We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very recommendable place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Green Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at the Green Backpackers for only one night, but had a very nice time in Mizpe. We used the Backpackers Bikes to have a ride in the dessert and enjoyed very interesting conversations with other travellers. Lee even sent us a mobile phone back to Switzerland, which we forgot in the hostel. Thank you very much! I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

This is a really great little hostel on the edge of the beautiful, fascinating and unusual town of Mitzpe Ramon

The hostel felt more like a B&B as it had a small warm and homely feel to it. The staff are friendly and kept the hostel spotlessly clean and smelling nice at all times, as well as organising activities at night such as movies or star gazing.

Overall I had a very nice stay and felt relaxed and at home here, very important after going hiking in the nearby desert.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank AJ123LDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The Green Backpackers is a great place to stay. Reserving a bed one day in advance I was already greeted with my name when entering the small hostel. The guy working at the hostel (sorry forgot his name) was really friendly and kind, explained everything, gave great advise and made me feel at home. I totally agree with the other people about the personal and welcoming atmosphere which make you feel as being at home or staying with friends.
In addition to the friendly staff and the clean room and bathroom, the hostel is located very close to Har Gamal/Camel hill from where you have a breathtaking few and from where you can start your hikes and walks!
I would love to stay at the Green Backpackers again and I can highly recommend this hostel to other travellers!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abctravelabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Amazing place. Such an incredible location, near all hiking routes. Cozy, almost family atmosphere in the hostel itself, with volunteers being just absolutely the best staff I've ever encountered in Israel (Gabriel and Tina, I'm talking about you ;). Really nice, clean rooms, cool side activities that were available - Shabbath dinner prepared by everybody for everybody, putting together some puzzles in the living room (even PS2 was available to play), stargazing tour with really friendly guide, even provided us with a place to eat on Saturday afternoon, which is really appreciated, if you know Israeli customs. Overall, nothing short of an almost perfect experience on the edge of Ramon crater. Highly recommended, very reasonable pricing, too.
** - should add stickers to label stuff in the fridge, to avoid inconveniences.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladislav_Vinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Very clean rooms, very friendly atmosphere, hospitality of owners was overhelming. Free WiFi, many books in library. You can start your trip to Maktes'h Ramon just few hundreds meters from hostel. You will enjoy it!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humumbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The Green Backpakers hostel is an ideal place to come home to after a long hike in Makhtesh Ramon! The location of the hostel (just a short walk from the edge of the makhtesh and the Camel Mountain lookout point) is unrivaled and makes for a good starting point for a hike, a trip to the nearby visitor's center/museum, and the various activities offered by the hostel, such as stargazing, a Bedouin campfire discussion (much more authentic and eye-opening than the touristy experiences seen elsewhere), or their free sunset tour.

Aside from having the cleanest, most well-kept rooms, bathrooms, and common areas that I have seen as a backpacker and hostel guest, each room in the Green Backpackers hostel has character and everyday items are re-used in a charming and creative way-- dorm shelves are constructed from VHS tapes, cassettes decorate the bathroom wall, puzzle pieces dot the common area of Bldg. B and a fork bolted to the bathroom wall at an angle acts as a TP dispenser.

The owners of the hostel, Lee and Yoash, have clearly put lots of love into this place and were terrific hosts during my stay-- warm, charismatic, attentive, and extremely knowledgeable about the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashurbanipal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Even though I had a hard time finding the place (afterwards I saw that they have give excellent instructions on their homepage, so go for that!), I felt at home immediately when I arrived.
You actually can't really tell who belongs to the staff and who doesn't, which imo gives the atmosphere another extra shot of cozyness. The kitchen is amazing and invites you to cook with other people, everything was clean and tidy and invites you to stay longer than planned.
Needless to say that the location is awesome as well - you reach the "sitting camel", an observation deck, as well as the promenade along the crater in less than ten minutes, while a small café and supermarket are also nearby.
Recommendable without any confinements! Thanks for an awesome stay!

Room Tip: Just be lucky and don't arrive at a time when the hostel is fully packed.. but you never know th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmineee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mitspe Ramon hotels
0.2 mi away
Ramon Suites Hotel
Ramon Suites Hotel
#2 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
372 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
Mitzpe Ramon Guest House
#5 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
33 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beresheet
Beresheet
#1 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Isrotel Ramon Inn
Isrotel Ramon Inn
#4 of 5 in Mitspe Ramon
322 reviews
0.5 mi away
Silent Arrow
Silent Arrow
#5 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Alpaca Farm
Alpaca Farm
#2 of 18 in Mitspe Ramon
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Backpackers

Address: Nahal Sirpad 2/2, Mitspe Ramon 8060000, Israel
Region: Israel > Southern District > Mitspe Ramon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Speciality Lodging in Mitspe Ramon
Price Range: £37 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for vibrant homebase for your journey in the desert?Looking for a fun, clean and comfortable place to call home for a while? Then 'The Green Backpackers' is the place for you.The Green Backpackers offers two dorm rooms and one double, a fully equipped kitchen, a welcoming and warm living room, fresh linens, internet, laundry, full range of DVD's and most importantly - outdoor activities from hiking & backpacking to horseback riding and repelling- all is right outside our doorsteps. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Green Backpackers Israel/Mitspe Ramon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing