We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”
Review of Beresheet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beresheet
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mitspe Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel staff was beyond helpfull with my kids and family. They make you feel like you are part of their own family. The hotel is architectually stunning and the food is to die for. If you decide to go don't forget to take the jeep tour up the crater or even better the tour "Ira the Starman" takes you at night to see what is out there. All done through the help of the hotel. A must for any traveler to Israel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kolte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,127)
There are newer reviews for Beresheet
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Relaxed 24 hours in this beautiful oasis with my wife. Breathtaking view to Ramon crater and only the sounds of water and birds.

Great breakfast, great spa, medium dinner (and expansive).
Take the private pool room for the perfect experience and don't forget to gaze at the sky at night time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a difficult one. So, let us start with the "light":
1. The three rules of real estate: location, location, location. And this location can't be beat. The hotel is sitting on the rim of the huge Ramon crater (which is not really a crater we learned) and the views are stunning, simply stunning. The public areas (restaurant, pool, bar) are just on the rim, many of the rooms and suites have views too, but not all. Ours did not, but then, a view on the nice stone courtyard and the pool area is nothing to complain about either. So, location is a whow!
2. The architecture, all houses made of the desert stone with nice wooden accents, the architect knew how to fit them into the landscape, well done, very fitting.
3. The breakfast: large Israeli breakfast spread, nothing wanting, excellent quality. Just one suggestion: how about some loose tea, Wissotsky tea bags can be had in any hole in the wall in Israel.
4. The private pools that come with the suites: great idea, wonderful to take a dip and just sit in there and enjoy the peaceful atmossphere.
5. The peaceful atmossphere: very, very relaxing.

Now to the "shadows" and they require an introductory remark: This hotel is supposed to be refined luxury, a showcase, among the very best in Israel. The prices match this claim to fame. Our family suite without crater view and half board ran for about USD 850 at night and it was not high season. So, everything I will say about the shadows means I am measuring Beresheet at this yardstick of luxury by international standards and considering the price tag and the expectations that come with it:
1. Functionality of the family suites: They are designed for 4 people. There is one beedroom with two single beds and a master bedroom. Unfortunately, the master bedroom is open and cannot be closed to the hall. The bathroom can only be accessed through the hall which means that the kids have to walk through the parents' area to go to the bathroom and the parents do not have privacy. Far from ideal and it would have been easy to solve because all that is required is a sliding door separating the master bedroom sleeping area. Similarly, there is only one bathroom. At this price level, at least the toilet should have been separate, it would greatly increase the functionality.
2. Interior design: Fine, just fine, but not whow. In the suites the finishes are not of the quality that they should be of at this price level. The hotel is only 3 or 4 years old but the wear and tear is quite significant. The wood used is often soft and shows every dent and chip. The desk was made of glass and scratched all over.
3. The upkeep: Not as meticulous as it should be for a luxury hotel. There are dark ares in the caulking in the bathroom, there are defective door frames in the public areas that are not being fixed right away. Nothing major, just not as perfect as it needs to be for a luxury hotel.
4. The atmosshere in the restaurant: Busy, noisy, anything but exclusive or relaxing.
5. Dinner: Dinner is fine, the quality is good, but it is far from gourmet. The salads on the appetizer buffet overlap greatly with the ones served at breakfast. In general, it is clear that the appetizer buffet is an exercise in cost saving. Lots of (fresh and good) veggies and fruits in many combinations, but not much else. No fish dishes, no meat appetizers (other than a meat based soup), good Israeli fare but nothing to write home about. The main course is the weak point. One night the Chef's special consisted of two small skewers with overcooked beef and a small piece of chicken, no sauce, 3 green beans and a cabbage side dish. The same cabbage appeared again the night after on the barbecue buffet. Another person in our party ordered a beef filet "medium rare" and received a small well done serving. The Tuesday night barbecue was better and the desert buffet was actually very good, as good as it can be for a non-dairy restaurant.
6. Service in the restaurant: The waiters are friendly but they are not as professional as needed in a luxury hotel. Like in so many other places in Israel they appear to be young people just out of the army who want to earn money before going on the big trip to Asia or Latin America. Some examples: Our table was repeatedly cleared before we had all finished the first course. That is a no go in an upscale restaurant. One night, the waitress cleared the table AND asked whether we were ready for the main course before we had all finished the appetizers. We felt like we were being rushed through the meal. Wine service after the first pouring worked on one night but not on the other, we had to pour ourselves. One thought: how about making this the main restaurant but offering elsewhere a much more exclusive experience in a specialty restaurant? It is obvious that one cannot feed the full crowd at a top level, but at this price level guests should be given an option for that quiet, special, romantic and exclusive experience. They won't mind paying the extra price.
To sum up: The location and architecture fully merit Beresheet's claim to fame. The breakfast is excellent. The rest is all fine for a first class hotel by international standards, but not sufficient for a true luxury experience.

Room Tip: ask for crater view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SeasonedTravelerCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Beresheet is definitely a unique and very beautiful hotel. What is special about the hotel are the breathtaking views. The architects did an amazing job designing buildings made of the local stone and then blending them into the desert landscape. It’s worthwhile to get up one morning to see the sunrise over the Ramon crater!
The main building houses the lobby, a tiny gift shop, the lounge and restaurant, the dining room, and downstairs the indoor swimming pool, the spa and gym.
There are no rooms in the main building –the rooms are in 2 story stone chalet-type buildings aesthetically placed in high on a hill and in a semi-circle facing the crater.
The rooms are very large and attractive and include a nice sitting area and large flat screen TV. There are rooms that have lovely swimming pools just outside the sliding doors…there is a substantial extra charge but, when the weather is right, these look ideal for families or for romantic holidays.
This hotel caters to families and on the weekend we stayed there were lots of small children using floats in the indoor pool. There is no designated lap lane and it was very hard to swim.

Breakfast was excellent. The pastry chef is top notch…the croissants were perfect - light and buttery – as were the other breakfast cakes. I didn’t like the omelets…rather than being filled and gently turned, they were fried flat and came out brown and dry…they actually looked like pancakes.

The dining staff is very helpful. The plentiful salads and appetizers are beautifully displayed…everything is fresh and delicious. The main courses were good but not excellent. The Pavlova with homemade lemon sherbet and berry coulis was divine. Our Natalie Portman look-alike waitress, Hadass was professional and charming too.

On the negative side were disappointed with these thing:
The reception was mechanical…the warmth of a nice welcome was missing. Ditto for checkout. Was it the receptionist’s last day at work? It seemed like it.

A couple we met at breakfast told us that the hotel called them to say the weather would be cold and windy and that they should bring jackets. The hotel did not call to tell us and we were very, very cold going from our room to the dining room.

The hotel left us a gift card which said “Free Entrance” to the spa plus a 20% discount (birthday). The entrance to the spa is free to all guests.

The mini-golf carts that the hotel uses to transfer guests from the lobby to the rooms are very uncomfortable and on a cold night are probably colder that walking.

Despite these minor shortcomings, I would say it's definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shar1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The views of the crater and the splendid architecture of this hotel make it well worth the price. The rooms are fantastically appointed and the place has a calming feeling of serenity and peace. Good workout room, amazing pool, and lovely trails.

The food was good, but not as good as you'd expect for the price. The service, for Israel, was fantastic - but if you're used to high end luxury service in Europe, Asia or the even the US you'll likely find it a bit rough around the edges.

All in all I'd happily return should I find myself in southern Israel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JesseM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Having stopped by a few months ago for lunch we were happy when a recent tour offered us an overnight stay.
First impressions were good as the hotel rises out above the crater looking like an ancient fort and in keeping with the style the rooms are widely spread around the grounds and all the paths are either cobbles or stones.

We were efficiently checked in and after a long journey looked forward to seeing our rooms and that's when the problem's started as we were unceremoniously loaded on a golf buggy which took off at tremendous speed bouncing all over the cobblestone roadway. Hanging on for dear life we arrived at our "room" which was perched on top of another so a flight of wooden steps had to be climbed to the top.
Again, first impressions where good until we wanted a cup of coffee. Cups, coffee, kettle o.k., looked in the mini bar but no milk.
O.k., call Room service - the first call timed out without any answer but calling again did and we asked for milk to be sent to our room.
Twenty minutes later we called again to be told "We don't send milk to the room" - why not?
"If you want milk its 5 shekels" - we didn't ask the price we asked for milk!
O.k. it will be sent but of course it never came.

Dinner was excellent apart from having to cling on again to a speeding buggy. All the roads and runways at Beresheet are large cobbles making walking a tip toe affair or calling for a buggy.
After dinner we queued for another teeth rattling drive back.
Would we stay again? No.

Room Tip: Size and location of the rooms is according to price. Unless you get one of the rooms near to the cr...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gegie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visited there in Feb 2014 with some other couples. The place has an amazing view over Ramon Crater which you can watch for hours. We had both breakfast and dinner, both were absolutely flawless with extremely vast variety of food types (buffet). The pool is great, the rooms are big with both tubs and standing shower. the hotel provided us with flip flops for our use and everything else to make us feel as comfy as possible. There are segway tours as well as guided / non guided bicycle tours (maps are also provided if requested).
The only cons for this hotel is its price which is pretty high BUT if you can afford it, it's absolutely worth it :)

Room Tip: Crater view for a perfect peace of mind :) Don't miss the nearby statues park (you can also do...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yyacoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mitspe Ramon hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramon Suites Hotel
Ramon Suites Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
366 reviews
0.4 mi away
Isrotel Ramon Inn
Isrotel Ramon Inn
#4 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
314 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
#5 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Silent Arrow
Silent Arrow
#7 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beresheet Hotel
Beresheet Hotel
#4 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
23 reviews
1.8 mi away
Alpaca Farm
Alpaca Farm
#2 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beresheet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresheet

Address: 1 Derech Bereshit, Mitspe Ramon 80600, Israel
Region: Israel > Southern District > Mitspe Ramon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mitspe Ramon
Price Range: £275 - £572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beresheet 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beresheet Hotel by Isrotel Exclusive Collection is located in the spectacular geographical area of the Ramon Crater and offers a range of desert activities and attractions, all of which you can order at the hotel’s reception. Among the available activities are Jeep tours, camel rides, hiking, bicycle trips, bicycle renting, rappelling, hot-air balloons, self-drive Jeep adventures, Jeep excursions with outdoor meals and much more. In Beresheet Hotel, the kids and teenagers enjoy a diverse entertainment experience. Kids have fun in the well equipped Yeladudes kiddos club, while teenagers are offered an interactive youth space - state-of-the-art "grown-ups" rooms - that includes video games, advanced gaming and multimedia facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Beresheet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresheet Israel/Mitspe Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing