We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, great host, great wine”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mitspe Ramon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
InnSense Bistro and Suites
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mitspe Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place, great host, great wine”
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Chez Eugene for the weekend with a couple of friends.
Had a great time, the rooms were clean and nicely designed, the owner who was there was extremely courteous and helpful. The location is right near the design shops and artisan stores, and the food and especially the wine is delicious.
Highly recommended for a weekend getaway.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    29
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
42
94
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Chez Eugene is literally a gem in the middle of the desert!
We stayed for two nights over the weekend in room 4.

At first glance we were disappointed by the location - Mitzpe Ramon is a very small, remote town surrounded by military bases. The hotel itself is located in the former industrial area which is in the process of renovation, yet by no way romantic or inspiring. To our great delight, the hotel didn't stop at compensating for this, but actually seem to have incorporated the desert outside into a marvelous sense of privacy and isolation.

The rooms are luxurious and private, with their own fenced yard and a magnificent view of the desert stars - a view we enjoyed both from the yard's Jacuzzi and from the bed, Our room had high windows that seemed to have been designed specifically for stargazing and it felt as if we were sleeping beneath the stars!

All the furniture in the room was of top comfort, quality and style. The TV was not easily viewable from the bed, and was unable to play the movie formats we brought with us - but that turned out to be a good thing. Instead of watching TV we read, took long strolls into the desert and frequented a fabulous bakery nearby.

Breakfast was fresh and delicious. For starters, warm, crispy bread was served with several dips that were re-filled when requested. This was fallowed by our choice of eggs. I personally recommend the Shakshuka - a tomato and egg spicy dish that goes well with the rich bread. Coffee was good, but not excellent. Soft French music accompanied the meal and was delightful.

Dinner was delicious with a good array of meals made from local ingredients and fairly priced. The owner love for wine is evident and as good as the meals were, the wine became the center and clear winner of the evening. For desserts we enjoyed creamy hot chocolate we decided to take with us and enjoy in our Jacuzzi while the cold and silent desert night surrounded us.

The staff were always smiling and approachable, and it is clear they take pride in providing the guests with the best of experiences. On top of that, a great ratio of staff-to-guests insured there was never a time we needed to wait for service.

To sum it up, Do not mistake high standards with pretentiousness - Chez Eugene does everything with elegant simplicity, and it does it right.Chez Eugene is the best hotel experience we ever had and we already told all our best friends they owe it to themselves to go there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiroshs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
178 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Four stars overall. In Mitzpe Ramon, though, this is 5. It's a boutique hotel, run by the owners, so you get most excellent friendly service. Not as good a location as being on the crater rim, but probably half the price, so value is very good. Rooms were clean, satellite TV service excellent, best I've had in Israel. I'd stay here again without question.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rzrnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We chose this hotel on the strength of the fantastic reviews it has received on Tripadvisor and the impression provided on the hotel's website. While the pictures of the rooms shown on the website are accurate, what the slick website does not state is that the hotel is located in a miserable, grotty industrial/ex-industrial area. The website shows views of the wonderful crater and the desert (neither of which can be seen from the hotel) and omits (presumably intentionally) to show any views of the area where it is located, or even the outside of the hotel building itself (apart from a close-up the logo). Displaying any pictures of the real environs of the hotel would surely put off guests. I regard this stratagem as being on the verge of misleading advertising.
The rooms are furnished in an elegant, modernistic style and the bed was very comfortable, but the use of the word "luxury" by many reviewers seems to be an exaggeration. What was definitely not luxurious was the very low (I'd say abysmal) water pressure in the shower and the absence of any shower soap or gel (despite the hotel being merely a few meters away from the wonderful Faran hand-made soap factory). It was also strange that the room (no. 2) lacked even the smallest table/desk at which one could sit and write postcards.
Another reason for choosing the hotel was the reputedly fantastic food in the restaurant, which I had contemplated as being one of the highlights of our trip. It wasn't. Admittedly, the food at dinner was very good, but far from being an outstanding gastronomic experience. Furthermore, the menu offered is far more limited that the pdf 'menu bonsoir' shown on the website. The ambience (including the cheap paper napkins) bore more resemblance to a cheap motorway diner than the expensively priced restaurant it is. While the service was friendly, it was extremely amateurish (e.g. having to explain 3 times which bottle of wine we had ordered). We witnessed and heard the disappointment of the guests at a nearby table, with one guest's fish order being served just after her companion finished his steak (i.e 20 minutes later). This is clearly not acceptable in an expensive restaurant with pretensions to providing a gastronomic experience.
While the food at dinner was good, breakfast was a huge disappointment, and almost certainly designed to keep costs to a minimum. It comprised a small loaf of very tasty bread, six small bowls containing 3 different dips, jam, labane (a yogurt-based dip), and small bits of some dry, unidentifiable fish. There was also a glass of orange juice, coffee/tea and choice of eggs. I requested a cheese and onion omlette, while my partner requested scrabbled eggs. The omlette I was served resembled a flat, dry pancake, with no hint of cheese whatsoever. The failure to prepare a proper omlette with a soft, creamy centre is pathetic. My partner reported that his scrambled eggs were dry. Both plates of eggs were accompanied by a garnish of chopped tomatoes and cucumbers. What the breakfast offering did not contain is far longer that what it did include: no cereals, no choice of breads, no choice of jams, no cheeses whatsoever (apart from labane), no choice of fish, no meats of any kind, no fruit, no choice of vegetables, no bakery goods. It's all very well to offer a choice of eggs made to order, but in better establishments this is usually done in addition to - not instead of - offering a decent choice of food.
This has been a long review because I've tied to be fair and calm down from my initial huge disappointment. Nevertheless, my conclusion is the the hotel and restaurant are overpriced and clearly fail to deliver. I would definitely not go back there and would advise others to seek accommodation and food elsewhere. On a final positive note: Chen and Pazit deserve thanks for the friendly service provided in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoPugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnaud R, Propriétaire at InnSense Bistro and Suites, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Client, I never had such a difficult answer to write on tripadvisor. Why? For many reasons. First one because as we say in hebrew you left us with a smile from one ear to the other and this during your whole stay. So we don't understand what happened! Hen and Pazit provided good service, food was very good, you wrote it 3 times. You put 5 stars to the quality of the bed. You liked the rooms. But you know the main reason that makes my answer so difficult is that it was a pleasure to see you happy and resting and enjoying and welcoming you at Chez Eugene. For all of us. And we find that your critic is unfair and painful. Yes our breakfast is different from the huge buffet often without taste. Everything is brought on the table and as much as you want. If you don't like the omelet say it and we'll do it your way. But you said nothing. Every product comes from the surrounding farms. That's why also it is not cheap as some people do expect in the desert. Just the opposite. Everything is more difficult to produce here. But it is worth. It is tasty, fresh and natural. Our paper napkins are very nice! You wanted more show off but we are an auberge with a bistro. We never pretended or written to be a gastronomic restaurant. Our clients wrote it. We just want to be a good and authentic restaurant using local products. Regarding the lack of view, it is written on the first and main page of our website. We are in a formal industrial area. We never tried to hide it, the opposite in fact, we underscore it. The desert is at the end of our street. The pictures you see are 500 m from the hotel. But our private patios are closed for privacy. No view but privacy and service and good wine. Wine that you enjoyed again when coming back a few days after forgetting your passport that we kept for you and called you to tell you. Then you told us that you were in a restaurant in Eilat and that you missed our food and restaurant, and mentioned again the paper napkins that you did not like. But you smiled and never seemed disappointed. And thank us nicely for the food and service.
I wonder if I am not going to open a new website: ClientAdvisor.com! :-))))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris, france
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I booked Chez Eugene online for 2 nights , not knowing what to expect. We were more than pleasantly surprised. the first thing the manager offered us was a delicious cup of coffee when we checked in. Our room was gorgeous, nice enough to live in full time with a two story living room with cement floors, pony skin rug, and a super comfortable purple suede couch. Upstairs was sleeping loft with king size bed with all white linens. also, there was plenty of electrical outlets for phones, computers, etc. so many hotels these days still don't have enough plugs & they even had a I-phone docking station. the room also had a remote to open & close the shutters. the front desk manager was as nice as can be and very accommodating. the restaurant was excellent, we had dinner there both nights and breakfast- which was included was very fresh and served good strong coffee. It was our favorite hotel in Israel & we would definitely come back another time. A very special experience .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ipreferparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way from Eilat to Jerusalem. The room was hip-minimalist with plenty of space and luxury amenities. The staff was very pleasant and attentive. Dinner was absolutely delicious, as was the wine from the owner's vineyard. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amjur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviezer
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The service and attitude of the hotel owner and staff was quite commendable. However, some people will find the modernist-minimalist decor of the rooms, and the lack of view from the rooms, not to their taste. The gallery arrangement of the standard rooms is that the bed is in a sleeping loft, while the bathroom is on the ground level. Breakfast was not lavish but certainly pleasant. Altogether, Chez Eugene is a reasonable option, but expensive, and not great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemoryMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mitspe Ramon hotels
1.0 mi away
Ramon Suites Hotel
Ramon Suites Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beresheet
Beresheet
#1 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
1,038 reviews
0.6 mi away
Isrotel Ramon Inn
Isrotel Ramon Inn
#4 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
#5 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
31 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silent Arrow
Silent Arrow
#7 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
iBex (iBike) Unique Desert Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InnSense Bistro and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InnSense Bistro and Suites

Property: InnSense Bistro and Suites
Address: 8/1 Har Ardon | Spice Route Quarter, Mitspe Ramon 8060000, Israel
Phone Number:
Region: Israel > Southern District > Mitspe Ramon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mitspe Ramon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InnSense is situated in the 'Spice Route Quarter" - formerly an industrial area which has been rezoned for tourism and the restaurant and suites are built in refurbished hangar space. Each of our six rooms are tastefully decorated and individually furnished with attention to detail while maintaining clean minimalist lines. Some rooms have a private terrace and hot tub. A full Israeli breakfast is included. InnSense Bistro is open for dinner Tuesday through Sunday from 18:30 - 22:30 (Closed on mondays) We offer an Israeli menu showcasing local produce and excellent local wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chez Eugene Hotel Mitspe Ramon
InnSense Bistro And Suites Israel/Mitspe Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing