We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise!”
Review of Beresheet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beresheet
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mitspe Ramon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel is architecturally wonderful. It sits on the edge of the crater (not really a true crater but that doesn't matter), and offers a magnificent view of this geographic site. The desk agent who checked us in was curt and spoke so fast about amenities that it was difficult to feel welcome. We were taken to our room in a golf cart and was right next to the highway; the wind whistled through the sliding glass door and when we walked onto the balcony the traffic noise was very loud. Our wonderful bellman, Levi, offered to take us back so we could speak with the director of public relations, Suzan. She checked the system and was able to find us a room set away from the highway and close to the sculpture garden. We were quite pleased. The sculpture garden is truly remarkable; as we walked through the desert we were impressed with the variety of outdoor sculptures and the walk along the crater's edge. Our dinner was very nice, the kosher restaurant has great views and the young service staff is very eager to please. They offer a buffet style salad bar with an enormous selection; there is a choice of three entrees, all very nice, and dessert is included. It is amazing that they can make these desserts without dairy and you would never know it. The molten lava chocolate soufflé was divine! We had spa treatments the next day and the spa is very clean and very well appointed. Massages were perfect and the facial left me feeling five years younger (and my husband said I looked great!) Breakfast is a buffet with the ability to order omelets, etc.; again everything was very well displayed, very tasty and very fresh. Ibex have the run of the property and you can turn a corner and see the family that has made the property theirs; they have no fear of humans but it is best not to get too close as they are wild animals. Take a jeep ride through the crater and go to the highest spot for a view. The crater is 40km long and about 10km wide. The colors in the layers of earth are magnificent. When we checked out we had a lovely young woman take care of us and the director of public relations came out to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Other than the first young woman we met and the first room we were shown we highly recommend Beresheet.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms on the highway side - close to the visitor's center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KikiK1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

Luxurious hotel with breathtaking views. The staff is attentive and super professional. the food is no less than excellent. the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. truly, a unique experience (quite expensive though). after staying there for my second time - without a doubt, this is one of Israel's finest hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lapid_A1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here on the strongest recommendation of our daughter and son in law. What a wonderful choice! The setting overlooking the Ramon crater is breath-taking. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable. The food is excellent, both the breakfasts and the dinner dining, if you care to splurge. The views from the bar are just spectacular. What a great place to watch the sunset with a great Israeli wine.
Service is attentive, but like elsewhere in Israel, is not really polished. The concept of experienced professional wait staff does not seem to exist here. Be prepared to serve your own wine......Some of the staff could be told to smile and say good morning. But the Ibex made up for that in spades. So cute and friendly.
If you want to save your sheckels, limit you spa treatments. My wife loved her massage but not so much her facial. My massage was not memorable.
All in all, one of the great destinations in terms of the location and the accomodations. I can HIGHLY recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetraveldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Top in luxuery in an amazing part of the world. Unique setting with breathtaking vieuws from an amazing set of buildings. The rooms were super. Some have their own pool. Service is very good. If you have the opportunity and can afford it one night and 2 days is an experience

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank freddy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

The hotel staff was beyond helpfull with my kids and family. They make you feel like you are part of their own family. The hotel is architectually stunning and the food is to die for. If you decide to go don't forget to take the jeep tour up the crater or even better the tour "Ira the Starman" takes you at night to see what is out there. All done through the help of the hotel. A must for any traveler to Israel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kolte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Relaxed 24 hours in this beautiful oasis with my wife. Breathtaking view to Ramon crater and only the sounds of water and birds.

Great breakfast, great spa, medium dinner (and expansive).
Take the private pool room for the perfect experience and don't forget to gaze at the sky at night time.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a difficult one. So, let us start with the "light":
1. The three rules of real estate: location, location, location. And this location can't be beat. The hotel is sitting on the rim of the huge Ramon crater (which is not really a crater we learned) and the views are stunning, simply stunning. The public areas (restaurant, pool, bar) are just on the rim, many of the rooms and suites have views too, but not all. Ours did not, but then, a view on the nice stone courtyard and the pool area is nothing to complain about either. So, location is a whow!
2. The architecture, all houses made of the desert stone with nice wooden accents, the architect knew how to fit them into the landscape, well done, very fitting.
3. The breakfast: large Israeli breakfast spread, nothing wanting, excellent quality. Just one suggestion: how about some loose tea, Wissotsky tea bags can be had in any hole in the wall in Israel.
4. The private pools that come with the suites: great idea, wonderful to take a dip and just sit in there and enjoy the peaceful atmossphere.
5. The peaceful atmossphere: very, very relaxing.

Now to the "shadows" and they require an introductory remark: This hotel is supposed to be refined luxury, a showcase, among the very best in Israel. The prices match this claim to fame. Our family suite without crater view and half board ran for about USD 850 at night and it was not high season. So, everything I will say about the shadows means I am measuring Beresheet at this yardstick of luxury by international standards and considering the price tag and the expectations that come with it:
1. Functionality of the family suites: They are designed for 4 people. There is one beedroom with two single beds and a master bedroom. Unfortunately, the master bedroom is open and cannot be closed to the hall. The bathroom can only be accessed through the hall which means that the kids have to walk through the parents' area to go to the bathroom and the parents do not have privacy. Far from ideal and it would have been easy to solve because all that is required is a sliding door separating the master bedroom sleeping area. Similarly, there is only one bathroom. At this price level, at least the toilet should have been separate, it would greatly increase the functionality.
2. Interior design: Fine, just fine, but not whow. In the suites the finishes are not of the quality that they should be of at this price level. The hotel is only 3 or 4 years old but the wear and tear is quite significant. The wood used is often soft and shows every dent and chip. The desk was made of glass and scratched all over.
3. The upkeep: Not as meticulous as it should be for a luxury hotel. There are dark ares in the caulking in the bathroom, there are defective door frames in the public areas that are not being fixed right away. Nothing major, just not as perfect as it needs to be for a luxury hotel.
4. The atmosshere in the restaurant: Busy, noisy, anything but exclusive or relaxing.
5. Dinner: Dinner is fine, the quality is good, but it is far from gourmet. The salads on the appetizer buffet overlap greatly with the ones served at breakfast. In general, it is clear that the appetizer buffet is an exercise in cost saving. Lots of (fresh and good) veggies and fruits in many combinations, but not much else. No fish dishes, no meat appetizers (other than a meat based soup), good Israeli fare but nothing to write home about. The main course is the weak point. One night the Chef's special consisted of two small skewers with overcooked beef and a small piece of chicken, no sauce, 3 green beans and a cabbage side dish. The same cabbage appeared again the night after on the barbecue buffet. Another person in our party ordered a beef filet "medium rare" and received a small well done serving. The Tuesday night barbecue was better and the desert buffet was actually very good, as good as it can be for a non-dairy restaurant.
6. Service in the restaurant: The waiters are friendly but they are not as professional as needed in a luxury hotel. Like in so many other places in Israel they appear to be young people just out of the army who want to earn money before going on the big trip to Asia or Latin America. Some examples: Our table was repeatedly cleared before we had all finished the first course. That is a no go in an upscale restaurant. One night, the waitress cleared the table AND asked whether we were ready for the main course before we had all finished the appetizers. We felt like we were being rushed through the meal. Wine service after the first pouring worked on one night but not on the other, we had to pour ourselves. One thought: how about making this the main restaurant but offering elsewhere a much more exclusive experience in a specialty restaurant? It is obvious that one cannot feed the full crowd at a top level, but at this price level guests should be given an option for that quiet, special, romantic and exclusive experience. They won't mind paying the extra price.
To sum up: The location and architecture fully merit Beresheet's claim to fame. The breakfast is excellent. The rest is all fine for a first class hotel by international standards, but not sufficient for a true luxury experience.

Room Tip: ask for crater view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SeasonedTravelerCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mitspe Ramon hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramon Suites Hotel
Ramon Suites Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Isrotel Ramon Inn
Isrotel Ramon Inn
#4 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
322 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
#5 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
InnSense Bistro and Suites
InnSense Bistro and Suites
#3 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silent Arrow
Silent Arrow
#7 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Desert Home
Desert Home
#3 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beresheet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beresheet

Address: 1 Derech Bereshit, Mitspe Ramon 80600, Israel
Region: Israel > Southern District > Mitspe Ramon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mitspe Ramon
Price Range: £283 - £592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Beresheet 5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beresheet Hotel by Isrotel Exclusive Collection is located in the spectacular geographical area of the Ramon Crater and offers a range of desert activities and attractions, all of which you can order at the hotel’s reception. Among the available activities are Jeep tours, camel rides, hiking, bicycle trips, bicycle renting, rappelling, hot-air balloons, self-drive Jeep adventures, Jeep excursions with outdoor meals and much more. In Beresheet Hotel, the kids and teenagers enjoy a diverse entertainment experience. Kids have fun in the well equipped Yeladudes kiddos club, while teenagers are offered an interactive youth space - state-of-the-art "grown-ups" rooms - that includes video games, advanced gaming and multimedia facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Beresheet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beresheet Israel/Mitspe Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing