recommend the place though as it's reasonably priced - 30,000 toman for a dorm room - the breakfast is excellent, the dorm has AC (Whoop!), the staff are friendly and eager to help and there are gorgeous views from the rooftop.

Room Tip: Try before you buy when taking a room. See what beds are available in the dorm - there are two parts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mosstin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was a good sanctuary from the heat and dust of Yazd.

The room was rather small, but was clean, and the bed comfortable. The air conditioner was very noisy :-(.

The courtyard area is lovely, with fragrant plants and those wonderfully indulgent 'takts' (day beds). Make sure you go up on the roof to see the Yazd skyline.

Breakfast was fine, but I would have appreciated some fruit - there are all those watermelons in Iran after all!

There didn't appear to be a menu so we didn't eat there, going instead to the Silk Road for coffee and delicious curry, but I loved having the quiet and peaceful Kohan to return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BohinjBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

In the old part of the town, which is the most atmospheric part of town to stay.

We booked ahead by phone. We were given a relatively small room away from the main courtyard, around a smaller courtyard which was nice as it was very quiet. The bathroom was very basic but good with both a western and iranian style toilet.

The restaurant is in the nice courtyard next to the big fountain; you can eat on regular chairs and tables or lie down on the iranian style beds around the fountain. A lovely place to spend a few hours lounging in the shade.
We had lunch here one day and the other day we had lunch in the Silk Road hotel, which wasn't as good.

The contact we had with the hotel receptionist and his brother was great! He reminded me of the energetic receptionist of the "Best Exotic Marigold Hotel"!!

Don't forget to visit the roof top for a great view over the old town.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walterke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velenje, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

It is a beautiful space, with two courtyards and fountains, a pleasant restaurant, and good professional staff. The rooftop has very nice view of the old town. Great value for money...................

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlenHzSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a very good option if you want to stay in the heart of the old city Yazd. The hotel is traditional, that means it is the same like many years ago, with amazing, panoromaic view from the roof. It is really nice place and proper to heve some rest and escape from the heat. Rooms are a little basic but clean (unfortunally if you stay more then one night - nobody cleans your room or changes the towes). The breakfast is realy good and serving in fabulous surrounding. They offer also the good option to have a diner in the hotel - good and tasty food in reasonably price. The staf is friendly, lady in the front desk speak excellent english and is really helpfull, the man seems to be bored and is not interested in helping tourists with hotel or transport reservation. It is possible to arrange a car with driver to visit Chak Chak or det to the desert. Wifi is weak and slow, exremely, but free and allow to check emails.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed there for two nights. Great value for money. Basic hotel with the best open courtyard in Yazd. You can relax, have food and enjoy the atmosphere. The receptionists and staff are lovely too. Location is right in the heart of old city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJ1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Traditional Kohan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traditional Kohan Hotel

Property: Traditional Kohan Hotel
Address: Emem Street, alley #4 | corner of Coin Museum, Yazd, Iran
Region: Iran > Yazd Province > Yazd
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Yazd
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing