We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice duplex room - poor breakfast”
Review of Malek-o Tojjar

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yazd
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malek-o Tojjar
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Yazd
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“nice duplex room - poor breakfast”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

i stayed in this hotel with my wife for our 2nd anniversary. it is a lovely & famous traditional house turned into a hotel. they gave us a duplex room which was really unique. staff were friendly & helpful. hotel is near bazaar & historical places & It is an advantage. one negative point is poor breakfast. also liked the grey parrot which was in the courtyard. at the end it was good experience & i recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: if your'e a couple try the duplex room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Owrang S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    28
    11
    15
    8
See reviews for
12
30
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Location is nice (in a bazzar). But that was the only good experience in this hotel. Rooms (top floor) were smelly and overpriced, breakfast poor and with water channel traps, that cought in one elderly tourist keeping his head up, that almost costed him a leg.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlgisGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

As soon as you enter the labyrinth corridor you realize that you are stepping into a special touris attractor and our first encounter with the receptionists proved that they know how to do it. The manager (she is a friendly lady) and the whole staff are very sympathetic, polite and friendly.

Don't be too surprized if you find out: prices are quite high, compared to the other hotels in the town, but my family and I assume that it really worths to accommodate there, due to the fact that you can live like the traditional upper class families of Old Persia in an extended variety of luxurious rooms you can select, all are well equipped with the most modern facilities they could afford in Iran, as they say too. There is even a room which can be described as a tiny museum with ancient elements of art.

Room service was satisfactory, the garden's kept very clean and the restaurant in the basement is a place to try for sure.

Its location is in the middle of the old town but also very pleasantly quiet and relaxing.

Recommendation: Big Yes, although we should hope the quality of their service remains the same for the entire calendar days; for we heard ups and downs happen a lot in Yazd Hotels among high and low seasons.

Josh van J and the Family from the Netherlands

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The property is a "sonaty hotel" which means in Farsi, that it is a traditional house turned into a hotel. Its located in the heart of the old Yazd Bazzar, which walking distance from most of the main attractions. We took a double room, which was smaller than we expected. We also thought its over priced. The room has all the basic amenities, but it wasn't very impressive from inside. However, the hotel itself is nice and it will give u a brief idea about the Yazdi Architecture and way of life. Food is normal, they have some Indian cuisine in their menu, which was change from the Iranian food. You can try it, but its v.spicy. Overall, it was an ok experience, but I don't think I would go back.

Room Tip: Defenitly don't miss the experience of staying in a traditional hotel. However, do a little bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy9677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Malek-o Tojjar is a nice and very atmospheric hotel with beautiful and nicely furnished rooms. The whole atmosphere is like from 1001 nights but the price is quite high. Also had dinner which was good though not breathtaking. Absolutely friendly and helpful were the ladies at the reception desk. Definitely a place to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JOE10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We have stayed in numerous riad style hotels in Morocco and Spain and this was like a poor cousin - but quite nice! It was lovely, after so many ordinary hotels to have the central courtyard to sit in around a pool and chat with other members of our group or socialise with other guests or locals visiting for dinner. The Wi-Fi is free but only really works in the courtyard.
Average breakfast but lovely meals. The service is a bit iffy - we had a bit of a "Faulty Towers" evening with one waiter but to the poor boys credit, he was having to do all the work and serve everyone while "management" staff (and there seemed to be lots of them) stood around doing nothing with a "but its not my job" attitude, instead of just pitching in and taking an order or answering a question.
The rooms are VERY small but quite cute. Ours had a sort of mezzanine for the bed, but no window and the toilet was leaking onto the floor but from the cistern. A great big bath but no bath plug! The room we had was quiet and dark and so we had really good sleeps. Our friends had a room where the bathroom was so small, the shower was over the toilet!
There is a very beautiful parrot in the courtyard called Pari and she chats all day and has quite a repertoire. We tried to teach her to say gidday! Some rooms may be bothered by her early in the morning or later at night but a word to the staff and they can cover her up and keep her quiet.
The hotel is in the bazaar and is very central.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlingkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Staying in this hotel is like staying in ancient Iran.very beautiful Construction in the middle of yazd Bazaar.Very clean and comfort room .I strongly recommend you the VIP rooms( at this time 220 US dollar / night) because of fascinating painting on the wall and ceiling and jacuzzi bath and much more facility .you can enjoy the evening tea enjoy viewing an ancient type Iranian pool.you can visit yazd Bazaar easily from this Hotel.but there is some other point worth telling: the rooms were not sound proof so if the music sound bother you tell the reception to turn it down.the Breakfast choices were very limited( maybe because the tourism season was ended at the time of my visit).you must walk from the street until reach the hotel because entry of the cars to the bazaar is forbidden . I didn't try the coffee shop and the hotel restaurant so I can not tell anything about the food and coffee.I personally prefer hotels with garden( so read my other review about moshir garden hotel in yazd)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nima N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Malek-o Tojjar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malek-o Tojjar

Property: Malek-o Tojjar
Address: Panjeh-ali Bazaar, Yazd, Iran
Region: Iran > Yazd Province > Yazd
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Yazd
Also Known As:
Malek o Tojjar Yazd

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing