We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Romance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Captain's Desert Camp
Ranked #43 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Wadi Rum
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We travelled as a couple and will provide insights based on winter time travel season.

The service and hospitality of the people is unbeatable! The silence of the night does not make this place remote. Instead, during a full moon, one should sit outside the camp balcony or even lie down on the soft, cooling desert sand to admire what nature has to offer. Set against the backdrop of the rocks, the full moon reflects light onto the rocks and the backdrop is lovely and provides serenity for the travellers.

Inside the main camp, travellers can interact over the campfire, enjoy the bbq corn and have some hot drink. After, proceed to enjoy a good middle eastern meal prepared by the locals.

The camel ride and jeep ride in the day is amazing and provides a great exposure and the local guide will recommend to alight you at various interesting spots for photoshoot if you are on a jeep. Going there during winter may be cold, but it's an interesting experience to run around in the desert sand during the day!

The night is really cold in the room with minimal insulation. Dress full in thermal and down jacket for a good sleep. Bed blankets are thick but the room is still cold. Wear socks and shoes in the room. The carpets on the ground may be very sandy and cold. The room operates with minimal lighting due to conservation of electricity and the running tap water can be very cold during winter.

The staff in the camp is honest and reliable. The rooms are not based on the normal lock system as it's a camp. On the day trips out and night time, we were all very safe and secure. A wonderful experience at the Captain Desert Camp!

Spend enough time star gazing outdoor and you might be lucky to catch a shooting star! We did!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AidanEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

Just amazing. I've been there once and definitely will do it again. loved the whole atmosphere, tents, food. I strongly recommend to give it a try and experience the unforgettable visit there ! The dinner was really yummy. At night there was an oud player, after we finished dinner w had our tea staring at the stars there the whole thing was really awesome. Next day we went for a walk then put our blankets on and sit next to the fire waiting for the breakfast which was also good. I absolutely enjoyed every second there its simply a Jordanian atmosphere very relaxing and mind clearing area. The service also was great everybody was very helpful actually.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zayna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

very good food ,very good location , you will love it , an amazing romance night ,the staff were very friendly and the buffet was more than great .you will find all what is your mind about Bedouin life .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mowafaq A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for just one night in a fantastic little cabin in April 2012. (can't select a date prior to May 2013).

The was a great buffet with very good food an in the night there was a nice fire with homebrew coffee cardamon and the obligatory Argilah (Sheesha ;)) What else do you want??!

The next morning we were going for a hot air balloon ride, but unfortunately the wind was too strong, so we decided to visit Aqaba and come back two days later. That morning the wind was so still, we travelled more vertical meters than horizontal... but it was well worth it!!

Definitely go there, you'll love it! (If you don't mind a little sand between your toes, cause if you do, don't go to Wadi um at all...)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thisafternoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Did the desert experience at Wadi Rum when I visited Jordan in December and this camp was a real highlight. The staff were all very friendly and informative, and there was a great welcome. The buffet at the camp was superb, especially the flat breads made in front of you

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Daran71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I would like to thank all the staff of this excellent camp located at Diseh for their warm welcome and the way they handle the year end party. Everything was brillant with great food ! Ok it was cold but everything is done to make it confortable. And my kids enjoyed a lot the experience. The price is of course quite high but this journey in the desert will stay in our memories for long time. Thank you captain for the organisation and the way you take care of your hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fabriceetpaola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

It was a wonderful experience. Sleeping tent was comfortable, with nice beds, electricity - they have solar energy - bathrooms were sufficient for the amount of people, buffet was surprisingly good. There was music after diner and we were lucky that the night was fresh without insects. Sunset on the desert was amazing as was sunrise in the camp. Mohammad, our Bedouin guide was very nice and willing to please and had a new truck. Funny fact, my camera's GPS said that we were in Tabouk, Tabuk, Saudi Arabia. The boundaries at the desert are nonexistent!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MariseCaetano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wadi Rum hotels
6.4 mi away
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
Wadi Rum Night Luxury Camp
#10 of 122 in Wadi Rum
497 reviews
1.6 mi away
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
Obeid's Bedouin Life Camp
#2 of 122 in Wadi Rum
403 reviews
10.6 mi away
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
Bedouin Lifestyle Camp
#3 of 122 in Wadi Rum
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
Wadi Rum Bedouin Camp
#1 of 122 in Wadi Rum
159 reviews
12.9 mi away
Jordan Tracks - Bedouin Camp
Jordan Tracks - Bedouin Camp
#17 of 122 in Wadi Rum
247 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bait Ali
Bait Ali
#31 of 122 in Wadi Rum
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Desert Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Desert Camp

Address: Ad-Disi, Wadi Rum 00962, Jordan
Region: Jordan > Al Aqabah Governorate > Wadi Rum
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Wadi Rum
Price Range: £56 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain's Desert Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captains Desert Camps Offers more than an option for a pleasant, luxurious & comfortable stay in Wadi Rum. The magical desert of Wadi Rum is a true wonder of nature. You can choose from staying at the main captains camp located In Disi or at one of our echo camps inside the protected area of Wadi Rum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Captain's Desert Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Desert Camp Hotel Wadi Rum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing