We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yazd
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fahadan Museum Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Yazd
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The Fahadan is a nice change to many of the hotels that you normally stay in on holiday.
It is located in a courtyard house/ mansion, which has been restored very nice.
Our room and ensuite was quite basic, having to traul our luggage up the perilous flight of stairs.
The hotel (and I think the town also for that matter) seems to cater for a lot of internal tourism, as there were always a lot of locals from Tehran etc coming through having a look at the building.
The internal courtyard is very nice to relax for a few hours and have tea/ juice.
Because it caters mainly for Iranians the breakfast is EXTREMELY basic (like most throughout the country) - fried eggs are the only thing on the menu other than the standard feta/ cucumbers/ tomatoes/ yoghurt/ pita bread etc.
The hotel seems to be run entirely by a group of young people (under 30). Whilst extremely friendly and nice, they don't quite understand the concept of hotel management.
We only had 1 that could speak english, and during 'breakfast' they meander through and help themselves to breakfast. You need to walk up to them and ask for tea.
To drag our luggage back down the perilous stairs and out to our car we had it sitting outside our door for at least 10 - 15mins before they figured out that we needed assistance.
Overall though, quite nice

Room Tip: Definetely as for a downstairs/ courtyard room - not one up a dangerous flight of stairs!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VITaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

This hotel is located opposite the Alexander Prison, that is right in the heart of Yazd's captivating old town. Directions to the place are clearly signposted in virtually all the alleys nearby so there is no way you can miss it.

Fahadan Great Hotel is inside a traditional Yazd house, with the rooms set around various lovely courtyards. Our room, decorated in traditional style, featured two separate bedrooms, one of them with a double bed, the other with two separate beds. The bathroom was spacious enough. Bear in mind, though, that rooms are not made up every day, or at least ours wasn't. Some users might find this annoying so I think it's fair to warn you in advance.

As I said, the place is pleasant enough to linger and sleep in after an exhausting day getting lost in Yazd. However, the highlight of my stay was the incredibly friendly and helpful staff (unlike what another reviewer writes): they accommodated us even if the crooks at the agency we were forced to contract had not made any reservation, they were extremely helpful throughout our stay and even provided us with an unrequested in-room breakfast due to our early departure from Yazd. Truly great people.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Liilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Perfect location to step outside and get lost in the maze of alleys in this mud walled city. Hotel has so much atmosphere and the rooms are delightful. Take your suitcase outside your room and the staff merely look on with not a hint of help which generally typifies their attitude in everything they do. A great pity.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CourteneyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

All the other reviews on TripAdvisor are accurate -- this is an *amazing* hotel by ANY standard. It has lots of nooks and crannies and places to explore and has so much character. It is decorated with beautiful paintings, original stained glass and antiques. It can stand next to any historical hotel is the US or in Europe -- this is definitely not a third world experience. It was a big reason why we all loved Yazd so much. This city has tons of character and is well worth seeing. In July the temp was around 115 F -- tolerable but perhaps traveling earlier in the year would be more pleasant.

As for basics -- it was scrupulously clean, the beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were modern. The airconditioning worked well. Our party had four rooms and each was completely different (and charming in its own way).

The service was great, we did not experience any rudeness at all, but agree their English, while good, was not completely fluent. This hotel will be one I remember for the rest of my life, it was that great.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DogsnHorsesnKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stayed two nights at the fantastic Fahadan Great Hotel in March. A wonderfully eclectic conversion of mansions, with a large central courtyard (breakfast and teas are served here and there are takhts as well as tables) that was tented while we were there. The location is across the small square from Alexander’s Prison and the Tomb of the 12 Imams, which has the added benefit of making it easy to find again after strolling through the old mud brick town as there are signs to both of these sites!

To enter our room (133), one had to bend down as the door small. The room itself was large with very high ceilings with the windows opening onto the central courtyard. There is a quirky rather basic bathroom … you have to bend down to enter the bathroom if you are much more that 170cm, the layout is sink, shower (no curtain) and then toilet but plastic slippers are provided to avoid getting wet feet after the shower has been used. We loved the distinctive styling of the room with the old Singer sewing machine!

The views from the rooftop are wonderful and the hotel is worth exploring – they are currently converting additional so you can see how they go about the conversion process. There is a second smaller tented courtyard for those who enjoy qualians. Staff are friendly and speak some English (certainly more than we speak Persian!) but occasionally it can take a little time to get questions understood.

Highly recommend this hotel for the wonderful atmosphere and location.

Interesting city with many beautiful and fascinating sites and the people were incredibly gracious and friendly. We were always welcome in their mosque (shoes are kept on) and met so many delightful Iranians while exploring the old mud brick town. If you can, go to Iran. The day-to-day living and the reality of the cities we visited and the people we saw/met is so different from its portrayal by the western media.

We had some difficulties making internet bookings directly with the hotel, so we sent an email to Mehr Hotel and this was then forwarded to Fahadan.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank yns_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

Fahadan is a converted old mansion around a tented courtyard, and is a great experience in itself. Thankfully well air-conditioned and interesting big rooms full of local bric-a-brac. A brave investment in a country which tourists are hesitant to visit, but a terrific place to stay. Right in the old mud-brick town, which is daunting at first but sensational once you get your bearings. Staff are extremely helpful and one of the desk staff spent the morning driving us out to the Zoroastrian 'Towers of Silence'. Tourist info office is right opposite and great guides have an office there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank gra1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

The hotel was fabulous, but the cafe' staff were not polite... this great hotel needs more professional staff.. But on the whole IT is enjoyable to be there and iw was near everything...

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ShararehMoradi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fahadan Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fahadan Museum Hotel

Address: Fahadan St | Opposite Of Alexander Prison, Yazd, Iran (Formerly Fahadan Great Hotel)
Region: Iran > Yazd Province > Yazd
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Yazd
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing