We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst run hotel I ever stayed in !”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yazd
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fahadan Museum Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Yazd
Reviewed 30 October 2013

The hotel is in a nice old building, but buildings don't make a hotel, people do.

It's a misnomer to call it in any way a "museum" , better stated would be the Fahadan Bric a Brac Hotel. The building is indeed nice, but could have been refurbished better.

The rooms were simple and were OK, nothing special. Sheets were ill fitting, which led to poor sleep and whilst beds were made daily, the room was not and rubbish from previous occupants was still there when we checked in. Air conditioning was very good.

But the Service, good god, was simply dreadful. A lot of young people, who hadn't a clue what they were doing. This peaked when we asked to stay an extra night, having stayed 4 already (it was Eid and we had no choice). They said they were full and we had no option but to move 150KM away and even helped us book a hotel there. The next day at checkout, a couple wandered in from the street and were given a room. We were overcharged, both on prior agreed room rate and for an item we didn't have. They corrected both.

There are now many traditional hotels around, both cheaper and far better. I can't think of any one reason to stay here, save there are no other hotels available. The Dad Hotel is the same price and light years ahead of here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eyeblinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel is an excellent place to stay in Yazd, beautiful, romantic and u feel u r back in time for centuries. Each room is decorated different and unique with real vintage furniture. The rooms have romantic persian names, the staff are friendly and helpful. You can enjoy the Persian style cafe with hookah and traditional tea and sweets. Originally it was an ancient house turned to hotel. The hotel's restaurant is among Yazd's best diners.

Room Tip: you can choose the royal suit which u can feel u're king and queen but the room is so close to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This hotel Fahadan in Yazd is an old house that has been remodeled and is a classic way of staying in Yazd. I personally had some problems in the hotel, but overall its acceptable. The main problem is bad management, but the people there are friendly and helpfull. So that compensates a little the fact that they dont know what there doing. Also the location is good, right in the middle of the old town which is absolutley amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mahyar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We (family of 4 with 2 sons of 14 and 20) Stayed in Fahadan for new year vacation. This was our first experience with traditional hotels. I can say it was very good and totally different.
Location is superb for historical visits, atmosphere both in hotel and around was really good. a walk around hotel area will give you a very good sense of historical Yazd.
Fahadan is member of Mehr group of hotels, and Karvansalar agency sells packages for these groups. in our package, you could stay with any of hotels in the group, and have your meals in any other one, which provides you both the flexibility and variety.
Inside Fahadn, like most historical houses, there is a central area and rooms are located around this yard. each room has a name, as in Iranian architecture every room around main yard had names.
Every wall in public areas of the hotel, has some historical element which shows a part of history.
People come to just visit Fahadan as a museum and have a walk through yards and roof.
Rooms are relatively small, and I feel the best experience would be for 2 person per normal room.
Bath and toilets are clean and even in new year time, when everything goes crazy, the service was very good.
Staff are friendly and very helpful.
Air condition is good and works.
Inside Fahadan, only breakfast is served, but there a traditional "public bath" near by, (Abol-Maali) which is rebuilt as a restaurant for Mehr group of hotels including Fahadan.
Do not expect much luxury, just relax and enjoy the history.
Thanks Fahadan :-)

Room Tip: More than 2 adults might not be very comfortable in one room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

It is a great and very beautiful traditional hotel that is located in old part of the Yazd city, opposite to the Alexander prison. It is also a Hotel Museum. It is said this house was commissioned 150 to 200 years ago by Aqa - sheikh- Mehdi Arab. His family later adopted the name of Tehrani and from then on this house became known as the Tehrani- ha's house .

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
3  Thank Parastoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Just what you look for if you travel in Persia; an old mansion furnished with care and affection to details. The intelligent light concept highlights the right spots and makes you feel comfortable and at home. With its windtowers, the access to the watersupply in the cellar the rooftop terrasse and the cosey backyards you get a good understanding on how upper class families have lived here in ancient times. The rooms are very clean. We preferred to stay in the backyard at the back, because it is more quiet. The staff is very friendly and helpful and serves you qalian at 22 - 23 if you ask them. The breakfast is basic but nice. We came twice during our stay in Iran, because it's the nicest hotel that we have stayed in during our 4 weeks trip.

Room Tip: Always ask to see the rooms in Iran. I prefer the rooms in the second backyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AEKZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

This is a wonderful very old trditional hotel in the very centre of Yazd.It is the perfect location to explore the little alleyways in the town.The hotel itself has beautiful courtyards in which the breakfasts are served and also tea,coffee ect.The staff are very pleasant and helpfull.The bedrooms are all very similar to eachother,very traditional with stained glass porticos in the ceiling,which let in the natural light.Many of the rooms have 3 beds and very comfortable,but the ceiling in our bathroom was very low and you needed to bend over or sit in the bath to use the shower.it may have been a bit inconvenient but worth it to stay in such a lovely trditional old hotel.Toothbrushes,toothpaste,soap and towels were all provided each day.Also indoor slippers!I would definately recommend staying at this hotel,you will not find better.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms,they dont mind,as some of the bathrooms may be difficult to access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clionettie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fahadan Museum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fahadan Museum Hotel

Address: Fahadan St | Opposite Of Alexander Prison, Yazd, Iran (Formerly Fahadan Great Hotel)
Region: Iran > Yazd Province > Yazd
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Yazd
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing